Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album by criminally ignored singer/songwriter., 31 Jan 2005
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Joe Jackson The Collection (Audio CD)
It's hard to believe, but for a while Joe Jackson was a pop star, he was on Top of the Pops and everything. But then the world came to it's corporate driven commercially acute senses and he disappeared off the radar, only returning as the occasional blink or you'll miss it blip from time to time. Nowadays of course he'd never have become a star or dented the charts at all, he's just too weird looking, and his songs are not bland soporific ballads or weedy hyperactive fluffy pop.
Emerging around the arse end of the punk scene his early material has a spiky sardonic energy and also like some of the punk champions showcases a love of dub and reggae. "Fools in Love" is good example of this. As indeed is "Mad at You" which is almost P.I.L. like with a fractured lyrical narrative over galloping deep bottomed bass. "Tuxedo Junction" sees him embrace swing and jive, which frankly isn't to my taste but is impeccably performed. The material from "Night and Day", released after Jackson had moved to New York sees him through some from of musical osmosis absorb the city's vibrancy and energy along with it's multicultural influences. He then flips from the jazz influenced "You can't get what you Want" to the virtually classical instrumental "Nocturne" via the power pop of "Tonight and Forever" and finally the terrific multi vocal harmonies and blazing horns of "Me and You (Against the World)". The guy is versatile and shows up many of today's singer/songwriters for the hollow charlatans they undoubtedly are.
And gee, all the hits are too. The incredibly prescient "Is she really going out with Him?" lets be honest chaps, who hasn't seen some sylph like beauty on the arm of a knuckle scrapping troglodyte and thought exactly what that song so eloquently describes? The superb "It's different for Girls" which brilliantly turns sexual politics on they're head and best of all "Steppin Out" which is just magical in it's ability to conjure up the tingling anticipation of heading off somewhere new after a period of torporous domesticity. This is one of the most evocative pop songs ever written and reasons enough on it,s own to own this album. But add to that two wonderful piano led ballads "Breaking us in Two" and "Be My number Two" and there is no excuse for not investigating further one of the most under rated artists ever to plonk his posterior on a stool in front of a piano.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great budget intro to the joys of Joe Jackson., 20 Nov 2002
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe Jackson The Collection (Audio CD)
This 18-track compilation of Joe Jackson takes in a well chosen selection of his oeuvre from 1978's Look Sharp! to 1989's Laughter & Lust. Much more than a poor man's version of Elvis Costello, this selection demonstrates the multiple sides of Jackson- whether cool new wave synth pop, classical instrumental or jazz-fusion that made Sting's Dream of the Blue Turtles look very, very silly (indeed).
Nice to see the album opening with 1987's Nocturne, prior to the likes of Is She Really Going Out With Him?, It's Different for Girls & Steppin' Out (the latter as cool and perfect pop as Hall & Oates Out of Touch, Carly Simon/Chic's Why? & Talk Talk's It's My Life- though not unlike Genesis' Turn it On Again. Apologies...). Songs like Mad at You and Friday are somewhere between cool new wave of The Knack & Costello's Armed Forces (with a hint of prime Squeeze).
The rest is as wonderful, from the sublime ballad Be My Number Two (one to put on those Nick Hornby tapes between Fall on Me & Cuddle Up), the knowing Happy Loving Couples (hate 'em!) and the zen pop of You Can't Get What You Want (till you know what you want).
This is a great selection of Jackson's works, my only doubt would be regarding the mastering which is a little poor in terms of sound quality. Apart from that, this is the Joe Jackson album for every home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great album at an incredible price!, 3 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: Joe Jackson The Collection (Audio CD)
highly recommended to everyone who knows Joe Jackson by name but who has never really approached his music. That was my case. The incredible price of 3,33 convinced me to buy the CD and I was not disappointed. One the contrary, I listened to a great album and I feel the musical freedom of an artist which is not bound to a single musical cliche. I recognized real instruments played by real musicians. OK, I could go on, but Jackson's music explains it better than my world! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where to Start with Joe Jackson, 1 Feb 2006
By 
Mr. Anthony P. Collins "littleantney" (Deepest Darkest Beds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joe Jackson The Collection (Audio CD)
If you like Pop Music but want to find an artist who you can move forward with look no further than Joe Jackson. This Album is a light introduction to the myriad styles and genres that Joe has encompassed in a career spanning 25 years. The Album is mainly made up of old favourites "Its different for Girls" and "Is she really going out with him", along with the sublime "Stepping Out". If you don't know Joe Jacksons music this is a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bought for some good tracks, 21 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. A. Beer "straker" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe Jackson The Collection (Audio CD)
the good tracks that we all know anyone over 40 anyway ! are good and I still like them but as there are good tracks there are some very bad ones to .only buy new if your a die hard fan I bought a use one and its like new .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars definately definative, 27 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe Jackson The Collection (Audio CD)
Over 20 years of material here. If you didn't know much about Joe Jackson, you certainly will after this.

Includes classic tracks like 'is she really going out with him', stepping out' and 'different for girls'. There is also a lot of very good other material, which I did not know much about. I have to admit that I liked most of the tracks on this one. It is available at such a low price, that you can not really go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jumping Joe Flash!, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe Jackson The Collection (Audio CD)
Joe Jackson was an occasional, but much welcome, visitor to the charts in the late 1970s and early 1980s. This lovely collection which includes his best known hits 'Is She Really Going Out With Him?', 'It's Different For Girls' and 'Steppin' Out' covers plenty of ground over 80 minutes and 18 tracks. Punk, Jive, Rock, Electronic, Jazz, Classical - Jackson is a true musical chameleon and, more importantly, he makes it all sound so effortless. Great voice; great songs - I dare you not to buy this marvellous album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Albums Ever, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe Jackson The Collection (Audio CD)
Love Joe Jackson and this album is brilliant one of my all time favourites ... if you like great music buy it ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 4.00 ! What are you waiting for ?!, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe Jackson The Collection (Audio CD)
Like many 40-somethings his three big hits have always been somewhere there at the back of my musical mind, and just on a whim I looked on Amazon and was delighted to see a whole 'best of' for the price of 4 or 5 downloads from Apple. So glad I bought this - many many good tracks, not just the hits. What a talent. Needless to say, if he was around now, not only would chart success be impossible, the only media attention he'd get would be on Jools Holland ! The music scene - which for anyone under 30 seems to be 'the charts' - is at an all-time low. Thanks God for people like Joe Jackson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe Jackson The Collection (Audio CD)
Really good product.... doesn't jump.. cd just plays right through all of the tracks smoothly like it is meant to...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joe Jackson The Collection
Joe Jackson The Collection by Joe Jackson (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews