Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Awe Inspiring Period Action Piece
Acclaimed director and action choreographer Yuen Woo Ping brings us his most grandiose effort yet. Exhibiting his mastery of the wire movie, as displayed in Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, he brings us this highly entertaining period piece revolving around the father of legendary folk hero Wong Fei Hung (played incredibly convincingly by a young girl!) joining forces with...
Published on 29 Feb 2004 by A. J. Smith

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No substance
I enjoy martial arts movies and bought this one based on good reviews I'd seen, and the fact that it made someone's list of top kung fu films. I was taken aback, therefore, when I got round to watching it. The storyline was weak, the slapstick felt inappropriate and fell way short of the comedic bar, and the kung fu (which should surely be the highlight) was simply...
Published 16 months ago by Nonny Mouse


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Awe Inspiring Period Action Piece, 29 Feb 2004
By 
A. J. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Monkey [DVD] (DVD)
Acclaimed director and action choreographer Yuen Woo Ping brings us his most grandiose effort yet. Exhibiting his mastery of the wire movie, as displayed in Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, he brings us this highly entertaining period piece revolving around the father of legendary folk hero Wong Fei Hung (played incredibly convincingly by a young girl!) joining forces with a Robin Hood-esque outlaw who robs from the corrupt and gives to the poor by night, and by day runs a clinic.
Phenomenal Martial Arts player Donnie Yen, who can be seen in Shanghai Knights and Blade II, stars alongside Mainland Chinese Peking Opera Player Yu Rong Kwong in what is a highly ammusing action comedy. Iron Monkey provides all the slapstick you would expect from a Hong Kong movie, as Yuen Woo Ping takes us through the corrupt Manchu governments quest to capture the title character, which culminates in a showdown above a flaming pit that really has to be seen to be believed.
True Martial Arts fans should note that this DVD also provides two documentaries on Wu Shu Forms, along with interviews with leading cast members, Iron Monkey promotional trailers, and some glimpses of hot forthcoming titles.
This title is an absolutely integral addition to the DVD collection of even the most casual admirer of Hong Kong Cinema. Miss it at your peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, 17 April 2001
By A Customer
With the opening shot of a masked figure running silently over rooftops, this film is instantly recognisable as the work of Yuen Woo Ping, the Action Director for The Matrix and Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. The Martial Arts sequences are some of the best on film with the films climax acted out over poles of fire. The story is rather 'Robin Hood'-esque, with the Iron Monkey playing the part of a doctor who steals from the rich and gives to the poor. The story is fleshed out with the introduction of a very young Wong Fei Hung, who, with his father, played expertly by Donnie Yen, are woven into the fiasco involving the corrupt town officials. This film is one of the finest of the recent 'period' martial arts films, and a must for all fans of the genre, and for fans of "CTHD".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IRON MONKEY A KUNG FU CLASSIC, 17 July 2003
By 
BLIND_BADGER (letchworth, herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Monkey [DVD] (DVD)
This is a movie for all lovers of the kung fu genre, it is action packed, fast paced and exciting.
The film is about this warrior called Iron Monkey(Yu Rong Kwong) who is an innocent doctor during the day, and an ass kicking crime fghter by night. The character "Iron Monkey" is basically the chinese version of robin hood, who steals from the rich to feed the poor. Then along comes Donnie Yen one day, who is also a warrior who fights corruption and it all kicks off from there.
Personnally I think the story line is a bit dodgy but dont let that put you off because the fight scenes are absolutely amazing,
The fight scenes are fast paced action sequences done by the master of fight choreography Yuen Woo-ping. The fights arent as poetic as from Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon but they still leave you on the edge of your seat wanting more of the kinetic kung fu action.
The acting isn't bad either from the leading cast, which is an added bonus but the fill in actors who hang around in the back ground or have one line scenes could do with a few acting lessons. The translation is good as well, though there are a few moments when the conversations between characters gets a bit confusing because the translation is a bit dodgy in places.
But overall it is a kung fu classic with great fight scenes and a must see for all who are into the genre or are just getting into it, you will love every minute of it once you see passed the bad things and you will be stunned by the stuff these guys can do when fighting, there is one fight scene at the end which is absolutely amazing and very well filmed, but my personal favourite is when donnie yen fights Iron Monkey for the first time on the rooftops of the governors house, that fight scene is just awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 14 Oct 2002
By A Customer
What can I say? The only reason I bought Iron Monkey was because I had seen the trailer somewhere. I was impressed. The storyline is amazing, the martial arts choreography is phenomenal and the actors do not seem as plastic as actors in other chinese movies! In my opinion, Iron Monkey is comparable to the likes of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, obviously not as highly acclaimed or as large a budget or as well known, yet I feel it is truly one of the greatest martial arts movies of all time!
The demonstrations of long staff (Bo) and the different martial arts styles (such as kung fu and wing chun) are impressive and the director Yuen Woo Ping does justice to both chinese movies and also to the martial arts.
Iron Monkey not only concentrates on the martial arts aspect but also on the storyline - a doctor of a small village in China with a Robin Hood complex. He joins forces with his apprentice, the best fighter in Canton and his son to defeat the corrupt officials...sensational!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corrupt law, violence and love ..........., 8 Mar 2001
This review is from: Iron Monkey [DVD] (DVD)
This film, I have to say is one of the best chinese movies I have ever watched. The film has so many dimensions and layers in which can be seent throughout the movie. The actors are amazing in it, with true cantonese upbringing of Kung Fu while demonstarting all the styles and weaponry of kung fu. The fighting doesn't lokked cheographed at all, not like many hollywood 'blockbusters' these days. Juxtiposed to 'Crouching tiger, hidden dragon', it is true chinese drama, fighting and script rather than the commercialised stereotypical stuff you get with the latter movie. The extras prove to be a treat which will satisfy any fan along with interviews and so forth. The story sets to show the defiance agains, cults, the corrupt law and to find love in a non whimsical kind of way. The 'iron monkey' in it seems on the same line of Robin Hood, except on using Kung Fu! It is a must see for any action film fan, with true fighting actors, rather than the usual boring Hollywood stunt doubles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No substance, 10 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Monkey [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoy martial arts movies and bought this one based on good reviews I'd seen, and the fact that it made someone's list of top kung fu films. I was taken aback, therefore, when I got round to watching it. The storyline was weak, the slapstick felt inappropriate and fell way short of the comedic bar, and the kung fu (which should surely be the highlight) was simply ridiculous. In my opinion the way it was sped-up and special effects overused made employing talented actors pretty pointless because none of it seemed remotely realistic.

Admittedly I hadn't realised it was a slapstick comedy film before I bought it and that probably would have stopped me had I known, but I couldn't find anything positive about it having actually watched it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic movie. Iron Monkey., 1 Jun 2003
By 
Audrey York (birmingham .) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Monkey [DVD] (DVD)
Wow! what a great film. Action packed and sometimes comical this movie has got every ingrediant that makes a brilliant movie. The story line is good but it is the wonderful martial art fights that take your breath away. This movie has the directors named stamped all through it - the great Yuen woo ping. If you like plenty of action with a laugh or two go and buy this now. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IRON MONKEY = AMAZING, 17 May 2003
By 
the jj (LONDON, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Monkey [DVD] (DVD)
I first got interested in martial arts films when i saw the matrix, then i wanted to explore the genre so i bought this. I was not let down. I would say this is an un-official sequal to Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon. There are fight scenes all through this film, and interesting weapons are used as well. This film is definately worth a look. To descibe this film in one word it would have to be : Breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Splendidly silly, 3 Oct 2002
By 
Horridbloke (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Monkey [DVD] (DVD)
Essentially about an oriental Robin Hood, Iron Monkey arguably shows off the best of Hong Kong cinema. It boasts some splendidly silly and unabashed wire-assisted fighting scenes, an insane bearded villian and a benevolent main hero who, unlike his american counterparts, isn't cynical, sassy, divorced or a recovering alcoholic. He just beats up legions of henchmen and Shaolin psychopaths instead. It's a more light-hearted than, say, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon. A "kid" version of folk-hero Won Hei Hung joins in the heroics, including a suberb fight when he defends a female character from the attentions of an overwhelming posse of villans. Tacky? Well, it won over a cynic like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crouching tiger with grit, 30 Sep 2001
By 
csharland@hotmail.com (shrewsbury,shropshire,U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Monkey [DVD] (DVD)
Iron monkey is a classic, and superiour in some ways to "crouching tiger, hidden dragon" . With wong fei-hung the character from once upon a time in china and loads of other martial arts classics involved it becomes a must. This i think is the cream of the crop in the martial arts genre. This is the greatest movie since "enter the dragon".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Monkey [DVD]
Iron Monkey [DVD] by Woo-ping Yuen (DVD - 2001)
5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews