Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars42
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2010
I know that this word has lost in meanings and nowadays every realesed movie is brilliant and got five or six stars in some magazine but this is a movie from the times when brilliant meant something...classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
Woody Allen's first personal comedy creation, in a long line of comedy classics, is a work of comic genius. Full of clever visual gems and hilarious lines. He was the Alan Partridge of the 70s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
Still funny classic but the region 2 DVD is 4x3 letterboxed making it virtually unwatchable on an HD display. Disappointed on the AV quality front.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
Early-period Allen, when he was still doing knockabout comedy. This film more than stands the test of time and delivers solid entertainment value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 June 2010
A brilliant mock-documentary on the life of a criminal - played by
Allen - with some of the funniest lines and sight gags I've ever seen
in a film. It's important to remember that 'mockumentaries' weren't
common when Allen made this, and it was actually seen as quite
experimental in it's own crazy, low budget way.

This isn't the deep, brilliant film-maker of 'Annie Hall', etc, but an
amazingly smart and funny young Allen capturing the spirit of cinema
anarchists like the Marx Brothers.

The only small drawbacks; a sometimes cloying musical score and a
couple of slow sections around the love story. But these are very small
flies in the great ointment.

A minor point - there's a some debate as to whether the correct aspect ratio is 1:66
or 1:85. From what research I could do (as well as old fading memories of seeing the
film in theaters) I think 1:66 is actually correct.

I believe this release is in 1:85, whereas the out of print, but still often available used
NTSC Anchor Bay is in 1:66. Certainly not a life or death difference, but worth noting
for obsessive purists (like me).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
I love this mans sense of humour, I am gradually building a whole set of his films. He really is a comic genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
I am not a great fan of woodys/ but I really do think this movie is very funny/well worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Brings back some funny moments especially when he tried to hold up the Bank and cant spell
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
A cumbersome, poorly paced and at times banal film, one wonders how it was ever made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
Very funny movie , the adventures of history`s worst criminal .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.