Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woody Allen is 'Uncool Hand Virgil'
One of the first "Mockumentaries", Allen's 1969 classic, 'Take the Money and Run' follows the hapless New York criminal and no-hoper, Virgil Starkwell as he, his wife, and his heavily disguised parents discuss his growing notoriety amongst the New York underworld.
The film follows his lives, his loves, his stays in prison, and his poor spelling of the word...
Published on 16 Feb 2001

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great film, poor DVD
It is a trueism that no Woody Allen collection should be without this film, but sadly I had to send this DVD back to the store because of the absolutely terrible sound synching, which is way off in several scenes throughout the film, and seriously impaired my enjoyment of the film.
This is a terrible shame as I so much want to have this film on DVD. Not being an MGM...
Published on 21 Jun 2003 by Touring Mars


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woody Allen is 'Uncool Hand Virgil', 16 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Take The Money And Run [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
One of the first "Mockumentaries", Allen's 1969 classic, 'Take the Money and Run' follows the hapless New York criminal and no-hoper, Virgil Starkwell as he, his wife, and his heavily disguised parents discuss his growing notoriety amongst the New York underworld.
The film follows his lives, his loves, his stays in prison, and his poor spelling of the word 'Gun'.
The film has been described as Allen's 'Cool hand Luke' but the Jewish psychotic juxtaposed against Newman's cool White Anglo Saxon provides much of the film's comedy.
One of Allen's great assets was his ability to write classic one liners and this movie does not disappoint. Memorable lines such as, "The prisoners were fed one hot meal per day: a bowl of steam" run throughout the whole film. Another classic moment is when he says of his future wife on first meeting her, "after half an hour, I completely gave up the idea of snatching her purse."
If you want to see one of the wittiest films ever made by one of the wittiest filmmakers of our time, buy this film.
If, for any reason, you can't afford it, write a note to the video store counter staff warning them that you have a 'Gub' and that you aren't afraid to use it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great film, poor DVD, 21 Jun 2003
By 
Touring Mars (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Take The Money And Run [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
It is a trueism that no Woody Allen collection should be without this film, but sadly I had to send this DVD back to the store because of the absolutely terrible sound synching, which is way off in several scenes throughout the film, and seriously impaired my enjoyment of the film.
This is a terrible shame as I so much want to have this film on DVD. Not being an MGM release, the format is slightly different, and there are a few more extras like a trivia section/info about the movie and Woody Allen, which is alot more than you get on the MGM discs.
The film itself is brilliant. In the style of a documentary, it is basically a comic remake of 'Cool Hand Luke', and follows the social outcast Virgil Starkwell on his ill-fated journey from petty thief to big-time bank robber, only to get 10 years after a failed heist because he misspelled the note ('Act natural, I'm pointing a gub at you? What's a gub?') When Virgil's wife comes to visit him in jail, she says 'I can't believe it, you robbed a bank?' to which he replies 'No, I 'tried' to rob a bank... if I had robbed the bank everything would have been great...' Littered with funnies from beginning to end, this is one of his best comedies, but sadly, I'm having to make do with my VHS copy until Fremantle get their act together and sort out the synching problem, which ruins the enjoyment of the DVD unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woody Allen at his best.., 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take The Money And Run [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
This to me is his greatest film,everything from start to finish just had me in stitches... I love it, this is woody at his slap stick best..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comic tour de force, 26 Sep 2012
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Take The Money And Run [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
This is Allen's directorial debut, his last movie of the sixties, and one of the first mock documentaries to reach the cinema screen. It's about a loser called Virgil Starkwell, in a comic nod to `Cool Hand Luke', and follows the exploits and failures that condemn every turn in his life.

As ever with Allen's work, his acerbic look at the desires, fears and ambitions of ordinary people is both comic and tragic but, this being the sixties, he portrays it in a quick-fire, almost slapstick form that he had abandoned by the early 1970s. The comedy lacks subtlety and often runs into pure silliness, but Allen sticks to the plot, and the story rattles along rapidly from gag to gag, punctuated by a tide of superb one-liners. There are many highlights but the best is probably the failed bank robbery "gub" sequence. It is pure Allen, and fits neatly alongside his stand-up comedy material of the time. Forty years on, the mock documentary is a jaded and overused format, but this movie still shines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Howlingly funny and inventive early Woody Allen, 17 Jun 2010
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Take The Money And Run [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant mock-documentary on the life of a criminal - played by
Allen - with some of the funniest lines and sight gags I've ever seen
in a film. It's important to remember that 'mockumentaries' weren't
common when Allen made this, and it was actually seen as quite
experimental in it's own crazy, low budget way.

This isn't the deep, brilliant film-maker of 'Annie Hall', etc, but an
amazingly smart and funny young Allen capturing the spirit of cinema
anarchists like the Marx Brothers.

The only small drawbacks; a sometimes cloying musical score and a
couple of slow sections around the love story. But these are very small
flies in the great ointment.

A minor point - there's a some debate as to whether the correct aspect ratio is 1:66
or 1:85. From what research I could do (as well as old fading memories of seeing the
film in theaters) I think 1:66 is actually correct.

I believe this release is in 1:85, whereas the out of print, but still often available used
NTSC Anchor Bay is in 1:66. Certainly not a life or death difference, but worth noting
for obsessive purists (like me).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The one that started it all, 26 Oct 2001
By 
Mr. D. Woods "dwoods92" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The now legendary auteur Woody Allen made his directorial debut with this terrific comedy.
Woody's early films relied more on slap-stick than subtlety but he proves equally able with both comic forms, confirming him as a true cinematic genius. 'Take the Money and Run' is a vehicle for Allen's considerable talents really, Janet Margolin and the other actors simply provide him with a foundation to work from.
The script is excellent and many scenes remain memorable, (take the one where Woody is playing cello in a marching band and the bank hold-up using an illegible note). The directing is raw and rough but otherwise this is a brilliant work of comic genius.
No Woody Allen fan should be without this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woody Allen first and greatest film, 5 April 2001
By 
R. J. Konrad (Plymouth England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is by far my best film Woody Allen every made. I weep with laughter first time I saw it! I love watching it over and over again seeing part I missed. The love sence with his wife is to die for. I also like the chain gang sence a great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Mockumentary, 4 May 2007
This review is from: Take The Money And Run [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
"Take the Money and Run" is an absolutely hilarious Woody Allen film, done in a quasi-documentary style, about a career criminal, Virgil Starkwell, who has a very unsuccessful career. His prison breaks don't go as planned, his robberies are a disaster and usually coincide with someone else's robbery of the same place, and his planning of a job would be fine if only he weren't talking to the police in the booth behind him. One nice perk of failure: while attempting to rob a young woman's purse, he falls in love with her (Janet Margolin). Virgil does admit at one point thinking of foregoing robbery and taking up a career in singing. He doesn't mention the cello, which gave him his start in music - and crime.

This is one of those laugh out loud even when you're alone movies of which there are all too few. But this is one. Over a tough, FBI-type narration, we watch Virgil's futile attempts at making money through crime, see his parents (disguised) interviewed, as well as his wife and the various police and investigators he meets along the way.

It's amazing to look at this film and then look at "Match Point" done 35 years later and see the evolution of this brilliant man. Woody Allen is capable of rock-solid comedy as well as provocative movie-making. Although he's had a few blips along the way, one wonders what he'll think of next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Briilliant., 3 July 2014
By 
Mr. N. H. Jones (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take The Money And Run [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
Comedy genius. One of his greatest films alongside Play It Again, Sam and Bananas. Shame about the rest of his career which was hit-and-miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take The Money And Run [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a truly good film.

If you like Woody Allen films, then you will enjoy this. It is one of his earliest and in my opinion one of his funniest. Without wanting to spoil the plot in any way Allen plays one of the most inept prisoners to ever get to gaol. The gags are fantastic and will have you laughing out loud.

Great fun and a really funny film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Take The Money And Run [1968] [DVD]
Take The Money And Run [1968] [DVD] by Woody Allen (DVD - 2001)
4.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews