Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long neglected gem
Beloved of Pete Townshend, Jason Pierce and Bobby Gillespie, Dion's brilliant 1975 collaboration with Phil Spector still astonishes today.

The majestic title track is a fitting opening to an album in which Dion's peerless vocals are matched to perfect effect with Spector's typically inventive orchestration. That said, none of the tracks suffer in...
Published on 10 Jan 2007 by I. Moore

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spector and a guest singer
I read great things about 'Born To Be With You' and, in truth, this is Phil Spector's triumph rather than Dion's, ironic given the large as life promotion of the singer on the cover. Dion shows what a good voice he has, but it's the updated 'wall of sound' that catches the attention. I would comment too that in all of this, the songs themselves seem to have been...
Published on 26 Feb 2008 by D. J. H. Thorn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long neglected gem, 10 Jan 2007
This review is from: Born to Be With You/Street Heart (Audio CD)
Beloved of Pete Townshend, Jason Pierce and Bobby Gillespie, Dion's brilliant 1975 collaboration with Phil Spector still astonishes today.

The majestic title track is a fitting opening to an album in which Dion's peerless vocals are matched to perfect effect with Spector's typically inventive orchestration. That said, none of the tracks suffer in comparison.

Interestingly, Dion seems to have had over the years - at best - an ambivalent relationship with the record. As a review I read years ago observed: "Imagine if you made the best record of your career, in collaboration with one of your heroes, and it was released only abroad...What if it was one of the greatest albums ever made, but you didn't even realise it?"

Probably my favourite album of all time - well worth giving it a try if you're up for hearing a long-forgotten part of rock history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE MAGIC TOUCH, 8 Aug 2007
This review is from: Born to Be With You/Street Heart (Audio CD)
Spector is best known - and rightly so - for his collaborations with early sixties girl groups, as well as with acts like Ike and Tina Turner and the Righteous Brothers. Crystals songs 'Then he kissed me' and 'Da do ron ron', and the Ronettes' 'Be my baby' are all part of the great rock lineage which continued on through to the great Springsteen albums of the 70s. But this is as good as anything Spector did back then. I recall hearing the title track about five years ago and being overwhelmed by the sheer beauty and richness of it. It remains one of my all-time favourite songs and the rest of the album doesn't fall far short of the openers' greatness, while 'Queen of 59' is a belter too. There are many albums that are categorised as 'must have' or 'critically acclaimed' - this is one of them and it justifies the hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Strange, 9 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Be With You/Street Heart (Audio CD)
Forget "STREET HEART" and just wallow in the unbelievably soulful production of Phil Spector and "BORN TO BE WITH YOU". And, of course, Dion's voice. It really hits straight to your soul like prime Scott Walker or Dennis Wilson. This is a truly timeless record: the drums sound like depth charges, just like this was The Ronettes, but Dion and the production are otherworldly. Even the version of "He's Got The Whole World In His Hand" sounds like Godlike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make Me, 7 Aug 2009
By 
Anthony Dolphin (Dartmoor) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Born to Be With You/Street Heart (Audio CD)
'Born To Be With You', which Phil Spector lovingly built on a lavish scale for his idol Dion DiMucci, is the Taj Mahal of pop. Aged 16, Dion's voice was like a miraculously cast bell, his singing utterly fearless. Some of the early songs come on like two legions of pop kicking the door in. This album, for all its shimmering front and defiant scale, is autumnally-glazed and cracked, opiated, and contorted with lust. It will stagger and you will swoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spector and a guest singer, 26 Feb 2008
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Born to Be With You/Street Heart (Audio CD)
I read great things about 'Born To Be With You' and, in truth, this is Phil Spector's triumph rather than Dion's, ironic given the large as life promotion of the singer on the cover. Dion shows what a good voice he has, but it's the updated 'wall of sound' that catches the attention. I would comment too that in all of this, the songs themselves seem to have been forgotten. The title track is an over-reverential take on an old song. Dave Edmunds also recorded this at around the same time. He was going through his Spector imitation phase, and while his brand was inferior, he made a better version because he didn't forget the power of the song as it was intended to be performed.

'Make The Woman Love Me' is a much better recording, but the remaining songs are generally propped up by the quality of the production. 'The Whole World In His Hands,' a one-line song with a few 'yeah he does' ad-libs, is a waste of Dion's talent. As for 'Streetheart,' it's a highly-polished, well-executed album, and pretty bland. This disc will not change your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUBLIME SPECTOR, 25 Oct 2004
This review is from: Born to Be With You/Street Heart (Audio CD)
Nothing to add to the other review really, simply showing solidarity! The title track 'Born to be with you' is amongst Spector's finest work, but is practically unknown beside the likes of The Ronettes, The Crystals and The Righteous Brothers. The rest of the album ain't too bad either, so give yourself a treat and purchase this now. Whilst you're at it, pick up a copy of 'Johnny, baby please come home' by Darlene Love, Spector's other forgotten masterpiece. Mad as a hatter he may be, but Phil is one of the few true giants of pop history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars why?, 9 Feb 2012
By 
P. Mason - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Born to Be With You/Street Heart (Audio CD)
why don't you own this? unbeatable class, unsurpassable style and unrepeatable excellence just buy it i can't think of a reason why you shouldn't
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born to Be With You/Street Heart
Born to Be With You/Street Heart by DION (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews