Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good game!
I got my friends (some of them are hard-core gamers) to try Cossacks and all of them said that no other RTS game is even close to this one. According to them, Age of Empires 2 is also a good game but is too boring for somebody who is an expert in Cossacks. They loved the huge armies and the battles that you can create. Given that all sides have similar armies, use of...
Published on 31 Aug 2001

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Age of Empire 3
It's pretty, it is very pretty. Very very pretty. Thats about it. Yes the graphics are very good, yes you can have 8000 men on screen, but when is all said and done it is just Age of Empires set in the 17th and 18th centuries- really just Age of Empire 3. Your Town Hall makes villagers sorry peasants- at a cost. They use further resources to build. These buildings then...
Published on 15 April 2001 by froggy449


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good game!, 31 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cossacks (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
I got my friends (some of them are hard-core gamers) to try Cossacks and all of them said that no other RTS game is even close to this one. According to them, Age of Empires 2 is also a good game but is too boring for somebody who is an expert in Cossacks. They loved the huge armies and the battles that you can create. Given that all sides have similar armies, use of landscape becomes a valuable skill.
Let me tell you about my experience. After I got the game, I installed it at 8pm and finished my first game at 10am the next morning. And I was ready to play more! The first few games were a bit challenging but I was patient and read the manual. After a week or so I could beat the computer on a hard level. Now, I complete games agains PC on 'very hard' level in about 2 hours. Every game, however, is interesting because you can change the landscape and the nations you play for/against.
The best part, though, is the multiplayer option. A PC has a strong but not very creative strategy, so once you figure what it is, it's not impossible to beat a computer. It's MUCH more interesting to play agains other humans since you can create a large-scale defensive/offensive forces, which eventually results in huge battles.
To that end, I would recommend this game to anyone who loves challenges. For whiners who don't want to put an effort into learning a great game I would suggest getting a beer in one hand and a remote in another - that does not require too much brains.
By the way, you can download a free demo off cossacks. The demo is good but has some limitations (landscape,of nations, network options, no battles/missions). To get the full experience, the full version is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cossacks, 18 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cossacks (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
I have been playing cossacks for a number of months and find it to be an excellent game.The best feature in my opinion is the size of army you can create and the variety of units.Each individual nation that you can play have sufficent differences to make it worth trying each of them.My favourite are the Poles and thier cavalry.For a more stategic game it is best played in slow mode once the fighting starts.Graphicaly it is close to the Age of Empires game.I would of preferred larger and a bigger variety of skirmish maps but that aside cossacks is a well balanced and entertaining game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hire them all, 21 Feb 2004
By 
Mr. A. O. T. Pearce "red-falcon" (Saffron Walden, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cossacks (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
age of empires 2 move aside! Cossacks is a strategy/ military game covering the 17th and 18th century europe.
The Game comprises of 3 different factors:
1) campaign
2) single missions
3) Random Map
Resource collecting in cossacks has been brought on an eitirely different scale to those of age of empires 2.
In AOE2 you collect resources and can reach in to the 10,000s where as in cossacks resource colleting is vital to the game and you can reach 100 million or more.
The thing with cossacks is the amount of units both you and the AI can have on the map- over 80,000 units at any one time with a massive range to choose from including musketeers, pikemen, cannons, ships, peasants and many others waiting to be created.
The problem with cossacks is that the AI is very passive and often easy to beat unless you drag it out and play with them, they create the same sorts of units each time and are usually very predictable.
Detail is very good and music and sound also adds to the experience. The realism is quite good apart from in areas like ships with turning being very fast and looking kind of easy.
Apart from all the different units there are also many different structures and buildings you can build with your peasants including economic collectors (storehouse mill etc.), defensive walls and towers ( 2types of wall), military training buildings -barracks, stables, deports etc. Shipyards, houses and the list goes on and all of these helpthe range of the users interaction and game quality experienced during the game.
Overall cossacks well worth the money and once you are used to it can keep you going for hours. i would certainly recommend it to anyone and everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TERRIFIC!, 31 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cossacks (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
Cossacks is such a good game. Whether doing a campaign, single mission or random map you know you're going to be knocked out by the sheer scale of the battles- up tp 8,000 units on screen at one time- its huge! It's not just based on land, oh no, its on sea aswell with frigates, galleys and battleships. If you thought Age of Empires was good, you aint seen nothing yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move over RA and AoA!, 8 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cossacks (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
Wow. This is the most amazing RTS game i've ever played. Gone are the days where whoever makes the most guys wins(AoA, RA), here you need tactics, and recources. With a couple of cannon and 15 musketiers and a handful of siech cossacks I've drivin off relentless enemy attacks, consiting of about 50 men. The AI is amazing, using diversion attacks, trying to lure your men away from your Cannon or Mines so they can take thier calvary and capture them. Cannon are all powerful, but all to easy to lose, so you have to keep them in contact with just a few troops, one or two pikemen inbetween a few buildings will keep them from being captured. An amazing game. Buy it. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Age of Empires on steroids, 8 April 2001
By 
Mr. R. Campbell-jones (Huntingdon. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cossacks (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
Comments that, at times, you could think you are looking at another game, are entirely correct, and it doesn't take a genious to realise that the other game in question is Age of Empires.
However, think you're playing a simple AoA clone and adopt similar tactics and you'll lose big time. There are a number of differences which move Cossacks into a whole new arena.
When it comes to the number of units you can create, there doesn't seem to be a limit. The first thing that strikes you when playing this game is that there doesn't seem to be an optimal number of peasants, you just keep creating them, more or less flat out, throughout the entire game. I played a relatively quick game last night and had over 350 peons ploughing, mining, cutting and mining. The huge numbers also refer to the troops. Gone are the days when a huge group of 150 elite cavaly could carry all before them. Multiple units of 200 plus are common.
One interesting 'trick' the designers have played is to limit the ability of artillery to carry the day. They haven't limited their effectiveness; a couple of cannon can still quickly dispose of even a large unit of infantry, but they have stopped you building massive numbers and winning the game by making them easy to capture. Get a couple of horsemen amongst an enemy battery, and see them change colour as they become yours. This means you need to guard them, which starts to lead to realistic tactics.
The biggest step forward though isn't really in numbers, but in formations. Get 72 musketeers, an officer and a drummer arranged in a line, and they hold formation, they don't turn into an amorphous scrum at the first contact with the enemy. This makes sensible battles, with units manouvering and counter marching, the order of the day if you want to win.
It's a shame really. I bought AoA quite late, only having acquired it about 6 weeks ago. Now it isn't going to get played any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cossacks The best RTS so far!!!!!!!!!, 31 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cossacks (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
Incedibly detailed Historical RTS game that puts Age of Kings to shame. It is a far more realistic game than AoE and with the huge population limit it is a joy to play. Less attention is required in gathering resources than in AoK. More tactics are necessary than in most RTS since formations and gunpowder weapons make unit placement crucial. A few very minor details that could be polished will be addressed in the next forthcoming expansion. Overall this is a title to be had especially since it covers a period never covered before in a RTS and it does an exceptional job at it!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Brilliance!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 25 Aug 2006
By 
J. Adams "jazz3618" (N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cossacks (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
How good is this game! I bought it less than a week ago and can't stop playing it!

The main game is excellent giving u choices of campaigns, single missions, or random maps. The Campaign mode then takes u through the British invasion of the carribean (my favourite, creating a battleship and watching it destroy any other ship that comes near it!) and several other campaigns.

The gameplay is great incorperating large numbers of units and buildings in play at any given time. Another good quality is that i have found no building or unit limits so far (although it culd be that my units keep getting destored before i finish building) and i know that can annoy some players out there. Overall you would be MAD not to buy this!

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 24 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cossacks (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
Cossacks is the best game I have played in a long time and I love it. The revolvings cannons really annoy me though, you build up a huge army only to have it wasted by 4 - 5 cannons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baroque warfare at its best!, 24 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cossacks (PC CD-ROM) (Video Game)
Cossacks is not an easy game. It demands dedication and patience to get out the full pleasure this outstanding game has to offer. True, there are some deficits but minor ones in my opinion.
However, this is one of the best designed games I have come across in years. I am truly addicted as I am both an RTS and wargame lover. This is just about the perfect hybrid I could ever imagine. The gameplay (especially on multiplayer) is complex, very well balanced, vivid and above all great fun.
I bought the AoK x-pack some weeks ago but never even started playing it : Cossacks offered the pleasure of a real discovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cossacks (PC CD-ROM)
Cossacks (PC CD-ROM) by CDV (Windows 2000 / 95 / 98)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews