Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Th Eyeshadow Returns!
What can I say? Alice Cooper the father of shock and hard rock rekindles the flames of his past glories with this tremendous CD. It is packed with great songs. some hard, some moving and even tear-inducing, especially "How you gonna see me now" a song he based on an actual letter he wrote to his wife after he had dried out. She had never known him sober and he...
Published on 14 July 2001

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitive?
For those in the know, Alice Cooper is one of the most influential figures in rock history. His early 70's albums played a vital part in inspiring the punk, goth and metal genres that followed in his wake - KISS, The Sex Pistols, The Misfits, Iron Maiden and Marilyn Manson are only a few of the diverse and iconic acts that owe a debt to this man.

Since his...
Published on 10 Mar. 2006 by Gareth Hall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Th Eyeshadow Returns!, 14 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Int'l Version) (Audio CD)
What can I say? Alice Cooper the father of shock and hard rock rekindles the flames of his past glories with this tremendous CD. It is packed with great songs. some hard, some moving and even tear-inducing, especially "How you gonna see me now" a song he based on an actual letter he wrote to his wife after he had dried out. She had never known him sober and he did not know what she would think of the "dried out Alice". 20 years later and they are still married. "Poison" and "Hey Stoopid" are also great songs in their own right. But two songs are missing...The cheesy "House of fire" and the rockin' "Feed my Frankenstein". However, this does not flaw the CD at all. It is the best Alice Cooper CD you could ever buy and I'd recommend it to someone who only has a passing fascination with the mascara monster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concentrated Cooper, 9 Dec. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Int'l Version) (Audio CD)
Until recently I'd only had a couple of Coop albums from the 70's then I took a chance on this one ('cos it had POISON (brilliant!) on it) and now I'm gonna have to backtrack 35 years to collect all the stuff he's done...Simply on the strength of this compilation...
It's not all blood and guts, there are two or three really "personal" tracks...(I Never Cry, Only Women Bleed...)
Great stuff...Buy it or die unenlightened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitive?, 10 Mar. 2006
By 
Gareth Hall "Lord Rockingham" (Birmingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Int'l Version) (Audio CD)
For those in the know, Alice Cooper is one of the most influential figures in rock history. His early 70's albums played a vital part in inspiring the punk, goth and metal genres that followed in his wake - KISS, The Sex Pistols, The Misfits, Iron Maiden and Marilyn Manson are only a few of the diverse and iconic acts that owe a debt to this man.

Since his commercial heyday in the early 70's, Alice has amassed a huge catalogue of classic albums, continuing right up to the present day (2008's Along Came A Spider being his latest release). Over the last four decades, Billion Dollar Babies (1973), Trash (1989), The Last Temptation (1994) and The Eyes Of Alice Cooper (2003) have all set the benchmark for the very best in rock 'n' roll, each album representing a very different style and period, and yet all of them being instantly identifiable to this uniquely complex and charismatic artist.

It is for this reason, however, that The Definitive Alice Cooper fails to live up to its title. 95% of the tracks included chart his career from 1971 to 1978, and many of his classic songs from this period are featured. However, the following chapters of his career, spanning nearly 25 years when this compilation was released, are accounted for by a grand total of two tracks (the smash hit Poison, and 1991's title track Hey Stoopid). This does not even begin to account for a huge wealth of great material from the 80's, 90's and beyond, and as such this album is anything but "definitive".

With that being said, at 21 tracks you get value for money, and with so many poor, bargain bin Alice Cooper compilations on the racks, this comes closer than most to offering a decent retrospective. As an alternative, I would also recommend 'Classicks', which features 9 tracks from 1989-1994 (including killer cuts like 'Feed My Frankenstein' and 'Lost In America'), and 6 live versions of the 70's hits.

For guidance on what to buy after that, check out "Alice Cooper: A Step By Step Buyer's Guide", which contains bitesize reviews on all 25 of Alice's studio albums, on my Amazon.co.uk profile. Remember the Coop, huh? ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Alice Cooper - Welcome to Cooper's nightmare!, 3 Nov. 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Int'l Version) (Audio CD)
This is a great single disc best of Alice Cooper. Featuring big, bombastic rock with a sense of theatre and macabre, Cooper has released some anthemic tracks in his time. All the classics are here, School's out, Million Dollar babies, etc, etc. There are also a few more personal tracks, such as `How are you going to see me now?' a thoughtful question to his wife on how she would view him after he'd kicked the booze. With big riffs and beats, Cooper's trademark vocals and some literate and intelligent lyric writing it is easy to see why Cooper has become an institution. This is a great précis of his career; I highly recommend it for the casual listener new to Cooper. If you like this then check out DVD's of his live shows - the studio recordings he has released are good, but his live shows are something else again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C(r)op A Load Of This!, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Int'l Version) (Audio CD)
Alice Cooper has just recently stunned/wowed/amazed etc. 20,000 people at The Cropredy FOLK Festival!! He's picked up a whole load of new fans who're now interested in buying from the back catalogue. HERE is where to start.

There are several Alice, greatest hits-type, compilations but only this one is remastered. It contains all the original group's big hits - "School's Out", "Elected", "No More Mr. Nice Guy" etc. - plus some album tracks, including the epic "Halo Of Flies". Try playing the latter in the dark and it'll scare the pants off you!

Solo Alice is represented by his big ballad hits of the late 70s - "Only Women Bleed", "I Never Cry", "You And Me" etc. - as well as the rocking "Department Of Youth" and the sinister, jazz(!) overtones of "Welcome To My Nightmare". His two biggest non-Warner Brothers label hits - "Poison" and "Hey Stoopid" - are also included.

Although this IS the best greatest hits set currently available it isn't totally comprehensive. As it's just a single CD there's no room for several lesser hits that he had on Warner Brothers (such as the wonderfully quirky "Clones") and later non-Warners big European hits like "He's Back" and "Lost In America" are also omitted. Released at the turn of the millennium, there's nothing from Alice's post-'Brutal Planet' comeback phase either; nevertheless, an essential purchase for beginners.

For new fans who want to dive straight into individual albums then I'd recommend:-

1. "Billion Dollar Babies" - the newly remastered deluxe double CD version has a live concert added from 1973.
2. "Welcome To My Nightmare" - Vincent Price has a cameo here!
3. "Brutal Planet" - get the DVD as well; it's brilliantly shot and Alice gives an awesome performance.
4. "Welcome 2 My Nightmare" - his most current release. Get the FANPACK collector's edition as it contains a huge magazine covering all of Alice's career.

Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Alice Cooper, 14 Jan. 2013
By 
Bacchus (Greater London - Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Int'l Version) (Audio CD)
This collection came out in 2002 and contains songs from the period of when Alice Cooper was in his heyday as a recording artist. Not sure what he has done in the recording studio but can see that he is still performing live and on TV (pretty good for a man in his 60s).

For all the stage diabolism, it was all a great theatrical act. He was a great performer presenting a wonderful macabre image but offstage he is a born again christian, a teetotaller (after earlier alcoholism) and a keen golfer. I suspect that had he actually been what he appeared to be, the act would have been less entertaining and he probably would have died long ago.

My memories of Alice Cooper include Top of the Pops (School's Out), the Muppet Show (Welcome to my Nightmare and Schools Out) and The Two Ronnies (Welcome to my Nightmare) as well as appearances in Waynes World. As I say, Alice Cooper is a mainstream entertainer rather than a debauched rockstar.

Anyway what of the music? This is a very well filled CD of 21 tracks lasting over 70 minutes taking you through most (but not all) of hit most memorable tracks. I love the sheer abandon and joy (and humour) of School's Out and Department of Youth, the creepiness of Welcome to my Nightmare, and Billion Dollar Babies, the sheer energy and excitement of Poison, No More Mr Nice Guy and Hey Stoopid. What I did not expect was how moving and lyrical he could be. Only Women Bleed, I Never Cry and How You Gonna See me Now? are all very tender and moving songs.
There are also many less familiar songs on this CD which I also enjoyed. I have to say that it was a really excellent feelgood compilation.

What also makes this CD nice to have is Alice Cooper's own notes. I hadn't realised how personal some of the songs were. It is also clear that Alice Cooper is more humble. He wrote that No More Mr Nice Guy was influenced by songs by the Who and was then really flattered that Roger Daltry then sang it himself. He was also flatterd that Tina Turner sang Only Women Bleed, a surprisingly feminist song.

All in all, a great recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 21 April 2010
By 
AR Scoones (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Int'l Version) (Audio CD)
Never brought an alice cooper album before, tho i own a couple of songs already. the album wasn't what i expected, less heavy. but still some wicked songs on there. the whole thing is a brilliant listen.

delivery, i went for the cheapest (whatever it was, free saver, or 2nd class) it was fine, delivered on time, good packaging didnt damage the cd case. all in all pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good compilation, 4 Jun. 2009
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Int'l Version) (Audio CD)
Ive been enjoying Alice Cooper for 40 years. If you were new to Alice, this album would be a good place to start.If you were making an AC compilation from all your AC albums to play in the car on a long journey, you could do worse than choose these tracks. You'll be singing along, rocking out and slapping the wheel. But mind the speed please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice Cooper CDs, 18 July 2011
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Int'l Version) (Audio CD)
My husband has been a Alice Cooper fan since the age of 20 and had all his records but unfortunately no longer has a record player. As part of his birthday pressie I decided to see if they had replaced his LPs with CDs and sure enough Amazon did not let me down. Absolutely brilliant to see the smile on my ol' man's face - thank you Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive career overview, 11 May 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Int'l Version) (Audio CD)
There are many Alice Coopers compilations on the market, but this is the only one (aside from the much more pricey, but nevertheless excellent The Life And Crimes Of Alice Cooper boxset) that I know of that contains songs from a long period, from 1971 through to 1991 to be exact, and it's official.

Of course, us devoted Alice fans know that some of the real gems lay within the studio albums, particularly the concept records 'Goes to Hell' and 'From The Inside', and to fully experience his music, it is best served by hearing one of his original releases from start to finish. However, if you only want one album with most of the essential recordings that were big, radio-friendly hits, Rhino record's 'The Definitive Alice Cooper', with it's inclusion of tracks like 'Poison', 'No More Mr. Nice Guy', 'School's Out' and 'From the Inside' is the only CD that you really need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Definitive Alice Cooper (Int'l Version)
The Definitive Alice Cooper (Int'l Version) by Alice Cooper (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews