Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Th Eyeshadow Returns!
What can I say? Alice Cooper the father of shock and hard rock rekindles the flames of his past glories with this tremendous CD. It is packed with great songs. some hard, some moving and even tear-inducing, especially "How you gonna see me now" a song he based on an actual letter he wrote to his wife after he had dried out. She had never known him sober and he...
Published on 14 July 2001

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitive?
For those in the know, Alice Cooper is one of the most influential figures in rock history. His early 70's albums played a vital part in inspiring the punk, goth and metal genres that followed in his wake - KISS, The Sex Pistols, The Misfits, Iron Maiden and Marilyn Manson are only a few of the diverse and iconic acts that owe a debt to this man.

Since his...
Published on 10 Mar 2006 by Gareth Hall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Th Eyeshadow Returns!, 14 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Audio CD)
What can I say? Alice Cooper the father of shock and hard rock rekindles the flames of his past glories with this tremendous CD. It is packed with great songs. some hard, some moving and even tear-inducing, especially "How you gonna see me now" a song he based on an actual letter he wrote to his wife after he had dried out. She had never known him sober and he did not know what she would think of the "dried out Alice". 20 years later and they are still married. "Poison" and "Hey Stoopid" are also great songs in their own right. But two songs are missing...The cheesy "House of fire" and the rockin' "Feed my Frankenstein". However, this does not flaw the CD at all. It is the best Alice Cooper CD you could ever buy and I'd recommend it to someone who only has a passing fascination with the mascara monster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concentrated Cooper, 9 Dec 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Audio CD)
Until recently I'd only had a couple of Coop albums from the 70's then I took a chance on this one ('cos it had POISON (brilliant!) on it) and now I'm gonna have to backtrack 35 years to collect all the stuff he's done...Simply on the strength of this compilation...
It's not all blood and guts, there are two or three really "personal" tracks...(I Never Cry, Only Women Bleed...)
Great stuff...Buy it or die unenlightened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitive?, 10 Mar 2006
By 
Gareth Hall "Lord Rockingham" (Birmingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Audio CD)
For those in the know, Alice Cooper is one of the most influential figures in rock history. His early 70's albums played a vital part in inspiring the punk, goth and metal genres that followed in his wake - KISS, The Sex Pistols, The Misfits, Iron Maiden and Marilyn Manson are only a few of the diverse and iconic acts that owe a debt to this man.

Since his commercial heyday in the early 70's, Alice has amassed a huge catalogue of classic albums, continuing right up to the present day (2008's Along Came A Spider being his latest release). Over the last four decades, Billion Dollar Babies (1973), Trash (1989), The Last Temptation (1994) and The Eyes Of Alice Cooper (2003) have all set the benchmark for the very best in rock 'n' roll, each album representing a very different style and period, and yet all of them being instantly identifiable to this uniquely complex and charismatic artist.

It is for this reason, however, that The Definitive Alice Cooper fails to live up to its title. 95% of the tracks included chart his career from 1971 to 1978, and many of his classic songs from this period are featured. However, the following chapters of his career, spanning nearly 25 years when this compilation was released, are accounted for by a grand total of two tracks (the smash hit Poison, and 1991's title track Hey Stoopid). This does not even begin to account for a huge wealth of great material from the 80's, 90's and beyond, and as such this album is anything but "definitive".

With that being said, at 21 tracks you get value for money, and with so many poor, bargain bin Alice Cooper compilations on the racks, this comes closer than most to offering a decent retrospective. As an alternative, I would also recommend 'Classicks', which features 9 tracks from 1989-1994 (including killer cuts like 'Feed My Frankenstein' and 'Lost In America'), and 6 live versions of the 70's hits.

For guidance on what to buy after that, check out "Alice Cooper: A Step By Step Buyer's Guide", which contains bitesize reviews on all 25 of Alice's studio albums, on my Amazon.co.uk profile. Remember the Coop, huh? ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Alice Cooper - Welcome to Cooper's nightmare!, 3 Nov 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Audio CD)
This is a great single disc best of Alice Cooper. Featuring big, bombastic rock with a sense of theatre and macabre, Cooper has released some anthemic tracks in his time. All the classics are here, School's out, Million Dollar babies, etc, etc. There are also a few more personal tracks, such as `How are you going to see me now?' a thoughtful question to his wife on how she would view him after he'd kicked the booze. With big riffs and beats, Cooper's trademark vocals and some literate and intelligent lyric writing it is easy to see why Cooper has become an institution. This is a great précis of his career; I highly recommend it for the casual listener new to Cooper. If you like this then check out DVD's of his live shows - the studio recordings he has released are good, but his live shows are something else again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Compilation Album, 14 May 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Audio CD)
This album is a compilation of Alice Coopers greatest hits featuring Posion, Welcome To My Nightmare, School's Out, Billion Dollar Babies, Hey Stoopid & many many more.

Yet this release should've been a 2 disc compilation as the majority of the songs on his album are from the 1971-78 era which is great but there's very little material to be heard from the 80's or 90's Cooper era's which is were a double disc album would've benefited & balanced those era's material.

No doubt as this was released in 2001 the 00's Cooper era isn't going to be included a new greatest hits release will be released sooner or later so perhaps those era's will be included on that release.

A fine set of songs it's just a shame two era's of hit music have been omitted.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Alice Cooper, 14 Jan 2013
By 
Bacchus (Greater London - Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Audio CD)
This collection came out in 2002 and contains songs from the period of when Alice Cooper was in his heyday as a recording artist. Not sure what he has done in the recording studio but can see that he is still performing live and on TV (pretty good for a man in his 60s).

For all the stage diabolism, it was all a great theatrical act. He was a great performer presenting a wonderful macabre image but offstage he is a born again christian, a teetotaller (after earlier alcoholism) and a keen golfer. I suspect that had he actually been what he appeared to be, the act would have been less entertaining and he probably would have died long ago.

My memories of Alice Cooper include Top of the Pops (School's Out), the Muppet Show (Welcome to my Nightmare and Schools Out) and The Two Ronnies (Welcome to my Nightmare) as well as appearances in Waynes World. As I say, Alice Cooper is a mainstream entertainer rather than a debauched rockstar.

Anyway what of the music? This is a very well filled CD of 21 tracks lasting over 70 minutes taking you through most (but not all) of hit most memorable tracks. I love the sheer abandon and joy (and humour) of School's Out and Department of Youth, the creepiness of Welcome to my Nightmare, and Billion Dollar Babies, the sheer energy and excitement of Poison, No More Mr Nice Guy and Hey Stoopid. What I did not expect was how moving and lyrical he could be. Only Women Bleed, I Never Cry and How You Gonna See me Now? are all very tender and moving songs.
There are also many less familiar songs on this CD which I also enjoyed. I have to say that it was a really excellent feelgood compilation.

What also makes this CD nice to have is Alice Cooper's own notes. I hadn't realised how personal some of the songs were. It is also clear that Alice Cooper is more humble. He wrote that No More Mr Nice Guy was influenced by songs by the Who and was then really flattered that Roger Daltry then sang it himself. He was also flatterd that Tina Turner sang Only Women Bleed, a surprisingly feminist song.

All in all, a great recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best from alice, 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Audio CD)
The definitive is the best collection of ALICE cooper all his well-known songs are present.pity there's not any song on it from the first three records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice Cooper CDs, 18 July 2011
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Audio CD)
My husband has been a Alice Cooper fan since the age of 20 and had all his records but unfortunately no longer has a record player. As part of his birthday pressie I decided to see if they had replaced his LPs with CDs and sure enough Amazon did not let me down. Absolutely brilliant to see the smile on my ol' man's face - thank you Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album!, 5 May 2011
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Audio CD)
Mr. Cooper, always surprising. All songs are good and off course the hits having good memories to the good old days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent Alice, 1 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Alice Cooper (Audio CD)
Brilliant! Love it! All the old favourites, School's Out, Elected, Poison and my favourite favourite, Welcome to my Nightmare.reviewed by Sherrie Lowe, author of Song Of The Phoenix
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Definitive Alice Cooper
The Definitive Alice Cooper by Alice Cooper (Audio CD - 2001)
Click for more info
In stock on July 28, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews