Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Violetta
This is the most thrilling and moving performance of this opera I have ever seen or heard. Angela Gheorghiu is heartbreaking and mesmerizing as Violetta. Maybe Verdi wanted his heroine to look like Gheorghiu on stage. She is simply perfect.
One must recognize Sir Georg Solti's contribution as well.
Overall, the production is magnificent. The sound recorded in...
Published on 25 Oct 2002 by Hovsep

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Incompatible
The DVD could not be played on my TV which is only 3 years old, something to do with PAL?
Published 1 month ago by Anne Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
I was lucky enough to be at the ROH on the first night that Angela Gheorghiu sang in La Traviata, The place went wild. It was fantastic. This helps me remember that wonderful night and the four other times I went to see this show that season.

declan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A sixth star if possible, 16 April 2012
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
Back in 1994 it was my great good fortune to witness this ground breaking version of Verdi's famous opera. I share everbody's conviction that Angela Gheorghiu is the greatest Violetta of her generation for she sings, acts and looks the part to perfection. This Covent Garden production also enjoyed the great conducting of Sir Georg Solti, handsome and appropriate costumes and sets and much fine singing in the other roles.

Although he is not a Placido Domingo (a marvellous Alfredo in Zeffirelli's film version) Frank Lopardo sings the part well. His acting might be described as a little wooden and an attempt at latin passion (throwing things across the stage in act 2) seems out of character. Smartly dressed (so important) Leo Nucci creates an impressive Giorgio Germon although to a degree he lacks the stern elegance of that other great Italian baritone Renato Bruson. There is fine support in the lesser roles by seasoned performers including Gillian Knight (a sympathetic Annina), Robin Leggate (a cheerful Gastone) and Richard Van Allan (who looks every inch the autocratic Baron).

This production is certainly the cornerstone of any La Traviata collection. Angela Gheorghiu still gives an outstanding performance as Violetta in the 2007 production from Milan. On this occasion she is partnered by Ramon Vargas, who makes a fine, sympathetic Alfredo. The two singers are again in great form in the Met's version of la Boheme. Here again Angela Gheorghiu is masterly in her depiction of the part of opera's second great consumptive heroine.
Zeffirelli's 1982 film version of the opera is, as one would expect, a ravishing feast for the eye. Placido Domingo is partnered by the great singing actress Teresa Stratas ( my second choice for the part of Violetta). Cornell MacNeil is if anything too sympathetic to Violetta in the famous duets of act 2 but such might well have been Zeffirelli's intention.

Trottman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasure for a friend .... ,La Traviata, 29 Jan 2011
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
A gift for an opera loving U3A group leader, thanking her for work with her Italian Group, the Traviata DVD was delivered promptly, proved agreat choice and is much appreciated. Watched it with her indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great singing, problem with the sound, 11 Mar 2007
By 
John Davison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Decca ought to consider whether using surround sound is really such a good idea. Surround sound tends to emphasise background noise. Add to this the tendency for modern systems to favour low-frequency sounds, and personally I find the scenes with chorus marred by a distracting clumping of feet and shuffling of bodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is NOT a PAL recording, as described!, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD recording is described by Amazon as:

Format: Classical, Closed-captioned, Colour, Dolby, DVD-Video, PAL

This is incorrect. It is an NTSC recording (i.e. the US colour system) which will only play on a DVD player which can switch (or be switched) from PAL (the UK colour system) to NTSC, and back again.

The production and the recording are both excellent. It's Amazon's "fail" for getting the technical description wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, 14 April 2011
By 
Peter O. Wineman "Cello" (Evesham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
This DVD of an "Historic Performance" was advertised with subtitles in five languages. But although the box indicates Menu Screens in English and Chinese, no menu screen appears. This prevents the user from selecting any subtitle, and so if you are happy to have a superb performance in the original Italian this is worth having - but if you need to know what is happening - this is not for you.
There is obviously something VERY WRONG WITH THIS DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars La Traviata, 16 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
I enjoyed the performance though at times the camera was quite distant and the accompanaying sound diminished. I found it difficult to trace the subtitles but eventually did so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La Traviata, 7 Jun 2010
By 
C. Russell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
An excellent transaction. Item lives up to standard, and a very good and quick transaction. I hope to use this dealer again in the future, and would recommend. 100% OK!!!
I was impressed by the quality of the DVD and the choice of the DVD I made was about the best, and I would like to say a big 'thankyou' to the Seller for advertising this particular version, as it's my favourite Opera and all the Performers were brilliant. So a good choice from a good seller, who has this version in their (stock) library. About the best I've seen & heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking Passion!, 14 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
A dull production lacking passion.

Picture quality 4
Sound quality 4
Sets 5 - sumptuous looking sets.
Music making (orchestra) 3
Storytelling 5
Direction (camera work) 4
Singing/Acting 4/3 - Alfredo 4/3, Violetta 5/3, Germont 5/3, smaller parts 4/4, chorus 4/4.
Costumes 5

Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001]
11.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews