Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


106 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Violetta
This is the most thrilling and moving performance of this opera I have ever seen or heard. Angela Gheorghiu is heartbreaking and mesmerizing as Violetta. Maybe Verdi wanted his heroine to look like Gheorghiu on stage. She is simply perfect.
One must recognize Sir Georg Solti's contribution as well.
Overall, the production is magnificent. The sound recorded in...
Published on 25 Oct 2002 by Hovsep

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incompatible
The DVD could not be played on my TV which is only 3 years old, something to do with PAL?
Published 7 months ago by Anne Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

106 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Violetta, 25 Oct 2002
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
This is the most thrilling and moving performance of this opera I have ever seen or heard. Angela Gheorghiu is heartbreaking and mesmerizing as Violetta. Maybe Verdi wanted his heroine to look like Gheorghiu on stage. She is simply perfect.
One must recognize Sir Georg Solti's contribution as well.
Overall, the production is magnificent. The sound recorded in 5.1 channels is a pleasure to listen to and the picture quality is also perfect. But the real gem in this production is Angela Gheorghiu.
I highly recommend this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 103 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets..pretty much, 29 Dec 2003
By 
Per Nyberg - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
Some opera buffs of a bygone era relentlessly claim that "Callas will always reign supreme as Violetta".Be that as it may, the truth is that is is hard indeed for us belonging to a new generation of opera lovers to imagine a better interpretation, vocally AND dramatically, than the one provided by Angela Georgiou on this very fine DVD. Good-looking she certainly is (beats Callas here by a slim margin, a man's humble point of view..) and her acting is supreme and utterly convincing as well. And as for her singing, her natural coloratura skills are very impressive indeed, although perhaps not as naturally flowing as they were for the Greek-American soprano. And her intonation is much more reliable (few would disagree on that one!).
Lopardo does a good job as the young Germont. Not in the same league as his mistress, of course... but quite reliable most of the time.
Nucci is good, well, actually more than good.
The production is devoid of disturbing anachronisms such as punk rockers, AIDS-replacing-TBC-as-cause-of-death inventions and that sort of garbage. We are grateful for that.
Solti is in very good form, not at all hard-driven but sensitive and precise at the same time.
In all, as much as I admire the legacy of the great Maria Callas: Buy this DVD and meet a new generation of very capable and very convincing performers on the operatic stage. And above all: Meet Angela Georgiou in a role that suits her perfectly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A star is born, 26 Mar 2008
By 
D. Robinson "Opera Dave" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
This is the opera that shot Georgiu to stardom. It's easy to see why, with her combination of acting, looks and singing. Violetta is a very difficult role, it places very different demands on the singer in each act. Georgiu isn't quite ideal for act 1, but after that she's really in her element. You can practically see the paternal pride in Solti's face as he watches his young protegee bloom. Surely the definitive Traviata.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A star is born, 28 Nov 2010
By 
M. Joyce (Cairo, Egypt) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
This is, of course, the production which propelled Angela Gheorghiu to international stardom and rightly so, as both her singing and acting are absolutely spellbinding. The resolutely traditional production is nevertheless very effective and its success is due in part to the casting of singers who look right for their parts. I am not a particular fan of either Frank Lopardo or Leo Nucci, but they both do well here, especially the latter. Smaller parts are taken by Covent Garden regulars and it is especially good to encounter those most communicative of performers, Gillian Knight and Richard van Allan. Sir George Solti conducts lovingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La Traviata, 26 Aug 2010
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
This performance of Violetta (the heroine of La Traviata) justifiably established Angela Gheorghiu as a great operatic talent.

Ms Gheorghiu has the added physical advantage of looking the part of a doomed courtesan. Most importantly, her voice has many colours which she used with great intelligence in this performance.

The scene where death is close is particularly affecting.

This DVD is a must for anyone who loves opers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gheorghiu and Solti create sparks, 21 Oct 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
This version of La Traviata seems close to perfection, certainly the best I have seen. First there is the magnificent singing of Angela Gheorghiu, who has a high-octane gleam on her voice that reminds me of Callas in its intensity. There is something metallic in the tone, but it can also be brought down to a ravishing softness; it is a beguiling sound world and one that fully engages the emotions from the first note. As it happens she also looks ideal for the role of Violetta, being relatively young, but not too much, so that there is a sense of sophistication and experience, yet she is very beautiful with her fiery looks and beautiful lustrous hair. The male leads are both very good, but it is she who lifts the production, I think. The other key figure is Solti, who matches her with his tremendous fire and rhythmic elan. Everything is whisked compellingly into shape, and he knows how to move on through the phrases in a way that holds it together as if there is no other way. The third element is the set design, which is fairly amazing, never more so than when the curtain first rises on a most elegant round interior with a disc open to the sky in the centre. A glass figure of a female form is then brought in on a superb golden bowl, looking like a gravity-defying jelly; I half-expected someone to take a spoonful of it at some point but it remained intact without even a wobble. Later scenes were equally stylishly decorated, for instance Act Two, which can be a bit of an anti-climax from this point of view, had beautiful lighting coming from a French window at the side. It is a production that allows Verdi's wonderful music to unfold like a pageant of heartrending tunes, each seemingly more unbelievable than the last, until it seems the whole of life has been brought under the magic spell of the human voice, a dissolving into pure emotion and song. It also seems to be a proto-feminist work in the way it highlights society's unconscious cruelty to a woman in her position. This is never acknowledged in a politicised way but the point is very clear when you think about the actions of the three main characters. It's another plus in an unmissable experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars La Traviata, 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
I loved this DVD of Verdi's ever popular La Traviata, Angela Gheorghiu was suberb and looked as beautiful as ever and made a really convincing heroine who was dying of consumption. Her voice was superb as ever as that of the baritone Leo Nucci who sang the role of her lover Alfredo Germont's father. The orchestra was conducted by Sir George Solti a great maestro who drew out Verdi's heartrending music for the Orchestra of the Royal Opera.

BUT, the whole opera was ruined for me by the tenor Frank Lopardo whose acting was totally wooden and I did not like his voice at all. It was good in the lower registers but became ,in my opnion, cold in the higher register.
.
I looked him up on Google and was surprised to see how well known and in much demand he was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most moving performances ever!, 1 July 2004
By 
DAVID GATFIELD (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
Within this production, the scene in Act 2 where Violetta (Angela Gheorghiu) says goodbye to Alfredo (Frank Lopardo) is, without doubt, one of the most moving performances I have ever seen! Angela Gheorghiu is simply incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gheorghiu is sublime, 1 Feb 2010
By 
Silvergold (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
As a performer myself, I often put this DVD on whilst I get ready, warm-up, apply stage make-up, etc. As a huge Verdi fan, I find this particular production outstanding. Angela Gheorghiu is so breathtakingly beautiful, feminine, strong, passionate, and her voice so faultless that it inspires me every time. Alfredo was a bit wooden at first, I thought, although he's really grown on me, and I enjoy him more each time I watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an end and a beginning, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
1994. Solti at the end of his career; Gheorghiu at the beginning of hers -- she was 29 at the time of this production, and she is a treat to hear and a sight to behold. The beauty and confidence of her singing and the appropriate expressiveness of her acting are very special, and the scene with Germont tears at the heart as it should. She has the flexibility for "Sempre libera" and the weight and plangency for "Amami Alfredo." It's a great assumption of the role. The cast is strong throughout. Frank Lopardo, looking (though not quite sounding) like the young Bergonzi, is a positive and forceful Alfredo. The voice isn't particularly individual, but he sings with security and expression, and he acts the part convincingly. He takes both stanzas of his Act 2 cabaletta, and he makes them work. Leo Nucci has rough moments in the singing, but he's an old hand, and he puts it over convincingly. I've always thought "No, non udrai rimproveri" was anti-climactic after "Di Provenza" -- but Nucci makes it seem just right. He was (still is, I think) a fine singing actor. Solti conducts with fine forward impetus and draws lovely sound from the Covent Garden orchestra.

I see that some reviews get into the Gheorghiu/Netrebko wars -- I haven't heard Netrebko in this role, but assume that she's very fine. But c'mon . . . there's no need to pick winners and losers here. This is a great record of a compelling production and a great performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Verdi: La Traviata -- Royal Opera House [DVD] [NTSC] [2001]
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews