Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars70
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2001
I was lucky enough to be on holiday in Japan when this was released, and I must say that this is one of the most original titles I've played on any system. Not quite an interactive movie (fortunately), it nevertheless displays cinematic qualities and a standard of acting rarely seen in videogames. The motion-capturing and facial animations of the main characters puts previous efforts to shame. The story is incredible, and depending on the path you take through the game you will be faced with one of 6 different endings, all equally unexpected. The 6th Sense has nothing on this.... It is not a game for everyone, however. Its sedate pace, and occasional over-"hand-holding" at times, coupled with the brevity that 1 playthrough holds (about 3 hours) will put a lot of people off. Also, the lack of any real action will not be to everyone's tastes. Despite being done by much of the same team, this is not Silent Hill 2 (the demo of which was included in the JP version of SoM) - although it creates a creepy atmosphere all its own. Very highly recommended to the more patient type, as those who will like it will love it, and also hats off to Konami - in an industry dominated my men, Shadow of Memories was written, produced and directed by a woman (who also gets an acting part - she's the voice of the cats, too).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2001
You start the game getting killed, and now you just have to know why.
Being a lover af all RPGs i took to this like a salmon to a waterfall!, and was not disapointed.
It lookes great and you easily slip into the world before you.
I will not tell you anything deep about the storyline as i feel it would ruin it, just hire it, and when it goes back you will go out and buy it.
Also there are several different endings so once you complete it you can start it all over again and do things in a different way.
How do i save the mother and baby........
Only timetravel will tell.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2001
at first glance this can be a simple point and click, however if you look deeper there is a well structed well thought out game. The graphics are some of the best seen on PS2, and the chilling music gives real atmoshpere.To play the game well you need to listen to evey word and talk to every one which does not apeale to everyone.Also there is no violence, if you don't like this i say stick to quake 3. otherwise I highly recomend this game. It has everything graphics,sound,gameplay and longevity with its six different endings, depenping on how well you do. BUY IT NOW!!!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2001
Shadow of Memories is one of those games which come along once in a blue moon. The concept is Completely original, you travel though time in the hope to Avoid your own death and find the secret of the mysterious Philosopher's Stone. The Graphics are first class and while the game leaves you wondering what to do a lot, it play beautifully. The only critisim is that it is to short, it can be completed in about 2 hours, but with multiple enddings game play is extended.
BUY THIS GAME IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR AN ORIGINAL AND ENGROSING EXPERENCE.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2004
I am used to playing games of this style, the old hunt, search and do puzzle kind of thing. However, this was just so different. The story was engaging, you cared for the characters and it was a good concept that you have already died but you go back in time to figure how it happened and stop it from occuring. Only one draw back is that you would be wondering around for ages not sure what to do next and there is no replayability. I wish they would bring out a sequel.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
picked this up second hand after liking the sound of it, I just fell in love with it...it is a unique game, a really thoughtful time-travel-based game with multiple endings so there is room for multiple playthroughs, which did not get dull for me as I just fell in love with the game, its world, its music and its powerful plot...

It's nice to have a game that is mysterious, dark and compelling that dispenses totally with (interactive) violence for a change, just goes to show that it can be done really well if the right thought is put into it...

I particularly love the world and characters of the medieval/early modern period you enter, and the sepia colouring of that period and the black and white colouring of the middle period are nice touches...

A lot of the voice acting is pretty crap but I expect that from American dubs in general, it does not spoil the game...my only criticism is it is rather short...if you can pick it up cheap enough though you certainly get your money's worth - short and sweet
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2001
Shadow of Memories is a beauty of a game. If you want to complete it, you're going to need to be able to think laterally (although not that laterally) as you travel through time to try and prevent your own murder; an idea that brings a welcome blast of originality to the PS2. With 5 endings, it's also a game that you'll want to play through several times to uncover the whole mystery of Homunculus and the Philosopher's Stone.
Sadly, it's only this replay which makes its length anywhere near acceptable - this is a VERY short game, and a lot of it is (admittedly stunning) FMV. Is this the curse of all great next-gen titles? ZOE is the only other game on PS2 at the moment that is living up to the promise of next-gen gaming, and that's lamentably short, too.
Still, you can always buy it on Friday, complete it over the weekend, and return it on Monday, so that's something.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2004
This game starts off with the main character being murdered. You are then given the chance to cheat death by an immoral being, who in return gives you time shifting powers. This game does not take long to play, but you NEED to play the game another six times to experience the extire plot. I love this game, but I wish their was a sequel to play!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2001
I never usually buy puzzle games and I never usually enjoy them as well but, Shadow of Memories is really good. I first had a shot at it when someone I know brought it over. I put it on and watched the start of it and after about 5 minutes I got into play. I was a bit puzzled at first but then I really got into it. Shadow of Memories is absouletly brilliant with it's tremendous story line and it's brilliant twist. Even though it'll keep you up all night thinking it's still an excellent choice especially for people who like working out puzzles. It'll also agree with people who don't normally play games and people who like reading books. If you like puzzle games Shadow of Memories should be your number 1 choice.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2001
shadow of memories is the best game since resident evil and silent hill. The graphics of this game are superbs, with exellent sound effects. Eike is the main character, who has to cheat his fate, which involves him travelling back in time. Youre duty is to gather clues to cheat his fate, so that no harm comes to him. You have a constant time limit which adds to the excitment of solving puzzles. Unlike silent hill and resident evil there are not lots of weapons and too many puzzzles to solve, to the point of it being annoying, which makes this game perfect. This game is the bestes game i have ever played, and if you love RE and silent hill, then you certainly wont be disappointing. Worth buying!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.