Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars31
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2015
Real early stuff, not too polished
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
Still hadn't found their feet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2001
We've have been awaiting this album for what seems like aeons, but fortunately it does not disappoint. With 14 songs it is excellent value for money whatever price you pay!
For me, two of the best tracks are 'black and blue' and 'one night is not enough'. However, I really appreciate listening to Gary Lightbody's more moving lyrics and quieter songs. There are still the bouncy bits that we all love too. A couple of the songs have aspects that sound similar to 'The Delgados'. The two excellent singles are there too. There isn't a duff song in all 14.
If you have seen Snow Patrol live over the past year then many of these songs will be familiar ... and you should be as excited about this release as I am.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2001
After 3 years, the follow up to Snow Patrol's excellent debut album is FINALLY released, and it is in no way a dissapointment. I was quite apprehensive before buying this, positive that after the genius of their first album i could only be dissapointed, i was very happy to find however that i wasn't even slightly! From the fuzzy rush of "Chased by...i don't know what" to the astoundingly beautiful "An olive grove facing the sea" there is a great mix. The over all sound has progressed since "Songs for polarbears" but not so much that it is unrecognisably Snow Patrol. This album shows a new maturity to Snow Patrol and is an album that should be cherished for years to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2001
The second album from the Irish 3-piece sees Snow Patrol mature a little with new studio wizardry adding even more depth to their songs. Lead singer Gary Lightbody's distinctive voice bears some resemblance to that of Belle and Sebastian, but the two bands similarity ends there. At times Snow Patrol rock hard 'last ever lone gunman' and 'chased by...i don't know what' and chill out 'ask me how i am' and 'batten down the hatch' but throughout remain melodic, something rare to find these days. A great piece of rock/pop that hopefully will gain Snow Patrol some well deserved recognition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Great product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2001
I looked for this album for ages having heard the single "Ask Me How I Am" and seeing an interview with Snow Patrol that said "This is from our new album that you probably can't buy in any shops anywhere". And they were right. When I finally got hold of a copy I must say I was a little disappointed, this album is simply not as good as their first album, "Songs for Polar Bears". With the exception of "Ask Me How I am" there aren't really any stand out tracks and the loud / angry moments (Starfighter Pilot, Get Balsamic Vinegar... Quick You Fool) that made the first album so exciting are just not there. About the only track to come close is the edgy, "Last Ever Lone Gunman". Basically, it's a "nice" album rather than an excellent one but still worth a try.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
cool album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2002
it's simple. snow patrol are the most creative indie-rock band in the country. u no wen u get bands making music outside theyre usually tight sphere just to show off good they are (see Muse with 'Deadstar'), snow patrol havent even got a little sphere of rock - they can do nething with pure quality. their best sound comes when a soft intro explodes into a frenzied, throbbing rock-out, a la 'Black & Blue'. They dont realy sound like much else, less punky than early (proper!) iDLEWiLD, mos def not like Muse as the review sez, but still superb. a little bit more like Lowgold, who u realy should no by now, altho they havnt got a label ne more! u can b forgiven for not noing them as for watever reason they get negligible airplay, XFM and MTV2 included, but u realy should. if u like these cool scottish or irish bands, look at iDLEWiLD, Biffy Clyro, Turn, as well as the Coopers, Muse, and the mighty Hundred Reasons.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)