Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snow Patrol Raw
This album is brilliant if u want to hear where the sound of modern day snow patrol came from. The album as a whole is a very slow affair with very few really big anthemic pieces such as chasing cars and run but the foundations are there. All the songs are beautiful and have real meaning and this is shown by the emotion given by lightbody in every single track...
Published on 26 Feb 2007 by I. R. Walker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Showing early promise.
This album does not have the pomp of Snow Patrol's later work, but it is an interesting archive of a band finding its voice. Few others, Duke Special being a notable exception get away with celebrating the Northern Ireland accent in pop and rock songs and it works a treat. Not their best work, but still streets ahead of most "Indie" (I hate that word) albums.
Published 9 months ago by Alistair Morrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - a must have, 2 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: When It's all Over We Still Have To Clear Up (Audio CD)
A great album.
I only heard of snow patrol this year and whn i found out that they had released another 2 albums beside Final Straw i decided t check them out and i was surprised at the quality of this understated band that had been formed in 1994 and i hadn't heard about them. I highly recommend this album to any Snow Patrol fans and their most recent album Final Straw.
The songs are sung with such emotion that you will be totally fixated on the band.
Some of he songs are very quiet and may have to read the sleeve to read what the vocals are but i think that the quietness of the vocals adds emotion to the songs and makes you fill up with emotion after hearing the pain and anger that the lyrics include.
Once you know what the lyrics are you will understand the emotion behind the songs and really get into the meaning.
Gary Lighbody voice takes you into the emotions that he is feeling on some of the songs (An olive grove facing the sea and If i'd found the right words to say)
Great songs include:
An olive grove facing the sea -a beautifully sung song has so much emotion too it.
One night is not enough,If i'd found the right words to say and
Last Ever Gunman.
This really is a great album after you have played it a few times you will totally fall in love with this album.
A must for Snow Patrol Fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snow Patrol Raw, 26 Feb 2007
This review is from: When It's all Over We Still Have To Clear Up (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant if u want to hear where the sound of modern day snow patrol came from. The album as a whole is a very slow affair with very few really big anthemic pieces such as chasing cars and run but the foundations are there. All the songs are beautiful and have real meaning and this is shown by the emotion given by lightbody in every single track. Highlitghts for me have to be "last ever lone gunman", "one night is not enough", "on/off" and "when it's all over we still have to clear up". My final word on this album is try and find it for as cheap as possible cos it has been around for a bit now. [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Melodic and Heartfelt!, 1 Jan 2006
This review is from: When It's all Over We Still Have To Clear Up (Audio CD)
This could be the soundtrack for anyone who has fallen in love, had their heart stomped, declared celabacy but still has the capacity to fall madly in love again! This is the beauty of the album as we start with 'Never Gonna Fall in Love Again', go through a rollercoaster of emotions with haunting melodies on tracks like 'If I found the Right Words To Say', 'An Olive Grove Facing the Sea' and 'Make Love To Me Forever'. We get some more commercial sounds with the likes of 'Ask Me How I Am' and 'Chased By... I don't Know What' and even a hint that some of this heartache may be down to him on the heartfelt 'On/Off'. Snow Patrol take you there an back in one of the most simply written (check out the title track, I think everyone has been there) yet beautifully heartfelt albums that my ears have had the privelidge to listen to. If you like Final Straw, step back in time and get this. Admitedly, you may not appreciate it's brilliance at first, but before you know it, you'll be lost in loves gone past with a lump in yout throught.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enough to reduce you to tears.. for all the right reasons, 10 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: When It's all Over We Still Have To Clear Up (Audio CD)
This is a beautiful album, full of songs that take your emotions, twist them up and ring them out.
'When It's All Over' is a much quieter, more laid back album that Final straw, but still unmistakably Snow Patrol. Gary Lightbody's lyrics are full of emotion, and Olive Grove is now one of my all-time favourite songs.
This would be a great addition to any album collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class !, 13 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: When It's all Over We Still Have To Clear Up (Audio CD)
I had never heard of Snow Patrol before this album. When I heard 'One night is not enough' on the radio, I simply fell in love with their unique sound- possibly the finest single of the year so far. But the album certainly doesn't rely on this one track. It is full of contrasts and highly emotionally charged, particularly the title track. Other highlights include 'An olive grove...' and the more upbeat 'Last ever lone gunman.' Tracks like 'Ask me how I am' also show the charm which sets this apart from similar artists. If you like your music emotional, you'll like this. If you don't, you soon will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing, 21 Jun 2001
By 
M. J. JONES (Frankfurt, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When It's all Over We Still Have To Clear Up (Audio CD)
Snow patrol were the first band I saw live this year and quite frankly the blew me away. I had heard of the band before, but I had never heard their actual music. Gary Lightbody (their singer) really motivated the crowd to really get into the music and after the gig I could`nt help but buy this album..
The first couple of listens to this album will seem slightly dissapointing, but dont fret this album will definitely grow on you and even the more inaccessible tracks such as "firelight" and "batten down the hatch" will eventually be adored.
This album is made one hundred percent better by the inclusion of the lyrics on inside sleeve. It is often hard to make out what Lightbody says and once you can truly fathom the lyrics then the songs take on a whole new dimension.
Lighbody sings predominantly about his lost/forbidden loves, this is obvious is in the stupendously good "olive grove" and "one night is not enough". As far as song themes go, the nihilistic "lone gunmen" is also very interesting (lets just hope it isnt true).
The bass riffs in Snow Patrol`s music are very original for this style of music, but the CD version of these riffs do not do them justice as live the bass playing is one of the things that really grabs your attention.
Mr Quinn their drummer is quite good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album Of The Year!, 3 Aug 2001
By 
I. Bullen (Wigan, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's all Over We Still Have To Clear Up (Audio CD)
No kidding! If you want songs about real people and real emotions, if you want songs that hit you immediately or that gradually seep into your sub-conscious, then this album has the lot.
From the opening track, in which singer Gary Lightbody matter-of-factly declares that he's Never Gonna Fall In Love Again, we are taken on an emotional trip of lost love, forbidden love, anger and resentment. All the lyrical ingredients for a good soul-searching album. And the music doesn't disappoint either. The jaunty Ask Me How I Am, the sublime pop of One Night Is Not Enough and the Nirvana-esque Last Ever Lone Gunman (great title, too) show that Snow Patrol have many strings to their musical bow.
Add to this the teenage crush of An Olive Grove Facing The Sea, the simmering, understated hate of the title track, a name check for Brian Wilson in Batten Down The Hatch and quite possibly the most heartfelt apology ever to appear on an album in On/Off and you have an album you can't fail to enjoy.
Give it 3 listens and you won't want to play another record all year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its a grower, 13 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: When It's all Over We Still Have To Clear Up (Audio CD)
i bought this album without hearing it because i loved final straw and eyes open, and to be honest the first time i listened to it i was really disappointed. i thought it was slow and uninspiring and had a real feel of 90's indie music about it, however a couple of weeks later i listened again and found there were a few songs on it that i really liked, and after playing it a few more times i now really like it. its one of those albums that grows on you and sounds better the more you hear it, and while at first i thought it was a poor effort from snow patrol i now realise that this album is the foundation on which some of their later masterpieces are built on. definitely worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F****** Amazing, 5 Nov 2002
This is probably my favourite album, and I've always kicked myself that it was available for six months before I bought it- something I did purely on a hunch. It is consistently brilliant (something which could not be said of its predecessor, which showed only occassional flashes of inspiration)and veers from toothy guitar riffage (Chased by...) to genuinely moving and evocative stuff like the mighty "Olive Grove Facing the Sea" and "On/Off". Nothing on this album is particularly sophisticated musically- it's beauty is often in its simplicity. Gary Lightbody's gentle voice is the perfect instrument for the beautiful lyrics, which deal mostly with sex and love (the good and the bad), and which are never schmaltzy- just simple and true. See also Lightbody's side project Reindeer Section. Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Big fan, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's all Over We Still Have To Clear Up (Audio CD)
I am a big fan of SP and was missing this album, I rated it 4 stars because it's not the best but still good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When It's all Over We Still Have To Clear Up
When It's all Over We Still Have To Clear Up by Snow Patrol (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews