Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock soundtracks come no better than this!
I have never heard a Rock soundtrack to match this one for energy and for being a showcase for a group's talents. This stunning album accompanied the film release in 1979. I still have the vinyl double-album with its colourfull booklet and film-reel lid design inner sleeves!

From the notorious Smothers Brothers performance of 'My Generation' (Keith Moon's...
Published on 21 Mar. 2010 by Ms. Felicia Davis-burden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Who live
some recordings a bit distorted and its not feedback just a bit scratchy
Published 3 months ago by PAUL R FREEMAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock soundtracks come no better than this!, 21 Mar. 2010
By 
Ms. Felicia Davis-burden (Staines, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kids Are Alright (Audio CD)
I have never heard a Rock soundtrack to match this one for energy and for being a showcase for a group's talents. This stunning album accompanied the film release in 1979. I still have the vinyl double-album with its colourfull booklet and film-reel lid design inner sleeves!

From the notorious Smothers Brothers performance of 'My Generation' (Keith Moon's explosives caused TVs to momentarily blank out right across the USA!) to a tumultuous 'Won't Get Fooled Again' recorded at Shepperton Studios in June 1978 (Moon's last concert appearance) there are terrific live and studio recordings that compliment the classic studio albums. For the film, the performance of 'Anyway Anywhere Anyhow' was faded out during the instrumental break (emphasis on the mental!), but it is complete on the album, and completely wonderfull. The listener is plunged straight after that into a magnificent powerhouse rendition of 'Young Man Blues'. Believe me, it's exhausting to listen to now, imagine how it must have felt to be in the audience!

This album is just marvellous, and I cannot recommend it enough. God bless The Who!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ....Perfect........., 31 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kids Are Alright (Audio CD)
The Kids Are Alright....The Version Of " Baba O' Riley" On This Masterpiece Is Worth The Price Of 10 Of These CD'S Alone..............The Rest Contains The Core Of The Incredible Film Soundtrack.....And Brilliant Versions Of " My Wife" & " I Can See For Miles" That Were Not In The Movie.....Incredibly Remastered & Repackaged, It Doesn't Get Better Than This!!!....Probably The Greatest Movie Soundtrack Ever Made..........And Probably One Of The Greatest Albums Ever Made!!!....AAAAAAAAAA++++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who Review, 29 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Kids Are Alright (Audio CD)
Good to hear some classic Who tracks in different formats. A good mix of studio and live performances. My fave track is definately 'A Quick One'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first Who album I ever bought, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kids Are Alright (Audio CD)
I bought this album on vinyl in 1979 when the mod revival started following the release of the film Quadrophenia. I still have the original vinyl but needed the CD to take anywhere.
It's an awesome album with a great mix of studio and live recordings.
If you were only going to buy one Who album then this would be my choice, but then you'll fall in love with it and need to add Quadrophenia and Who's Next, you have been warned!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of songs, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kids Are Alright (Audio CD)
I have this album on vinyl from many years ago. Its great to hear it again on CD. Would recommend it to any fan of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Who live, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kids Are Alright (Audio CD)
some recordings a bit distorted and its not feedback just a bit scratchy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Who The Greatest Band Ever!, 8 Mar. 2001
This review is from: The Kids Are Alright (Audio CD)
This album contains all of The Whos finest work kicking off with the great My Generation. When listerning to this CD turn your speakers right up to the max to get an impression of what this band were all about. Great Cd!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great collection of 17 Who tracks, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kids Are Alright (Audio CD)
This is a great collection of 17 Who tracks,some are live and some are not and I think that combination works really on this CD.Even I was surprised at how good the live tracks are.I also like the way the tracks have been compiled together.This is a great CD with a good track listing.Buy yourself a copy today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kids Are Alright (Audio CD)
luverly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kids Are Alright
The Kids Are Alright by The Who (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews