Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a voice!
Beautiful songs from the least noodly end of the progressive rock spectrum.
Each one astounded me with its flawlessness and Celtic nobility -- maybe a little TOO polished, who can tell? --; this isn't a concept album, unless folkish rock and bodhrans throughout count as a concept. The music is distinctly tranquil, the singing a delight -- even more so when led by...
Published on 20 July 2004 by muinn

versus
7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 4 star music, 2 star vocals...
The musical style on this album is reminiscent of Pink Floyd, early Marillion and All About Eve. The musical performances and the bulk of the tunes are very strong. On the other hand, the vocals on at least three of the tracks (We Come and We Go, Half the Mountain & Prints in the Stone) leave much to be desired. The female vocalist (Heather Findlay) is ok, but the...
Published on 24 Sep 2001 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a voice!, 20 July 2004
This review is from: The Last Bright Light (Audio CD)
Beautiful songs from the least noodly end of the progressive rock spectrum.
Each one astounded me with its flawlessness and Celtic nobility -- maybe a little TOO polished, who can tell? --; this isn't a concept album, unless folkish rock and bodhrans throughout count as a concept. The music is distinctly tranquil, the singing a delight -- even more so when led by Findlay.
Listen to this album and float away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant album from a brilliant band, 8 May 2002
By 
leonard@epress.force9.co.uk (Letchworth, Hertforshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Bright Light (Audio CD)
This is the album where Mostly Autumn come of age. Ignore the earlier review citing weak vocals from Bryan Josh. His vocals, like Roger Waters', perfectly suit the mood and emotion of the music. As for Heather Findlay, her vocal work has matured significantly since the earlier albums. There really isn't a poor track on this cd, although the standouts are Shrinking Violet, Never The Rainbow and Mother Nature. This is a band that deserve to be heard and cherished. they represent everything that is great about British rock. Long may they continue. BUY THIS ALBUM!!! Hell, buy all the Mostly Autumn albums. You will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A precious thing, 30 Mar 2006
By 
J. Goode - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Bright Light (Audio CD)
I can't recommend this album highly enough. Just so you know where I'm coming from my music collection contains the likes of Queen, Genesis, Fleetwood Mac, Marillion, All About Eve, Renaissance, Clannad, Tull, Kate Bush, Arena and a host of others in a similar vein. This album compares with anything produced by the aforementioned. Simple songs are blended skillfully with longer 'epics' to provide a balance of music and styles linked by superb musicianship, thoughful vocals and elegant arrangements. Not prog, not folk, not rock, not celtic but a satifying blend of all these genres, listening to Mostly Autumn is simply the most pleasurable musical experience I have had for years. Others will disagree, especially if they are expecting 'pure' prog or searching hopefully for a clone of a long cherished (but probably now defunct) band. However, I stand by the view that Mostly Autumn is the best band currently recording and touring, and this album is right up there with the best of their work to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Echoes of Barclay James Harvest and early Genesis....., 6 Oct 2001
This review is from: The Last Bright Light (Audio CD)
I took the gamble of buying this album on the basis of a magazine article. How glad I am that I did. This really is a group on a high. A combination of great male vocals and beautiful female vocals with excellent instrumentation combine to make this an unmissable production. You can hear early BJH, Genesis and yes, I`m sure it even features a mellotron! For those interested in prog rock with a folky edge then you must look this one out. You will not, like me, be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why aint this band huge?, 10 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Last Bright Light (Audio CD)
Mostly Autumn have been wrongly called a Pink Floyd tribute act (they aint; OK!). Yes, they do sound a lot like Floyd, but they carry on where that band left off. As Pink Floyd are not active anymore, fans like me need something to satisfy us. Mostly autumn do this with great skill. Their guitarist plays and sings a lot like David Gilmour, and the female lead singer on this album ( Heather Findlay) has one of the most beautiful voices in rock. Her voice is 100 times better than most of the female vocalists you hear in the top 40 these days and could put those talent show wannabies to shame.And what about the music. I think this album contains some of their finest moments. The rockin' "never the rainbow"; the prog masterpiece " shrinking Violet", and of course the classic "Mother Nature".
A song that starts off a bit too soft for my liking, but slowly builds up into an absolute prog tour de force, with a guitar solo which (particularly on live versions) is one of the finest i've ever heard. One of many songs that, like mostly autumn, deserve to be heard by a wider audience. For a band that can put so much creativity, emotion, and beauty into their songs, I think it's sad that mostly autumn are destined to be ignored by the rock press and UK radio and remain unknown to a lot of people in this country, and if it wasn't for the fact that the music business being so disgustingly money orientated and concerned with whats cool, then mostly autumn would be much bigger that they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully powerful and hypnotic, 23 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Last Bright Light (Audio CD)
After the first two albums I was desperately looking forward to hearing this latest work. I was not disappointed. Mostly autumn claim to take their influences from the likes of Deep Purple, Pink Floyed and Genesis. But they also have a strong Celtic influence, which they have managed to harness with great effect adding a strong feeling of power and excitement to their music. The end result is something very different and somehow greater than any of these influences. The first thing I noticed when listening this album was the way in which the lead vocalists seem to have developed and matured in performance. In the first two albums they were almost hidden behind the incredible instrumentals but although the essential life and vitality of those instrumental pieces is still there, here the quality of Heather Findlay's and Bryan Josh's vocal abilities really shine through. Although this band is probably not for everybody I would recommend it to anybody who finds the world of pop a bit too shallow and unimaginative. And also to anyone who enjoys folk music, but more specifically rock or progressive rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost?? Autumn, 13 April 2008
By 
Michael Ashton "An OLD fan" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Bright Light (Audio CD)
OK, I admit that Bryan's voice won't satisfy a lot of people. Tough, his guitar playing will! This band of New Age misfits are never going to set the world alight. BUT they do make good music, even though it lacks the focus a good producer could give them. It's a bit of a Curate's Egg, this one, and the mixing is a bit odd - why? The post-production bit shouldn't be that difficult, especially the stereo image -the odd panning is wierd. It's still good enough. Try, and you'll buy.

Mike A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the brightest lights in the industry, 13 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Bright Light (Audio CD)
This is one of MA's early albums before their music started to sound rockier. It is a stunningly beautiful album in every respect. Quality songs, superb musicianship, great vocals and amazing guitar work. MA are a fantastic band and this is a great album. MA really deserve the following and respect which Pink Floyd and Genesis command.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 4 star music, 2 star vocals..., 24 Sep 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Bright Light (Audio CD)
The musical style on this album is reminiscent of Pink Floyd, early Marillion and All About Eve. The musical performances and the bulk of the tunes are very strong. On the other hand, the vocals on at least three of the tracks (We Come and We Go, Half the Mountain & Prints in the Stone) leave much to be desired. The female vocalist (Heather Findlay) is ok, but the male vocalist(Bryan Josh) is, I'm afraid, absolutely dire. His voice is a little like Roger Waters (say) but without the bitterness and alienation that made Waters off-key vocals fit the tunes.
That said, with the exception of 'Eyes of the Forest' (a heavyhanded lament on man's misuse of nature), the rest of the album is excellent with either instrumental tracks, Heather Findlay in the lead vocal slot or the vocals buried far enough down in the mix to be acceptable.
On balance a fine enough album, but with the first 4 tracks being the weakest, it takes a bit of perseverance to appreciate. Standout tracks for me were Hollow, The Last Bright Light, Helms Deep and Mother Nature.
Helms Deep is in fact one of the best examples of a celtic rock tune I've heard for a good long time.
On balance, a good effort, hampered by a poor choice of lead singer on too many tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars We Come ...and We Go, 29 Oct 2006
By 
Nick C (Middleton, Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Last Bright Light (Audio CD)
The first two Mostly Autumn releases had their moments and although not outstanding did have their own little magic touches that kept me interested in the band. When this was released some years back now I remember feeling slightly disappointed as I felt that special magic had started to vanish. Again the disc has a few good tunes most notable being We Come and We Go (although Bryan Josh's vocals leave a great deal to be desired...something that has recurred throughout the bands catalogue), Shrinking Violet and Never the Rainbow. But there are some clunkers the most obvious one being Eyes of the Forest the lyrics of which sound like they were written for a 6th form poetry contest....dire stuff.

The band did redeem themselves with the Lord of the Rings project which felt a lot more "organic" and less laboured...and fun. But since then nothing I have heard by them has had me wanting to purchase any further albums as everything since (Passengers and Storms) sounds too workman like and uninspired. Sorry MA fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Bright Light
The Last Bright Light by Mostly Autumn (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews