Customer Reviews


195 Reviews
5 star:
 (172)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comedy from two comedy kings
Some John Hughes comedies are a bit lightweight, a bit frothy, a bit kiddy-friendly. They might make you smile, but they won't necessarily make you laugh out loud. This one's different. There are some real classic moments in it. The bit where Neal and Del wake up in bed together next morning ("Those aren't pillows!"). The bit where they are sharing the back of a truck...
Published on 1 Oct 2003 by A. Broadhead

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
As decribed=== Happy
Published 1 month ago by R F Purnell


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comedy from two comedy kings, 1 Oct 2003
This review is from: Planes, Trains & Automobiles [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
Some John Hughes comedies are a bit lightweight, a bit frothy, a bit kiddy-friendly. They might make you smile, but they won't necessarily make you laugh out loud. This one's different. There are some real classic moments in it. The bit where Neal and Del wake up in bed together next morning ("Those aren't pillows!"). The bit where they are sharing the back of a truck with an alsatian dog, and it is so cold that their mouths have frozen in a permanent grin - including the dog. The bit where Neal is asleep in the car, and Del is singing/dancing/playing along to Mess Around on the radio instead of concentrating on driving. The bit where the traffic cop stops them, and Del tells him that even though his speedometer, his temperature and fuel gauge and all other instruments are knackered, his radio is as clear as a bell. And the bit where Neal vents his anger on the receptionist at the airport car rental place.
The last ten minutes of the movie, where Neal eventually gets home to his family, and we find out the truth about Del's wife (which the story has been leading up to all the way through), is really emotional. Much more emotional than you would expect from a John Hughes comedy anyway.
I love this film. I can watch it over and over again and not get tired of it. There's not many comedies where that is true - Spinal Tap, Life of Brian and Office Space are probably the only others. Del's witticisms (or lack of) get on Neal's nerves so much, that we laugh along with them, not because they are funny, but because they are so unfunny.
John Candy was a great comic talent who is sadly missed - some cruel people might say the same about Steve Martin after the crap stuff that he has done recently. This was made when both of them were at their peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 11 Mar 2006
This review is from: Planes, Trains & Automobiles [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
If you were on a desert island with 2hrs battery life in your portable DVD player, this is the only film you would ever want to watch.
Hilarious, magical, briliently written and acted, you can watch it a thousand times and never get tired of it.
It has to be on everyone's shelf. No excuses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planes, Trains & Automobiles BLURAY, 26 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is about the actual Blu-Ray, not the film:

Distributor: Paramount Home Entertainment
Catalogue Number: BSP 2291
Certificate: 15
Running time: 92 mins
Ratio: 1.78:1 Anamorphic widescreen
Audio: English 5.1 dts-HD Master Audio, Portugese Mono, Spanish Mono
Subtitles: English, English SDH, French, Portugese, Spanish

PICTURE QUALITY:
The hi-def transfer is surprisingly very good for a film of its age (1987), I must admit I was expecting a slight upgrade from the DVD print and was pleased to see a substantial improvement in picture quality.

BLU-RAY EXTRAS: (HD = Hi-Definition)
*"Getting There Is Half The Fun: The Story of Planes, Trains And Automobiles" (a post-film press conference with John Hughes, Steve Martin and John Candy talking about their involvement in the film with a crowd of reporters).

*John Hughes: Life Moves Pretty Fast featuring John Hughes: The Voice of a Generation (HD)

*Heartbreak And Triumph: The Legacy of John Hughes (HD)

*John Hughes For Adults

*A Tribute To John Candy

*Deleted Scene: "Airport Food" (HD)

Note: These are the same extras that appear on the Region 1 DVD "Those Are Not Pillows" Special Edition DVD.

I hope this helps viewers/potential customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon Nil - Martin/Candy/Hughes One, 19 Jan 2004
By 
V. WILLIAMS "veejaydubya" (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazon have their review wrong in my opinion.
This classic piece of cinematic work charts more than just a disastrous journey across a snow-bound North America by two hopelessly mismatched travellors. The comedy comes thick and fast between on one hand an up-tight high-flying advertising executive, Martin and on the other a big-mouthed but big-hearted slob of a man, Candy.
Martin is at the pinnacle of his profession and has all the rewards that go with it, a lovely wife, healthy kids, a luxory home and a very nice watch. He is used to getting what he wants when he wants it.
Candy scrapes by as a shower curtain-ring salesman because his customers like him. His rewards are hinted at by the fact that he doesn't have a very nice watch.
The real journey, I hinted at, is where Martin eventually discovers enough humility to take a serious look at someone a lot less fortunate than himself and learns that "by the grace of God, goes he".
All the crazy comic situations that the hapless pair fall into during their challenging journey come to focus sharpened by a good helping of pathos in the final five minutes.
I regularly watch this film for a good laugh and the feel-good factor.
If you have seen this movie and agree with Amazon, then, "EX--CUSE--MEEEeee". If you haven't, then please make up your own mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Transfer, 18 Oct 2011
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I often get wary about Blu Ray releases which are just remasters these days - guess I have been hit with a few like Robocop, so I advanced cautiously with this classic, which is probably one of John Candy's finest moments.

You know the story, hapless guys trying to get home are lumbered with each other as they head home to Chicago. The usual gaffes and silly things happen on the way, and you know the rest. So I won't bore you with my opinion on the movie, it's a fine piece of work from John Hughes and is considered a cult classic. The important thing is whether the transfer is worth talking about? I would say yes, it is a slight improvement from the DVD, but it's only slight. It's a grainy film anyway - so don't expect miracles from this, but it's a nice mixdown, with the music soundtrack pumping away. You'll find yourself swaying to the rock music in the taxi, and enjoying the main theme from Yellow all over again. The image is rather good with a 35Mbit/s average AVC - which is ample for a move of this type. The scrolling is smooth and it makes it look good.

The audio is a steady 3Mbit/s, which is what we're accustomed to with Paramount. Sadly the English track is the only decent thing, the Spanish and Portuguese tracks are poor at only a mono mix, you would expect better - but as it's an English release, guess we can't really complain.

The extras are not bad either, a nice interview with Candy, Martin and Hughes, but it really isn't that insightful. It's a bit of nostalgia rather than anything else, and it's nice to see John Candy and John Hughes at their happiest.

There's a lot of tribute work for John too, but I did find some of it rather repetitive as it was in other features on the disk. The 3 minute John Candy tribute was far too short and only really paid homage his work on this film. It felt like a filler rather than a main meal.

The biggest extra on here is the deleted scene from the flight part of the movie. It is in HD so that's one decent thing.

All in all this is as good as it's going to get for fans, sadly with no John Hughes we won't get any commentaries or any new insightful views - we have to rely on stuff from 1987. The extras felt more like filler, but at least the film looks fabulous, and if you're a big fan this is a big plus. I doubt they can do much better with this, but I bet I'll be proved wrong...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Those aren't pillows!", 26 Mar 2008
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Planes, Trains & Automobiles [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
Now over twenty years old, the only real thing that's dated is the fashion and the music - this is still a cracking comedy about two guys in a desperate situation.

This isn't a cerebral comedy, it's often quite slapstick and silly - but it does have a serious note to it, particularly at the end when it becomes quite poignant.

The plot of the film is pretty much universally known now, and Steve Martin plays the methodical clean living Neal Page with the reserved manner required of the role, and when he starts to crack under the strain of the situation - Steve Martin excels as the manic pushed-too-far marketing man.
Equally well casted is John Candy as Del Griffith. His appearance naturally lends well to playing lovable jolly characters, and this is no exception.

Del's optimism and ability to seemingly land on his feet at every fall grinds down Neal to the point of breakdown. The relationship between the two strangers becomes strained, but the shared experiences bring them together as friends. Neal demonstrates his desperation several times, and these are among the films best scenes - especially the famous "effing" scene where he launches a tirade of abuse at a car rental receptionist.

The reality of Del's situation is revealed at the end of the film, at this point the character seems more endearing than ever. There have been many films since which try to convey the warmth between family and friends at thanksgiving. They tend to over-sentimentalise an event which means nothing in the UK, and feel fake - but despite the cartoony, ridiculous situations you see in this film, the characters never seem anything but genuine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is ironic that the best movie that John Hughes made wasn't a teen movie, 18 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Planes, Trains & Automobiles [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
When I think of "Planes, Trains & Automobiles" I smile. It is an absolutely wonderful movie. Yes, it is regarded as a comedy but when I think of it I think of it as more of a drama. The jokes don't get old. This is probably my favorite comedy of all time. Hughes takes the traveling nightmare genre to a whole new level. It's more a triumph in script writing than anything

For those who don't already know Planes, Trains and Automobiles is simple in its approach. Everything that can go wrong does. It's a comic routine that can be funny, but here it is a trip to hysterical. The plot is simple enough as well. Neal Page (Steve Martin) is on his way home for Thanksgiving. He's your typical businessman that works in New York and has a family he wants to see in Chicago. The only problem is everything from delayed flights to ripped up car tickets happen on the way. Only worsening matters, Del Griffith (John Candy), is along for the ride. An annoying shower curtain ring salesman, Neal can't get rid of him no matter how hard he tries.

John Candy gives the performance of his too short career as the traveling shower curtain ring salesman Del Griffith. What makes Candy's performance so impressive is that while Del is an obnoxious, annoying slob, Candy shows that this is a very lonely, sweet, kind, and caring man with a great heart. This is a man who is putting his needs behind the needs of another person, a complete stranger in Neil Page. Candy creates an incredibly complex man, who the audience really gets to know and genuinely care about. They say comedies are the hardest films to get nominated for Oscars, which is true. And while "PT & A" is no Best Picture winner, it certainly in my mind has a performance not just worthy of a nomination but of an Oscar as well. It would be interesting to see how Candy's performance would be regarded if the film came out today.

The ending, whew!, it's a rough one. And again, despite all the wonderful comedy in this film, whenever I think of "PT & A" I think of the wonderful character of Del Griffith and the powerful ending. If you haven't seen this movie, rent it. I strongly recommend it as a first rate comedy that doesn't come along often. Whether it's the music capturing the perfect mood in the hilarious bedroom scene or meeting Owen, it's an earnestly frantic and tender trip through the modern transportation system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planes Trains and Automobiles, 9 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Planes, Trains & Automobiles [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
I've just ordered this on DVD having worn out my video copy. If you like Steve Martin and John Candy this film is a classic. Steve Martin is the upper middle class businessman trying to get home for Thanksgiving across US states, John Candy is a travelling salesman who just so happens to be going the same way on the same day. Their paths cross a few times as Steve Martin tries to rid himself of the irritating Salesman John Candy (Del Griffiths) until they decide to hook up for the journey, then things get really silly (Funny though). The uncut version is really good. A little swearing at the car hire scene but not too much.
I guarantee you won't watch this film once. As I said I wore out my Video version. My Other favourites are Something about Mary and Cool Runnings. I tried to buy a copy after Candy's death but it was sold out for weeks afterwards.
Hope this is helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Of Everything, 13 Jan 2004
This review is from: Planes, Trains & Automobiles [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
It is very rare that you get a film that has everything in it, comedy, drama, fly-on-the-wall reality and the odd tear jerking moment. This is one of those rare times.
I mentioned to someone the other night that the comedians from "Saturday Night Live" have yet to be surpassed by any modern comic and whan you watch this film you will certainly see why.
Steve Martin as the uptight family man provides a useful barrier for John Candys travelling salesman. Rather than me describe the scenes to you I would just say watch it, watch it carefully and see how it reflects on your own life.
I defy you not to be emotional by the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Candy is a legend!, 14 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Planes, Trains & Automobiles [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched this film about 30 or 40 times and it still makes me laugh. The combination of John Candy and Steve Martin makes this an all time classic that no fan of comedies should be without. Its also a great feel good film. Its the only film I can think of that is funny pretty much all the way through. Brilliant!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Planes, Trains & Automobiles [1987] [DVD]
Planes, Trains & Automobiles [1987] [DVD] by John Hughes (DVD - 2001)
£3.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews