Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The First Bogeyman
Charles Laughton's one and only foray into directing has left us with a unique and almost unclassifiable work.

Non-Christians may find the Blblical tincture - especially during the few minutes intro - just a wee bit stifling, but it does set the social tenor of the time and place. Otherwise it's a fascinating piece of cinema.

Robert Mitchum gives a...
Published on 13 Aug. 2011 by Seatinthestalls

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Cool
Published 4 months ago by Anders Bergman


‹ Previous | 17 8 912 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love rowing boats, 29 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. R. Kimberley (Tamworth,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Night of the Hunter [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
Mesmerising story. The legacy of silent movies seems to linger on with deep meaning behind few words. Amazingly evil Robert Mitchum unlike his compassionate priest in Ryan's Daughter. I don't repeat watch it all I start when the children runaway and drift downstream. I love rowing boats. I bought it to watch Lillian Gish and she has a good long roll. She is the star who saves the children and gives hope to the world. The Christmas Day is a joy at the end. Happiness for all. The children are exceptional particularly the elder boy and Ruby, I will look out for his later films. The fact I have watched it about 8 times says it all. As others have commented it's nice to see Lillian in a positive powerful role instead of being beaten. I could only watch Broken Blossoms once and tears came to my eyes several days later just accidentally recalling parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, 21 Dec. 2012
By 
Grip (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Night of the Hunter [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
This is Mitchum at his best. A classic chiller, no wonder it is in the top 50 films of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Really Does Bring in the Sheaves, 17 Nov. 2012
This review is from: The Night of the Hunter [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
Whilst not saying much about 'life' (so it's not Citizen Kane), it is cinematically fascinating and totally original and like nothing else. A weird journey studded with superb 'moments' - too many to list. Brilliant children's performances (not many of them - The Kidnappers, Bicycle Thieves etc.) and the haunting baritone of Robert Mitchum. Some have suggested it's not a great performance and he might come over as a bit wooden - I prefer to see it as 'mannered' like the film - listen to the soundtrack. It's like a great amateur's piece - a painter's biography - someone doing something in a medium they are not a master in but all the more remarkable for that. Only loses a little momentum right at the end perhaps, but with some genuinely special images throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Night of the Hunter [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
I really love this film, everyone should be made to watch it, and the book is even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificant Laughton masterpiece., 12 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
The amazingly dark performance given by Mitchem in this 50s classic is only part of what makes this film the little beauty that it is. It has a riviting story with pulsating moral undertones rounded off with fantastic cinematography (including a midget on a pony posing as the outline of Mitchem on his menacing black stallion!) . Watch out for Gish in what I believe to be the performance of her life as the wonderfully strong and loving foster Mother who helps to overcome Mitchem's terrifying role as the Preacher. A must for any serious film lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One to play with your mind!, 26 April 2000
By A Customer
I really was impressed with this film the first time I watched it and every other time since. I was both scared and enthralled at the same time. Robert Mitchum's haunting repertoire sticks in the mind and you can't get rid of it, no matter how hard you try. One of the best all-time psychological thrillers. They don't make them like they used to. This one you must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Night of the Hunter [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
Excellent service. Recommended. Amazing film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably my favorite movie, 8 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Night of the Hunter [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
Sort of like jack the ripper meets the Waltons, the whole cast are a delight, Mithum's best performance. Scenes of tranquility in a nasty world. while the relentless Mitchum is on the trail of little Pearl and her Brother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, 17 Jan. 2008
This review is from: The Night of the Hunter [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
i cannot rate this film high enough, it has all the ingredients of a fantastic film noir and everythin about it is brilliant!!it still terrifys me now even though i know whats going to happen!!!watc it, you'll love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New viewers will love this old classic., 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Night of the Hunter [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
Brilliant, what a great chilling classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 912 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Night of the Hunter [DVD] [1955]
The Night of the Hunter [DVD] [1955] by Terry Sanders (DVD - 2001)
£5.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews