Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Fashioned Fun
Sit back, relax and dont take it too seriously...If you can abide by this axiom you will enjoy the Phantom, I guarantee it! The pirates are a bit cheesy but otherwise Billy Zane is great as always the music is fantastic and the rescue from the ship sequence is an all time great! Sit back chill and enjoy ' The Phantom ' !
Published on 2 Mar 2002 by casino1977

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars What were they thinking?
Production values - as per on-the-cheap television
Script: - Did they actually pay someone to write this lifeless drivel
Acting - What acting?
Watched with much perseverance the wooden hero riding a horse in the eastern jungles the white hero saving the asian world, the ridiculously non-villainous villain [Script I am sure not the actor] Thankfully I have...
Published 8 days ago by Mr. David Titley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Fashioned Fun, 2 Mar 2002
This review is from: The Phantom [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Sit back, relax and dont take it too seriously...If you can abide by this axiom you will enjoy the Phantom, I guarantee it! The pirates are a bit cheesy but otherwise Billy Zane is great as always the music is fantastic and the rescue from the ship sequence is an all time great! Sit back chill and enjoy ' The Phantom ' !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ghost Who ROCKS!!, 29 Jun 2005
This review is from: The Phantom [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
For years, people have tried to bring Lee Falk's seminal jungle / superhero to the big screen, with no luck. This movie all but died in "development hell" several times, but you just can't keep a good Ghost-Who-Walks down!
Billy Zane was born to play this role, so it's a good thing that he's such a fan of the character (he "discovered" The Phantom in the late '80s while filming "Dead Calm" in Australia, where The Phantom is revered more than Batman is in the States). He brings the black & white / Good vs E-Ville sensibilities of the character to stunning life, & while he never takes it too seriously, he never makes fun of it either, which is a hard balance to achieve.
Treat Williams obviously had a cracking good time playing the main baddie, businessman-cum-mad-world-dominator Xander Drax. His delight in being E-Ville (as I like to call it) seeps through every frame he's in, & again, he has fun with the role without poking fun at it.
A pre-"Mark of Zorro" Catherine Zeta-Jones has catlike fun in her role as Sala, leader of the all-female Sky Band, & Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa is absolutely delightful as Kabai Sengh (nee` "Singh" in the comics -- from what I understand, the spelling of the surname was changed so as not to offend anyone from India. ?!?)
Christy Swanson & James Remar were unusually sedate in their roles, but that doesn't stop this thrillride of a movie from moving right along.
The late, great Jeffrey Boam's ("Indiana Jones & the Last Crusade") screenplay cobbles together three classic Lee Falk Phantom tales (The Phantom's origin, "The Sky Band" & "The Skulls of Touganda"). If Boam wasn't a Phantom follower, he certainly did his homework, as the characters seem to leap right off the pages of Lee Falk & Ray Moore's early comic strips in look, tone & feel.
The 1930s' setting might put some people off (it *is* somewhat of a mystery why he chose to place the character in the '30s, as the comic strip is still going strong worldwide, set in modern times), being as far away, release-wise, from the last Indiana Jones movie as it is. It seems that period pieces such as The Phantom, The Rocketeer, & The Shadow have all suffered from this, unfortunately. With superhero movies such as Spider-Man, Daredevil, X-Men, & the Batman series, maybe kids have turned a jaded eye on the rather naive concept of "right always triumphs over wrong", but director Simon Wincer's pure vision of the first masked hero (The Phantom predated Batman by 3 years) transported me back to when I was a lad, & the heroes rode off into the sunset once the villain(s) had been vanquished. The smile was nigh impossible to carve off my face!
There's been talk of a new Phantom feature film, distancing itself from the Wincer / Zane version, & while I'm eager to see The-Ghost-Who-Walks on the silver screen again, it disappoints me that filmmakers feel the need to avoid comparisons to this film. After all, Paramount Pictures were the ones who shunted the advertising budget from The Phantom to their already-overhyped tanker, "Mission: Impossible", so they are ultimately the ones responsible for this movie not getting the publicity it should have gotten.
I'd love to see a 10th Anniversary edition of this DVD, restoring all the deleted scenes into the film. While the pacing did suffer somewhat, the scenes they left out are integral to understanding who The Phantom is & what he stands for.
Not to mention, we'd finally get to see the hero ride off into the sunset!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 2 Aug 2013
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Phantom [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film. Being a huge Phantom fan I, did hope that they would not ruin the character by making a film. I am glad to say this was a good if a little underrated film. Good comic book style action, in the Indiana Jones type genre.

The film is set in 1938. No need to over modernise a classis character. Kit Walker was the last survivor of a pirate attack that killed his whole family. Adopted by the Bandar tribe in Bengala he swears to fight piracy, greed and corruption in all its forms and passes this legacy on to his sons and their sons after him. So the world always thinks they is only one Phantom. The story is of the 21 Phantom. The Phantom must stop a mad man from joining 3 ancient skulls, while saving Kit Walkers former girlfriend, and fending off the advanced of the Sky Queen Pirate. The film has the right blend of story, action, and adventure.

The whole cast do an excellent job, Zane is perfect as the Phantom, Jones plays the jealous pirate queen well in a mean girl sort of way. The only criticism of the film is that the Phantom does not seem to understand the secret identity thing very well. Anyone who meet him would know he is the Phantom, even though he does a much better job of keeping his mask on than Spider-man. All in all a good entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling Superhero Adventure!, 20 May 2013
This review is from: The Phantom [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
3.5 out of 5

A ship taken over by pirates. The death of a father. A young boy thrown overboard. Washing up on the shore of the Island of Bengalla. A strange ritual and a vow. When that boy grew up and became a man, he became the Phantom.

Centuries later, this boy's descendant--the 21st Phantom (Billy Zane)--is protecting his beloved jungle when thieves steal a sacred skull from a lost treasure trove. The Phantom learns the significance of the skull and discovers it is one of three and should someone ever possess all three, they would have ultimate power. Trailing the stolen skull to New York, the Phantom, now under his civilian guise of Kit Walker, seeks to track down the remaining skulls. While there, he reconnects with his old flame, Diana Palmer (Kirsty Swanson), and the two need to reconcile past differences as Kit learns the location of the second skull. Meanwhile, evil businessman Xander Drax (Treat Williams), in cahoots with the Sengh Brotherhood, a band of pirates--the descendants of the same pirates that were responsible for sinking the ship of the father of the first Phantom--and Drax wants the skulls for themselves. Drax, too, discovers the location of the second skull at the same time Kit and Diana do and after a failed attempt at disposing of Kit, kidnaps Diana and takes her to the location of the third: an uncharted island.

Good confronts evil when the Phantom seeks to rescue Diana while also stopping Drax and the Sengh Brotherhood from uniting the three skulls and becoming a powerful force in the world.

Phantom lore is fascinating, especially the idea that he never dies, or, at least, that's what criminals and evildoers everywhere think. "The Ghost Who Walks" has been around since 1936, which predates Superman, making the Phantom one of the earliest superheroes. I remember seeing trailers for this flick back when it first came out and getting all excited. It was superhero, swashbuckling adventure. Even saw it in the theatre. On that day I was running a bit behind. If I remember right, I missed the previews and came in right when the movie was starting. The first words I saw where the words that kicked off the film, "For those who came in late." I really thought the movie somehow knew I was late--or people like me--because then it went into a recap of the Phantom's origin before launching into the main story. Ahh, to be a young, gullible fanboy again.

This movie was clean, wholesome superhero fun. There was a decent story, superhero action, humor and adventure, with a little romance thrown in. It didn't take itself seriously, but wasn't a giant camp fest either. I still pop in the DVD now and then and enjoy The Phantom as a nice break from the oh-so-heavy-drama-laden superhero movies of today. Sometimes you just want to see a good guy busting bad guys and that's it.

Nowadays, this movie falls short in a few places--the "wow factor," the costume, the life-or-death-save-the-world-or-die storylines--but I was happy with Billy Zane's portrayal of the Phantom and with the movie as a whole. I've never read any of the comics so my view is completely on the flick and it being a simple superhero story. I will say that this movie has stirred in me an interest in the Phantom and am thinking of one day getting into the comics that spawned him.

The movie is definitely kid-friendly and as a parent who doesn't let his kids watch a good chunk of today's superhero flicks due to their mature content, this is one I'd recommend for families or those just looking for a break from the more grown-up, adult-oriented superhero movies of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billy Zane is the King of all things living, 8 Jan 2005
This review is from: The Phantom [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Many people feel Billy Zanes incredible portrayal of Caledon Hockley in Titanic was his finest moment, but this is not quite the case. Rewind a year and see him as Kit Walker aka the Phantom! he proves that he can do action and drama in this thoughtful and provocative piece of cinema.
Evil mastermind Xander Drax is trying to obtain 3 sacred skulls, which, when combined, can harness the power of the sun! SWEET! But he is evil, which is not sweet, kit wants to stop him, and does in a fantastic finale.
Anyone who loves movies will adore this gem of a film, I implore to watch it asap, its only 5.97! Buy it, please
Thank you friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not fantastic, but not bad, 11 Jun 2009
By 
T. A. Fishwick "Thomas" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Phantom [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Not all films have to be Citizen Kane, with iconic camera angles and great acting. Not all films have to be challenging of the medium. Not all comic book character need to translate onto the screen with tour-de-force of writing and direction like The Dark Knight. Sometimes it's better to just pick up a character and do something fun.
That's where this film comes in. It's not great by any stretch of the imagination. Some of the acting is so bad it should come with a health risk and the villains are so hammy you wouldn't be surprised if they started smelling of bacon. Still it doesn't drag at all, some of the set pieces are so ludicrous you have to laugh and you actually warm to Williams character of Xander Drax. He's so over the top that he comes right back a round to likeable.
Films like this are rare. They are an enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours, no grand message or depressing story line. Just fun and watching them help us to remember just how bad bad films are and how good the good ones can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What were they thinking?, 16 July 2014
By 
Mr. David Titley (Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Phantom [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Production values - as per on-the-cheap television
Script: - Did they actually pay someone to write this lifeless drivel
Acting - What acting?
Watched with much perseverance the wooden hero riding a horse in the eastern jungles the white hero saving the asian world, the ridiculously non-villainous villain [Script I am sure not the actor] Thankfully I have now forgotten most of it.
Don't put yourself through it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Phantom [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
One of my favourite films from when I was a kid. The disk and box were in mint condition. Awesome all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray region A, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Movie a bit of fun but does not play on uk blu ray players, it's region A, waiting for region free or region B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy, 27 Sep 2013
By 
chazo222 "The chaz" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Phantom [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Perfect condition plus quick delivery! Would buy from again, love this movie, corny but well acted. A good adaptation of the phantom character
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Phantom [DVD] [1997]
The Phantom [DVD] [1997] by Simon Wincer (DVD - 2001)
4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews