Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all time favourite comedies
It wouldn't be too much of an exaggeration to say that this film is a near perfect comedy and one of my all time favourite comedy films. The plot sees a new addition to the Addams household in the form of the baby Pubert and the nanny hired to look after him has her eyes on Fester.

Of the two nineties Addams Family movies, this second one is easily the...
Published on 8 April 2010 by T. R. Alexander

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, not as good as the 1st one
Not as good as the first one. The humor is more adult my 6 year old watched didnt understand all of it, asked me a lot of questions about the film. I wouldn't recommend for age 6 or under.
Published 8 months ago by mrs la


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all time favourite comedies, 8 April 2010
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Addams Family Values [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
It wouldn't be too much of an exaggeration to say that this film is a near perfect comedy and one of my all time favourite comedy films. The plot sees a new addition to the Addams household in the form of the baby Pubert and the nanny hired to look after him has her eyes on Fester.

Of the two nineties Addams Family movies, this second one is easily the superior being wonderfully made. The writing is beautifully funny with tones of laugh out loud lines, many of which are personal favourites of mine. The cast are all brilliant with Raul Julia Angelica Houston Christopher Lloyd and Christina Ricci all excellent throughout. Some of the effects are a bit ropy now but this really only adds to the charm of the film.

Addams Family Values is an utterly brilliant film and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They're still creepy and they're still kooky, 14 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This second film in the resurrected (!) Addams Family sequence is every bit as good as the first, and about a million times better than the recent 'Addams Family Reunion', which boasts very few of the original film's stars. Sadly, this is partly due to 'Addams Family Values' being one of the last films Raul Julia made before he passed away. He reprises his role as Gomez here, and Angelica Huston returns to form as his Vampirella-esque wife Morticia. The story concerns a plot to part Uncle Fester and his fortune - he falls in love with the nanny hired to nurse new baby Pubert, but she's revealed to be a bigtime gold-digger. But I think the best thing about the film is the older Addams children (Wednesday - played by a young Christina Ricci - and Pugsley) and their all-out sadistic treatment of their new sibling, which goes way beyond envy! Gomez - "Children, why do you hate the baby?" Pugsley - "We don't hate him. We just wanna play with him." Wednesday - "Especially his head." NB Film Trivia: the next film co-starring Christina Ricci and Anjelica Huston was 1998's 'Buffalo 66'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You sent us to camp. They made us sing.", 8 Nov 2008
By 
R. Nicolson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Addams Family Values [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
This is far superior to the first movie and to any other adaptation since. I can never decide what is best... following Uncle Festers storyline or the kids at camp, but why settle when the two merge so well in this easily quoted sequel.

Every line is a classic, and watching it again when your old enough to 'get' all the jokes that flew by you as a kid makes you appreciate it more.

If you were a fan as a child, buy it. If you have children of your own who have not seen it... MAKE THEM :) they will thank you.

It is such a shame the dvd has no commentary or anything interesting on it. I have hoped for a better release but the movie itself is worth more than any extras... still it would be nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first!, 12 Jun 2007
This review is from: Addams Family Values [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I must have watched this film hundreds of times, and yet it never, ever grows old. Every character is just spot on. Anjelica Huston is perfect as Morticia - sexy, vampish, with a perfectly calm, silky voice that manages to extract every last drop of comedy from even the most simple lines. Chrisina Ricci as Wednesday could give masterclasses on deadpan wit. Jimmy Workman is fabulously, idioticly naive as Pugsley (I challenge anyone to watch him dressed up as a Thanksgiving turkey singing 'Eat me' without killing themselves laughing). Christopher Llloyd is a wonderfully grotesque Uncle Fester that you can't help feeling painfully sorry for. But the star of the show for me has to be Raul Julia. His Gomez is lusty, suave, sophisticated, with an underlying child-like enthusiasm. His pride in his kids is actually really touching, and the chemistry between him and Huston is electrifying. His monologues have me screaming with laughter (My favourite being his speech at the police station - 'I DEMAND JUSTICE! SOMEONE HAS MARRIED MY BROTHER! She took him to Hawaii! They have moved to a large, expensive home, where they make love CONSTANTLY!')

I cannot stress the brilliance of this film. It beats every other version of the Addams family hands down, including the prequel to this particular re-make (which I also recommend, just because most of the actors are the same). But it now, if you haven't already. If it doesn't at least raise a smile from you then you are a cold, if not dead, fish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gothic joy!, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Addams Family Values [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
The darkest humour of the lightest kind.....whilst the nostalgia for the TV series still features highly, this is a most worthy contender. Also manages to convey some rather moral messages about discrimination and intolerance. Huge fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addams family, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Addams Family Values [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
My daughter had not seen this film, she is 16. We watched it and enjoyed it very much. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addams Family Values DVD, 4 Oct 2012
By 
Pamela Somers (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Addams Family Values [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
An absolute classic not to be missed. The acting is superb... story line amazing.
This film will have you in stitches.
If only we viewed life with the same simplicity as this wonderful yet weird family.
Never a dull moment, real cool characters who want nothing more than to be accepted for who they are, and to live what they consider a normal life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Estimable continuation of first part, 3 Aug 2007
This review is from: Addams Family Values [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Still funny, nice and amazing. New evil nanny (that hunts for money), new evil child (whom other children don't like), summer camp for Wednesday and Pugsley - hilarious!

First and second part of Addams family is that movie that have to be in home dvd collection... in gold dvd collection, cause it's really Classics of Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Addams Family Values [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Love the movie versions - even better than the original series I grew up watching. Watch out for a fleeting David Hyde-Pierce as the Doc in the beginning, cos blink and you'll miss him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Addams Family Values [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Addams Family Values [1993] [DVD]
Addams Family Values [1993] [DVD] by Barry Sonnenfeld (DVD - 2001)
£5.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews