Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars192
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2011
Murphy is excellent and brings jamie lee curtis and dan Ackroyd along for the ride. this is a story about the trading of places between a poor street hustler(Murphy) and a rich stockbroker(Ackroyd) by two old brothers named the Dukes. The plot is simple the way its carried off by the greatest most well cast crew in history is something else. the script is sharp and pure comedy gold with a brilliant heart at its core. the film is funny but not overly sentimental. Just see it and you'll know what i'm talking about
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
I have seen this film many many times and it never fails to make me laugh.

One of the very few Eddie Murphy films I actually like!

Extremely funny and not to be missed!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
This is one really awesome film/movie - very well acted, very funny and generally just great :) i wont say anymore otherwise i will give away the ending :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2003
This film's absolutely hilarious from start to finish and in my opinion is funnier, although not necessarily better than (hate to say this) The Blues Brothers and National Lampoon's Animal House. Mortimer and Randolph Duke (Ralph Bellamy and Don Ameche) are commodity brokers who enjoy a little wager now and then. For the latest bet, Randolph believes they can take a common criminal and make him a successful businessman. The criminal, Billy Ray Valentine (Eddie Murphy), is to be given the job and home of Louis (Dan Aykroyd), who in turn is set up for crimes he didn't commit, to see if he resorts to crime once he's lost his riches and snobbish friends. If you feel like a good laugh than this film is perfect!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2006
Its definately the cast that makes this movie a classic. Quality performances from everyone and one of my favourite Denholm Elliot movies up there with the Indiana Jones appearances. Definately one that everyone should have in their collection.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2011
This is pure 1980s comedy gold. You will already know the 'rags to riches' and 'riches to rags' story by either having seen this classic or by having read other viewers comments. This film is a delight from start to finish. Eddie Murphy has never been better (perhaps only equaled by his other fantastic comic turn in 'Beverly Hills Cop' a year later). One film to own and watch repeatedly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2012
Though this movie is all about Murphy and Ackroyd, one would be a fool not to see that it is Jamie Lee Curtis' performance as a level headed prostitute that raises the bar in this film.

Trading Places was probably shown every six months on British televison back in the 80's, and so as a young kid went down as one of my 'classics'. Well after revisting the film after many years and despite it's groggy start, I am pleased to say that Trading Places holds up very well. It's also nice to see a lot of New York location. The jokes are not thick and fast but when they do come they are warm and genuine.

Curtis is just brilliant here, showing that she was far from just being a typical scream queen.
Mention too should go to Denholm Elliot who plays a butler as though it had been his day job.

Trading Places launched Murphy's career in Hollywood, where he could seemingly do no wrong in the 80's, a shame that the 90's came.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
Great film with plenty of laughs, Randolph & Mortimer decide to have a little wager to see if they can exchange the lives of 2 people one being their employee Windthorpe and the other being tramp Billy Ray. As their plan comes into action there are plenty of mishaps alng the way with Windthorpe being snubbed by all but Opheilia played by Jamie Lee Curtis who plays a hooker and takes pity on him by taking him in as he promises to pay her back with interest if she helps him to discover who is behind his downfall, Billy Ray on the other hand has a new luxury lifestyle and and the 2 eventually comes face to face they realise they have been set up by the old brothers and the bet turns out to be for $1 as to which Billy Ray overhears them discussing, so this comes to a well deserving showdown and by the end of the film Windthorpe and Billy Ray along with Ophelia and Coleman the butler have their revenge on the 2 Randolph&Mortimer. Great film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
I always loved this film, and watch the VHS version a lot until we finally got rid of our player. I never got around the the DVD and so jumped straight to the Bluray.

The colours are bright and the picture is really crsip - it's a great remastering. The audio is crystal clear as well. A great buy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
This is probably one of the funniest films of the 1980's. It not only is a play on the classic nature vs. nurture theme, but it is also a somewhat comedic commentary on the "greed is good" decade of the 80's. However, it is also a nice bridging of the generations as it features two of the biggest stars to come from "Saturday Night Live" Eddie Murphy does a fine job as con man Billy Ray and Dan Ackroyd is great as Louis. Jamie Lee Curtis is also wonderful as Ophelia. In fact, it was good to see her do something other than the "scream queen" roles which she became famous for during the early part of her career. She definitely shows the comedic timing that she would display later in her career and would make her one of the finest comedic actresses in film today. However, the one that really steals it for me is Denholm Elliot as Coleman. He delivers a very low key performance that is befitting for that role.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)