Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good film that makes you feel all warm inside
I am 15 and male and all my friends are into actions movies. Stereotypically, I am not supposed to enjoy this sort of film, but I think it is really great. It is a nice romantic comedy with an interesting storyline and plenty of British style and wit, without the pathetic, corny, sentimental mush contained in many American films of the same genre. Definitely worth buying.
Published on 17 Jan 2002

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Downside 2 different endings also events are different too so believability is poor. If another scenario is incorporated and eve
Based on belief systems. If you are into belief systems then this is a girly flick for you. Downside 2 different endings also events are different too so believability is poor. If another scenario is incorporated and events are same / similar then maybe evidence / experienced observers could be interested.
Published 1 month ago by Syriah


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good film that makes you feel all warm inside, 17 Jan 2002
By A Customer
I am 15 and male and all my friends are into actions movies. Stereotypically, I am not supposed to enjoy this sort of film, but I think it is really great. It is a nice romantic comedy with an interesting storyline and plenty of British style and wit, without the pathetic, corny, sentimental mush contained in many American films of the same genre. Definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything happens for the best. You'll never know if you don't try., 10 Feb 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sliding Doors [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Sliding Doors is written and directed by Peter Howitt. It stars Gwyneth Paltrow and John Hannah, and features John Lynch, Jeanne Tripplehorn and Virginia McKenna. The music was composed by David Hirschfelder and Remi Adefarasin photographs it on location in Londion. The film follows Helen Quilley (Paltrow), who has just been fired from her public relations job. The plot then splits into two parallel universes based on if she either did or did not get onto the London tube train to get home.

Peter Howitt is more known to the British for his portrayal of Joey in the hugely popular sit-com, Bread. Here for his first full length directing assignment he tackles the romantic comedy genre and gives it an intelligent and witty kick up the backside. Howitt apparently had the idea for the film when he was almost run over by a car, the whole "what if?" situation worked around his mind and ended up being Sliding Doors. The premise is tricky but executed with skill, two dovetailing stories featuring the same people. To expand on each story would to my mind be unfair on any prospective newcomers to the film, it's just safe to say that infidelity features prominently and that as funny as it is at times, it's also an often sombre and cautionary piece as well.

The cast are a mixed bunch. Hannah and Paltrow are superb, he is funny, charming and utterly beguiling, yet a world away from the normal pretty boy types so favoured by film makers. She is, on both fronts, engaging, infuriating and commanding the utmost attention from the viewers. You will find yourself shouting at her sometimes, yet at others you may find your heart sinking such is the conflicted emotional depth that Paltrow gives Helen. And this is done not by bursting into tears or any sort of "the world is against me" histrionics, it's played very straight because her Helen is no lame dame. Credit too must go to Howitt who chooses not to go down the safe route of playing the tears to get tears rom-com card. Sadly the two other main players are a big let down, Lynch just never convinces as boyfriend Gerry, while Tripplehorn as the ex stirring up a hornets nest is whiny and Persona Non Grata. The big winner here tho is Howitt's writing, his directing is raw and often too in your face, but the script breaks away from formula and constantly nudges the audience into asking pertinent "what if?" questions. There's nothing complex about it, just slices of destiny and fate that can alter within seconds. For better or worse.

No smugness here, and this is better than the average rom-coms that seem to be put out by cash hungry studios on a monthly basis. Is it just a rom-com with a gimmick? Yes it is, but what a gimmick! And come the end as the two stories bang together you hopefully should feel all the better for it. Hope springs eternal my friends. 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clever movie, 23 Mar 2011
By 
AvrilP "AvrilP" (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sliding Doors [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
clever plot, excellent acting, interesting and believable characters - one to re-watch every few years... Leaves me thinking about my own what if's...thought provoking. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars, 28 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sliding Doors [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
The theme of the film is well covered below, so I have no intention of revisiting that - however -
If you think it is going to be an easy watch, think on!
Sure, it can be an easy watch, but a lapse in concentration will lead to you losing the plot so to speak.
Just remember one Helen has a Band Aid on her head and long brown hair, then just long brown hair.
The other Helen has long brown hair (no Band Aid) and then short blonde hair.
Confused already?
Anyway just try and get into it at an early stage and you will not regret it.
This is a film which is funny, thought provoking to the extent that almost everyone will have had a 'what if' encounter like this, and the ending is very clever, and unexpected.
Sure, you will probably find bits to criticise, but it is the little things, like the Band Aid and hair clues, the music in the pub playing at exactly the same point through the two storylines, Russell the friend in the pub and the mix of sadness and humour which makes this a very very enjoyable watch.
By the way there are many sets of Sliding Doors throughout this film, not just the important ones at the start and end of the film.
If I ever buy an anorak, I might count them one day!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic brit flick with a difference..., 29 Jun 2006
By 
J. Kirkland "jennyk" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sliding Doors [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Nice easy going well centered film & in many ways far superior to Notting Hill.

It hits all the right notes and both Gwyneth & John Hannah more than excel (especially Hannah)it was also well set up and extrememly well played.

The two different scenario's playing of each other & though the melodrame once or twice seems to take over. The film thanks to its strong cast & witty humour gets over it delivering instead a heart & story that far out weights most British films.

Class act with John Hannah really coming into his own here and a great ending! Yes its a romance but definetly with a difference and a great film to look at time and again. How I missed this the first time I never know, it deserved to be a hit and was and pretty much still is.

Great all round film with the two main leads playing constant tug of war for merit with them both winning and both John Hannah and Gwyneth have deserved every success since. For this film put them both well and trually on the map & for a British hit its unconvential and fresh in its approach, something which has thankfully stayed with it & made it worth the buy as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want to watch it again and again, 29 Dec 2000
By A Customer
I hired this film out on video, I think it is a very clever and unusual film, I could watch it again and again. Unfortunately I no longer can as I have replaced my video for a DVD and Sliding Doors is not out in DVD. I hope it will be soon, I shall certainly buy it !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent concept, excellent execution, 14 Jun 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sliding Doors [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Shaky execution ? I don't think so. A really enjoyable experience is how I would put it, for men and women alike. Gwyneth's english accent is also as good as Renee Zellweger's, and this is definitely a DVD to have alongside Bridget, 4 Weddings and Notting Hill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Downside 2 different endings also events are different too so believability is poor. If another scenario is incorporated and eve, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Based on belief systems. If you are into belief systems then this is a girly flick for you. Downside 2 different endings also events are different too so believability is poor. If another scenario is incorporated and events are same / similar then maybe evidence / experienced observers could be interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 22 Mar 2011
By 
Paula Woods "paulawoods2" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sliding Doors [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I have just purchased this on DVD as I had the video version when it first came out and loved it then, thought I would buy it again.
I enjoyed this film a lot back then, but now a little older, I felt that I was squirming in some parts. The chemistry between John Hannah and Gwyneth Paltrow did not work for me at all.
I love the idea of the film though. What could happen with a split second action. It does make you think about your choices and how you react to different circumstances.
A good film, but I have seen better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sliding Doors [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sliding Doors [DVD] [1998]
Sliding Doors [DVD] [1998] by Peter Howitt (DVD - 2001)
£5.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews