Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cynical venom from Snake!
John Carpenter and Kurt Russel satirise Hollywood and remake their own film in ESCAPE FROM L.A. This is "Snake" Plisskin doing what Snake does best. All the moves and motifs from the first film are there- dusted down, wheeled out and lazilly rebooted for that '90s L.A. "chic". It works well as a cynical poke in the eye... just how Snake likes it. The...
Published 18 months ago by Steven Neville Dilks

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A CARBON COPY OF ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK
THE MOVIE

ESCAPE FROM L.A. is pretty much a carbon copy/remake of ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK. A few more cynical puns, a lot more satire (The United States depicted here are probably very much what obama wants the real America to look like).
ESCAPE FROM L.A. is by no means a bad movie, still I'm "only" giving it 3 stars, because it just did not fulfill my high...
Published 2 months ago by Caligula II.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cynical venom from Snake!, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From L.A. [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
John Carpenter and Kurt Russel satirise Hollywood and remake their own film in ESCAPE FROM L.A. This is "Snake" Plisskin doing what Snake does best. All the moves and motifs from the first film are there- dusted down, wheeled out and lazilly rebooted for that '90s L.A. "chic". It works well as a cynical poke in the eye... just how Snake likes it. The action is good and the characters bizarre and insane. What more could you want? Bring on ESCAPE FROM NASHVILLE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A deliciously campy send-up of everything we love to hate about the Left Coast and the entertainment biz., 28 Sep 2013
This review is from: Escape From L.A. [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
A deliciously campy send-up of everything we love to hate about the Left Coast and the entertainment biz. The film was in development for over ten years with a script commissioned in 1985, written by screenwriter Coleman Luck. Carpenter would later describe the script as "too light, too campy".The project remained dormant following that time until the 1994 earthquake and the L.A. riots revived it. Carpenter and Kurt Russell got together to write with their long-time collaborator Debra Hill. Carpenter insists that it was Russell's persistence that allowed the film to be made, since "Snake Plissken was a character he loved and wanted to play again".Principal filming began in December 1995. Carpenter has stated that if he ever did another sequel for the Escape films he would call it Escape from Earth.Russell has also stated that out of all the characters he has done in his career, Snake Plissken is his favorite.Escape from L.A. was a box office bomb, only earning $25,477,365 from its $50 million budget--about as much as its predecessor, but little more than half its significantly higher budget.It was an attempt to satirize the genre while exploiting it: "[Escape from L.A.] has such manic energy, such a weird, cockeyed vision, that it may work on some moviegoers as satire and on others as the real thing."A third sequel was going to be made titled Escape from Earth which would have had Snake escaping Earth after a dark matter experiment resulted in 99% of the Earth's population becoming Zombie like creatures. However, the negative reaction to this film prevented the sequel from being developed. The Plutoxin 7 virus was originally going to be part of the first movie, but was never used. Steve Buscemi took the part in this film to help fund his directorial debut, Trees Lounge. According to an interview with John Carpenter, Kurt Russell not only came up with but wrote the entire ending of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thought you'd be taller, 8 Mar 2011
This review is from: Escape From L.A. [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
I love this movie, its not as dark as the original but thats ok. It's a shame there are no more movies with Kurt Russell as Snake Plissken. I did hear they were going to remake EFNY with some other guy in the lead but the whole thing fell through, just as well, wouldn't be the same. Kurt Russell is Snake Plissken in the same way that Sylvester Stallone is Rocky Balboa.

First time I watched it there were lots of little things that just didn't do it for me, like the surfing scene, Pam Greer's role, the Presidents daughter and many other things, but they all grew on me as time went by. The ending is amazing with Snake effectively shutting down the planet and sending us back to the stone age.

Sometimes I'd like to do that myself. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A CARBON COPY OF ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK, 27 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From L.A. [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
THE MOVIE

ESCAPE FROM L.A. is pretty much a carbon copy/remake of ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK. A few more cynical puns, a lot more satire (The United States depicted here are probably very much what obama wants the real America to look like).
ESCAPE FROM L.A. is by no means a bad movie, still I'm "only" giving it 3 stars, because it just did not fulfill my high expectations.
First of all, while watching ESCAPE FROM L.A. you get the same overall theme and a LOT of deja vu.
I expected more than just a carbon copy of the original movie. We all know Carpenter has talent, so why???
We get served the exact same things we got in the predecessor. The same incentive (OK no bomb this time, but a virus, still...), save a black box (sound familiar?), Plissken teams up with an old friend (remember Brain?), we get a similar cynical ending. It felt like watching FRIDAY THE 13TH PART 103 or NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET PART 99, only with one defining difference: you expect Jason and Freddy to be the same over and over again. You expect a little more from John Carpenter.
The supporting cast includes Steve Buscemi, Peter Fonda, Pam Grier, Stacy Keach, Michelle Forbes and a cameo of Bruce Campbell (barely recognizable).
3.0 OUT OF 5.0 STARS

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2001 Paramount UK DVD
Feature running time: 97 mins. (uncut)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 15 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1 / 16:9 (anamorphic)
Audio: English 5.1, German 5.1
Subtitles: English, English HoH, Arabic, Bulgarian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, German, Hungarian, Icelandic, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Swedish and Turkish
Chapters: 27
Extras: Theatrical Trailer
Region: 2

Picture: C
Audio: C+
Extras: F
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catches on quick, doesn't she?...., 15 Jan 2014
In the year 2013, the city of Los Angeles has been separated from the country by a series of earthquakes, and like New York, has transformed into a corrupted prison.

The United States has become a more moral society. Cuervo, a Cuban terrorist has used the President's daughter to steal a device that controls a special orbiting EMP weapon system.

The President has called upon mercenary Snake Plissken, and to ensure his cooperation, they have implanted a virus inside his body, and it will inject the virus into his body in 9 hours, so Snake must stop Cuervo, and get back the Weapon's device.....

Less of a sequel, and more of a remake, EFLA, is a lot like Evil Dead 2, Carpenter has decided to make the same film, but with references to the original.

And this is where the film gets criticised, people wanted something different, and to wait sixteen years to make a sequel, is a long time, and to add salt to the wound, its a remake, and to a brilliant cult movie.

But I enjoyed it, and I enjoy it now as much as I did when I first saw it in cinemas in 1996. Russell is great as usual and Carpenter still knows how to craft a movie, but it still goes back to the original so many times.

Losing your vehicle when you first reach the island, playing a sport to survive, call me snake, and many more.

Other characters are great, but utterly pointless, and the special effects just add to the charm.

If your not a Carpenter fan, or don't understand the concept of irony of self referential movies, you will hate this.

I liked it, it was great to see Plisskin back on the big screen, and it was a whole bunch of dumb fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escape from LA, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From L.A. [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Received in Excellent condition and just what was required to keep the grown ups entertained an excellent film with good entertainment all around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plissken, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I am one of those that believe that John Carpenters Escape from New York is one of the true classics. I was ecstatic when Kurt Russell returned as Snake Plissken. Ok the movie is not as good as it could have been.( Far away actually) but it is definitely worth seeing for anyone who belives that Kurt Russell is one of the more underrated actors of our time. And the end of the movie is outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reproduction of a good movie, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well I already had the DVD version and also the Escape to New York Bluray and so had to get this to complete the collection. If you are a Snake Pliskin fan then you should buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From L.A. [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
One of the "greatest" movies ever made. Carpenter is a genius, of course, and makes the movie he wants.

No Spanish audio track docks a few points of the review, but other than that, the DVD is correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Cheesy Action Extravaganza!!!, 15 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From L.A. [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
What a cheesy film, like Escape from New York, but its a good film, Kurt Russel as 'Snake' is quite funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Escape From L.A. [1996] [DVD]
Escape From L.A. [1996] [DVD] by John Carpenter (DVD - 2001)
3.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews