Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the Directors cut
I originally could only find the directors cut of this old cult film. It has some silly carton type edits included which ruined it and then I found this original version which luckily does not have cartons and is great. Directors cut is in the bin !
Published on 22 July 2011 by Gatehouse

versus
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, shame about the comic strip cut scenes
The Warriors is a great film from a director who has made more than his fair share of great movies. Unfortunately, as is so often the case, directors feel the need to tinker with their films and the result is nearly always detrimental. And so it is with The Warriors.

The opening scene in The Warriors with the eerie music and Wonder Wheel in the background is...
Published on 25 Mar 2010 by George Nada


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the Directors cut, 22 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warriors [1979] [DVD] (DVD)
I originally could only find the directors cut of this old cult film. It has some silly carton type edits included which ruined it and then I found this original version which luckily does not have cartons and is great. Directors cut is in the bin !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like watching a different film! The most amazing Transfer ever!, 8 Nov 2010
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I never, ever, ever mention the quality of Blu-Ray transfers in my reviews and always focus on reviewing the film itself - not the format. However, in this case, I'm going to make an exception, because the film looked STUNNING! ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE!!!

I'm not going too talk about the film at all here - it's a classic, and I'm sure everyone reading this has seen it, or at least knows about it (briefly it's a 300 style story, where few take on many as they try to get home), what I'm going to talk about this amazing version of it.

I've never seen a Blu-Ray like it, and the effect was even more startling because of the films age. Having always seen it on VHS or TV the difference in HI-Def was mesmerising. It felt and looked like a totally different film. You could see the leather grain in the hide of the Warrior's vests for instance - the amount of detail was staggering, and this Hi-Def vibrancy and detail added a whole new element.

In fact - having watched the extras - I now know it was a level that was always there (or at least intended to be) but only now can technology relay the director's true vision to us. In the extras he talks about his original concept, and his hopes for the film; the comic book feel he wanted and tried so hard to achieve.

One way he hoped to achieve this was with the costumes or 'colours' that the gangs wore, and it's only now we can see the richness of the colours, and lustre of the fabrics used for these. The costume designs look amazing on this Blu-Ray; the silks, the satins, even the oils in the face paints and the shines of the leathers and lycras. Almost each individual grain of grease or dirt can be seen, ground into the individual threads of the gang's T-shirts, are now all there to witness for the first time in this detailed transfer. It's like looking though binoculars or something.

Even the lighting now comes alive in the Blu-Ray version of this film. We can see the original (an brilliant) idea/vision for the lighting at work - again trying to reinforce the directors vision of a comic book. At the start of the film, when the Warriors first go on the run, there is a torrential down poor. And this was because the guy in charge of lighting and the director wanted the streets wet with rain water for the rest of the film. Why? So that the water reflected all the lights from the city streets - and this again in the Hi-Def format works wonderfully as the greens, yellows and other colours from the street lights bounce upwards from puddles around the screen. This was just something that was just lost on me every other time I'd seen this film.

This Blu-Ray is a Director's cut of the film - and there are now added 'comic book' style cuts and transitions between scenes, which in my opinion aren't necessary and don't really add anything, but you can live with them - they certainly don't take away from the enjoyment of the film. Overall though, for me, this Blu-Ray director's cut will be remember for the staggering transfer which turns a great classic into a completely new film... it was like watching it again for the first time and it was 10 times better.

I'm going to have to give this 10/10 - the film itself is a 9... but honestly. I was left speechless. For the first time, I've witnessed what Blu-Ray can do, and why I spent so much on my home cinema system. It's just a shame other Blu-rays don't make the same effort.

If you found this review helpful, please give it the thumbs up - if not, comment on why so I can do a better job for you next time. Thanks :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Walter Hill firing on all cylinders, 9 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Warriors [1979] [DVD] (DVD)
There is this image that preludes the title credits of 'The Warriors' of the ferris wheel all lit up on Coney Island. It some how just stays with you after the end credits roll up and it reminds you of what a great era the 1970's was for film making, the same era that saw such classics as The Deer Hunter and Alien to name but a few. The Warriors has certainly gone on to become a cult classic and when it was released it received a certain amount of notoriety due to riots that took place in a number of cinemas. The Warriors though i think has remained popular since it has some very snappy cinematograhy, some great set pieces and was stylishly directed by one of Hollywoods great action directors Walter Hill who made other classics such as 'Driver' and 'Southern Comfort'. In The Warriors he managed to take a story of a street gang battling to get home into a drama that doesnt feel dated, more than twenty years after it was released. Indeed the only thing that felt wrong about the film was the end credits song which took it up a shade of lightness from where it did not belong. The Warriors is a very dark film, but it is also a compelling watch and yes!! admittedly there are some very violent moments though which are not gracious in their set up and are merely extensions of unspoken dialogue. What also i think makes this film such great eye candy is the cast of actors that Hill has assembled, notably 'David Patrick Kelly' as a rival gang leader who would also pop up in two of Hill's other films, 48 HRS and Last Man Standing. Just a great film all around and a soundtrack that is also worth purchasing too. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, shame about the comic strip cut scenes, 25 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Warriors is a great film from a director who has made more than his fair share of great movies. Unfortunately, as is so often the case, directors feel the need to tinker with their films and the result is nearly always detrimental. And so it is with The Warriors.

The opening scene in The Warriors with the eerie music and Wonder Wheel in the background is exceptional. Unfortunately, in the Director's Cut it is presaged with an unnecessary comic strip alluding to the historical connection between The Warriors and ancient Greece. For me it detracts from the greatness of the opening scene.

The comic strip interludes are used throughout the rest of the movie. To me they serve absolutely no purpose - the historical allegory doesn't add anything to the story or impact of the film. If anything, they actually detract significantly from the film in three ways:

1. It slows the film down. Though this is only marginal, the padding of the cut scenes creates an unwelcome break in the action and flow of the film.

2. The strips look and feels totally wrong. They look new and computer generated whereas the rest of the film is gritty, urban and very 70s. Could Walter Hill not at least have commissioned a hand-painted washed-out 70s style comic strip? As it is, the interludes really clash with the style of the actual movie. I find it quite jarring.

3. This is a bit pedantic, but the font used in the comic strips is MS comic sans. This font wasn't produced until 1994 - decades after the movie!! Again, couldn't Walter Hill have found something contemporary to the age of the film? Or something more attractive - Comic Sans is one of the ugliest and most over-used fonts.

I should add that the BR transfer is generally very impressive. When the gangs all meet at the start the colours are punchy and saturated. There is some grain - but that is in keeping with the age of the film, the feel of the film and the fact it was mainly shot at night.

As I say, the Warriors is a brilliant and classic film (5 stars) and this BR disc does it justice, I just wish two versions had been released - the original and the Director's Cut on the same BR disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how all Blu-ray transfers should be done, 7 Mar 2009
By 
Candle (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The chances are that if you are thinking about buying the warriors on Blu-ray you already know about the film so I wont bother reviewing that side of it. I already owned The Warriors on DVD and wasn't sure if I should bother buying it again on Blu-ray but I am so pleased I did. Not all films have the money spent on them when they are transferred to Blu-ray and can be worse than the DVD but The Warriors is 1st class. This film is 30 years old and it is spotless, no grain and sharp glossy clear pictures, it just looks amazing on Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly one of the best films made in the seventies., 7 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Warriors [VHS] (VHS Tape)
What can I say? One of the most inspirational, atmospheric and amusing films I've ever seen. Once you've watched it, you'll find yourself slipping in those quotes. A great watch for some very well choreographed fight scenes, an excellent tale of a gang trying to get back to the big Coney Island and to survive against all odds. A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAN YOU DIG IT?..., 5 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Im not going to describe the film itself (which is a masterpiece) because you should have seen it by now, and having seen it you should also own it. I had the VHS. I have the DVD. The question is should you invest in the Blu-ray edition? ABSOLUTELY YES you should. This transfer makes this 30 year old film look like it was filmed last week. The picture and sound are very crisp. In the opening scene you can see every detail of the wonder wheel (on the VHS its pretty much just blurred blobs of light) Great Blu-ray transfer which will probably become collectable.
The biggest point I can make about this Blu-ray edition is that the director Walter Hill has messed with it. He's messed with it alot. He explains why at the start: he wanted to make a Greek adventure but set in the future and felt that this hadn't come across in the original version. To achieve this he has included comic strip scene changes and a very annoying intro. The comic strip parts look great but unfortunately take the film out of the 1970s which is where it should firmly be. Im happy to own this edition because I also have the original DVD.
You also get a brilliant documentary with stories from the making of the film and interviews with the cast. You get to hear about how The Warriors had to take off their "colours" when not filming as they would be taken as an insult by the local gang members. How Walter Hill never got along with the actor that played "The Fox" which led to his early demise under the train (The Fox was originally the love interest of Mercy but was replaced by Swan) How James Remar (Ajax) managed to secure a part which was written for a much larger actor. How they had to write the jacket into the script so Mercy could wear it to cover up a bandage, and how this film was only ever made due to a chance find in a book store.
Incase anyone is interested I also read the book that "The Warriors" is loosely based on by Sol Yurick and its very good. Unfortunately he hated the film, alot. There is a whole section at the start about how much he hates the film. This made me wonder about him. But once you get past this nonsense the book is well worth reading. But do not expect the same storyline, characters or anything else. The character who would become Mercy gets raped by all the Warriors and then left behind on the floor (these are not the same honourable bunch we are used to). It's got the same kind of atmosphere though.
I would say that if you like the film as it was originally, then this edition may cause some outrage. Better get the DVD instead (make sure its the original release DVD as the new DVD release is the same version as this Blu-ray) Definitly worth owning as an addition to the DVD just to see the documentary and awesome Blu-ray transfer. Adios!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be lookin' good, Warriors ... all the way back to Coney ..., 27 Mar 2006
By 
MarmiteMan (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Warriors [1979] [DVD] (DVD)
"Now look what we have here before us ... We've got the Saracens - sitting next to the Jones Street Boys. We've got the Moonrunners - right by the Van Courtland Rangers. Nobody is wasting nobody ... Can you dig it?"

Walter Hill's seminal gang drama, based on Sol Yurick's novel (itself loosely based on Xenophon's 'Anabasis'), and often described as a "sick exploitation movie about urban violence." Could also be an 'urban Western,' as Hill was clearly influenced by Leone's millenial 'Dollar Trilogy' (hard stares, short on dialogue), and Sam Peckinpah's stylized and spectacular slow-motion action scenes. No doubt there were also a nod and a wink to West Side Story ... only without the nancy-boy prancing & dancing ...

Here's a message to all you boppers out there ...

Almost-respectable - certainly politically-correct, by their multi-racial membership - the Warriors (Cleon, Swan, Fox, Ajax, Snow, Cochise, Cowboy, Vermin and Rembrandt) are a Coney Island gang who, along with most other gangs in New York, travel to the Bronx, where Cyrus, leader of the Grammercy Riffs, has A Dream. And ... A Plan: instead of petty gangs pettily bickering over petty little pieces of turf, the combined force of 60,000 gang 'soldiers' outnumber the city's 20,000 cops ... if they get organized.

Who are the Warriors? ... I want all the Warriors ... Send the word ...

For no apparent reason, Luther (David Patrick Kelly) of the Rogues shoots Cyrus dead. The police break up the gathering. The Warriors are accused of the shooting and must leg-it back across the length of New York to Coney Island - without getting japped by all the other FM-tuned boppers out there. The Turnbull ACs, the Orphans, the Basebull Furies, the Lizzies, the Punks (in overalls), and the Rogues are out-run, out-bluffed, out-witted or out-bopped by the Warriors, until sunrise - and the elegiac Truth - dawns on the beach. Oh, and Swan (James Beck) wins The Girl, too.

The Baseball Furies dropped the ball, made an error. Our friends are on second base and trying to make it all the way home ...

New York City's authorities were not best pleased with this film. Both gangs and spray-can graffiti were already A Problem in many parts of the Big Apple, Detroit, Chicago and Los Angeles, and The Warriors quadrupled this social phenomenon almost overnight - the police had their hands more than full. The notion of these gangs forming a unified front - 'getting organized,' such as the well-drilled para-military discipline of the numerous and all-Black Grammercy Riffs, complete with war-chief and consiglieri - was as genuinely worrying then in 1979 as it is now. And yet the film's notion was pretty close to prophecy - a decade later the 'Grammercy Riffs' became the well-drilled para-military discipline of Louis Farrakhan's Nation of Islam ...

The most memorable scene is probably actually a sound: Luther's rattling bottles along with the whining and nasal taunt, ... "Warriors ... come out to play-ay ..."

THE WARRIORS was particularly successful in Europe. Displeased as many American municipal authorities were, a spate of similar 'exploitation' films followed: THE WANDERERS , THE BRONX WARRIORS and others that nowadays would be straight-to-video fayre. But thanks to Barry deVorzon, Genya Raven, Mandrill, Johnny Vastano, Arnold McCuller, Kenny Vance & Ismael Miranda, Desmond Child and Joe Walsh ... THE WARRIORS had the best soundtrack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Blu Ray Transfer, 10 Dec 2008
By 
I love New York (Not in New York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The greatest film ever (in my opinion) comes to Blu Ray in an amazing transfer.

The picture quality and clarity are amazing.

The film itself for anyone who doesn't know, is about a street gang in New York stranded in the Bronx (The most northern borough in New York) needing to get back to Coney Island which is pretty much as south as you can go after the assassination of a rival gang leader Cyrus.

The encounter various gangs in the neon subway and the grimy streets of New York who think they are responsible for the murder.

The locations used are amazing but in truth are not where they want you to think they are.

All in all a 5 star movie and a 5 star transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Great Blu-Ray Shame About this Version, 5 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. T. Davis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Whilst I think cult classic The Warriors is a 5 star film, this Blu-Ray is both a blessing and a disappointment.

Where this Blu-Ray version shines is the quality of the HD transfer. Despite being quite a gritty, low budget film The Warriors has never looked better, and this is one of the most impressive Blu-Rays I have seen. Every cut, bruise and bead of sweat is visible as the Warriors try and make their way across New York's badlands to safety. Particularly beautiful are how detailed the neon/city lights look reflected in the wet street shots. It's an absolute A-List transfer, with a great making of documentary that features the significant cast and crew. On this Blu-Ray The Warriors still looks low-budget and gritty, yet looks a million dollars at the same time.

But then there's the 'Ultimate Director's Cut' aspect. In the introduction Walter Hill expresses that he's not a huge fan of Directors Cuts, but he has taken the opportunity to add inserts to the film to make it more what he intended. Whilst the structure of the film is respectfully left intact, added are a prologue that references the Greek mythology basis of the story, and numerous Comic scene edits between scenes to emphasize the movies Graphic Novel traditions. The principle isn't bad but the comic book affects are poorly integrated with the aesthetic of the film, it feels too much like 2010s digital technology being superimposed onto a 70s movie. As another reviewer said if the comic transitions had been hand drawn the effect would have been much better. To what extent this change may annoy you will vary. For myself it was merely irksome, but I can see some purists being outraged. By no means is it a Lucas style messing around with the original, but i'd have much preferred an option to turn off the effects. A non-edited original cut with this Blu-Ray would be the best version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Warriors [1979] [DVD]
The Warriors [1979] [DVD] by Walter Hill (DVD - 2001)
7.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews