Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic country album
Listening to this album again, now in its excellent remastered guise, will undoubtedly unleash a great deal of early 70’s nostalgia. Yet, pretty soon one realizes the songs haven’t lost anything of their appeal and all initial arguments about the undoubtedly more commercial direction Charlie Rich was taking with “Behind Close Doors” are immediately...
Published on 20 Mar 2004 by Marc Haegeman

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as it may seem!
Having all of Charlie Rich's earlier material from the 50's and 60's my Wife also wanted his later recordings to replace our old vinyl, these are defiantly not all the original recordings as were released originally!, yes they maybe "original recordings" but not the "real original recordings",as were in the charts, so If you want "The Most Beautiful Girl In The World...
Published on 14 Mar 2010 by J. Scott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic country album, 20 Mar 2004
By 
Marc Haegeman "Marc Haegeman" (Gent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
Listening to this album again, now in its excellent remastered guise, will undoubtedly unleash a great deal of early 70’s nostalgia. Yet, pretty soon one realizes the songs haven’t lost anything of their appeal and all initial arguments about the undoubtedly more commercial direction Charlie Rich was taking with “Behind Close Doors” are immediately silenced. Including the 1973 smash hits “The Most Beautiful Girl In The World”, “Behind Closed Doors” and “I Take It On Home”, alongside a string of great cuts (“‘Til I Can’t Take It Anymore”, “Sunday Kind of Woman”, and “If You Wouldn’t Be My Lady” among others), superbly masterminded by Billy Sherrill and inimitably sung, this album earned Rich immortality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His two biggest hits are both here, 21 Jan 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
Charlie Rich was a hugely talented singer-pianist who, for whatever reason, never really fulfilled his potential. His career began in the fifties on Sun records in the early days of rock'n'roll. Charlie also recorded jazz and I suspect that he really wanted to sing but it was in country music that Charlie became successful for a brief period in the seventies.
This album, as originally released in 1973, spawned two major international pop hits - Behind close doors and The most beautiful girl. It also included other classic songs such as We lover each other (a minor UK pop hit), I take it on home (his first significant hit on the country charts, preceding the big two), Peace on you, Sunday kind of woman, Till I can't take it anymore and If you wouldn't be my lady.
Although Charlie recorded some other good songs and had further success on the country charts, he was never comfortable with country music and he never came close to matching this album for its overall quality and eventually faded into obscurity, eventually dying in 1995 of complications caused by a blood clot in one of his lungs..
This album, now re-mastered with extra but unnecessary tracks, remains the ultimate Charlie Rich album and shows just what a great singer he was at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars behind closed doors, 23 July 2011
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
An excellent album by a very under rated artist , certainly worth a purchase First heard the stand out track for me, called We love each other played by Dave Lee Travis recently on his saturday morning show on magic , Bought this on the back of that track but the whole album is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the original recordings?????, 26 Dec 2007
By 
P. F. louis (Leics.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
Tim Cross(the Bass Man) has reviewed this item(now withdrawn) but i think he has been sent the wrong item as if you play the samples you will soon see that these are in fact the proper EPIC/SONY recordings with Billy Sherrill`s production from the early 1970`s.All superb!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars takes me back, 14 Mar 2009
By 
Mrs. T. SALMON "upstreamers" (streatham london) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
i first heard this album on 8 track and then got it on an LP, but the LP is gone ,so i was really happy when i saw it on a cd takes me bacl to 1976, that makes me so old , but as they say sometimes the oldies are the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super country, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
charlie on top form, one of the best albums ever, great country voice, he is one of the country and stars that's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
Been looking in shops for 2 yrs, here it is!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
If you like relaxing easy listening you will love this CD. Country fans will love it too. Suits all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure and original- exactly like it used to be, 30 July 2013
By 
ST Nicholls "viggenboy" (Saxmundham, Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
Let me start by saying that another review slated this by saying it wasn't the "original recording"?!?! Well baffled by their comment I went back to my own vinyl recording and did a comparison. All I can say is that reviewer is either, reviewing a different recording or their ears (and/or memory) have gone wonky with age.

This is exactly as you always remember this classic of C&W, smooth, cool and vintage. Honestly, I don't know how you could be disappointed. This is pure memories of flared trousers and long hair for me, when I was in my early teens and my Mum and Dad played this on the "Pye Black Box" stereo all the time. Buy. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars charlie rich, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
what more needs to be said Charlie rich as always is wonderful to listen too I don't think I could ever tire of his wonderful sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behind Closed Doors
Behind Closed Doors by Charlie Rich (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews