Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a Proper Uncut Anamorphic Release
Finally a proper uncut anamorphic version. The previous R2 release was missing a lot of scenes. The R1 release though uncut, wasn't anamorphic. Thus, on a widescreen display you would get black bars all around. The newer 2010 R2 Fox release is both anamorphic and uncut. This is the version to get. Because amazon likes to combine reviews make sure you order the dvd with...
Published on 29 Mar 2012 by Tim Tavares

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "You're Fired!"
James Cameron knew what he was doing making ‘True Lies’ – it was a mix of genres which can never really be identified; is it an action film or romantic-comedy? It flitters between the two to never alienate audiences enough to get bored and presents a more fleshed out film for both sexes to enjoy, be it a little stronger on the action than the rom-com...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. C. Gelderd


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a Proper Uncut Anamorphic Release, 29 Mar 2012
By 
Tim Tavares (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Lies [DVD] (DVD)
Finally a proper uncut anamorphic version. The previous R2 release was missing a lot of scenes. The R1 release though uncut, wasn't anamorphic. Thus, on a widescreen display you would get black bars all around. The newer 2010 R2 Fox release is both anamorphic and uncut. This is the version to get. Because amazon likes to combine reviews make sure you order the dvd with the ASIN# B003903STI. Hope that helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puts modern action movies to shame, 20 Oct 2008
By 
James Burnwood "JB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: True Lies [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I just rewatched this film tonight, after having not seen it for many years. OMG, not only does this film still hold up, it puts many modern action films to shame. Amazingly well directed, funny, exciting and griping, with some brilliant action scenes. Very good score by Brad Fidel. Arnold is never better and Jamie Lee Curtis is very good too.

I believe this film is cut in the UK, so you might want to import. Although I have the first pressing of the UK DVD, which had the uncut version on there by mistake. You can find this DVD because it has the old style '15' rating symbol, before they changed. That's the DVD you want. For the second pressing of the DVD, they put the cut version on there.

Update as of 2011: apparently the new region 2 release by 20th Century Fox is uncut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good enough until Blu-ray comes out..., 7 Aug 2010
This review is from: True Lies [DVD] (DVD)
I had been looking for the anamorphic "uncut" version of True Lies and found this DVD on Amazon UK. Although I live in the USA I ordered this PAL DVD since I own a multi-region Blu-ray/DVD player that can handle this disc. It played flawlessly on my system and the 4% speedup from PAL to NTSC was not noticed by my wife or I when viewing, however I've learned some people are highly sensitive to the speedup. Rumors on the internet state that James Cameron is working on a Blu-ray version for release in late 2010 or early 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The name's Schwarzenegger. Arnold Schwarzenegger., 13 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: True Lies [VHS] [1994] (VHS Tape)
I don't think this film is anywhere near as bad as everyone says it is! It's Arnie's attempt at being James Bond (he even sports a tuxedo in an early scene) and it's got lots of great action scenes (explosions, Mr Schwarzenegger hanging off a Harrier Jump Jet, and much more). But it differs from the Bond formula in that Arnie's character Harry keeps his top-secret position as international spy secret from his wife (Jamie Lee Curtis). So we're spared the Bond-trademarked multi-seduction sexism, but instead we get marriage comedy scenes and a variation on the familiar secret-identity theme. But, as I said, I still think it's an entertaining way to spend an hour and a half, and it's among Arnold's better works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cameron and Schwarzenegger team up again for a riot of an action movie., 6 Mar 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Lies [DVD] (DVD)
True Lies sees Arnold Schwarzenegger play Harry Tasker, to his wife Helen (Jaimie Lee Curtis) and daughter Dana (Eliza Dushku) he's a safe husband and father working as a computer salesman. Away from the family home he's a top spy for one of America's highest secret services. When Harry is prompted to believe that Helen is having an affair, it signals the start of a sequence of events that will out Harry and lead them both to a confrontation with a deadly terrorist.

To hell with misogyny and stereotypical Arab terrorist (Art Malik so OTT he's off the chain man), Cameron's True Lies really isn't concerned for political correctness. His aim, aided by his on form cast, is to chase, caress and explode stuff whilst having a laugh at every turn. True Lies, if anyone was in doubt prior to its release, shows Cameron to be supremely gifted at action set pieces. No expense spared of course, but you still gotta utilise those Harrier Jets, helicopters and horse carrying elevators to great effect. And so it proves. Throw in a tremendously funny script that gives Tom Arnold & Bill Paxton comedy gold roles to revel in; and what you get is a Worldwide box office profit of nearly $264 million.

It knows its nonsense, but it's the good kind of nonsense that Hollywood has to offer. Ever re-watchable, True Lies is undeniably great fun. 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best American answer to Bond, 26 Jun 2007
By 
D. Climo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Lies [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I have to say that True Lies has got to be one of the best action titles I have, it's certainly as good as Arnie's first two Terminator films. This film has everything, theres Jamie Lee Curtis, usual wham bam action sequences except this time only they are bigger and better than most films of this genre, theres Arnie comical moments as well. Theres absolutely everything. Arnold surprsingly makes a good family man James Bond sort of Agent but it's Art Malik who steals the show as the lead terrorist villain.

In fact Malik is so good at being evil that he certainly reminds you of how fanatical terrorists can be. Trust me after seeing him in this you will not believe that this is the same guy from Holby City. His character is just simply great and so ruthless that even his own henchmen are afraid of him. The final showdown between the two male leads is utterly fantastic and the music that goes with the film is simply dynamic at that point.

Like typical Arnie action films? You'll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arnie is Back !, 28 May 2007
This review is from: True Lies [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
After 'The Last Action Hero' , Arnie goes back to his roots and delivers an action packed thriller not too dissimilar from the recent Mr and Mrs Smith.

He pretends to his wife Jamie Lee Curtis and daughter, Eliza Dushku (Tru Calling) that he is a visiting computer salesman constantly visiting seminars whereas the truth is that he is in fact a secret agent constantly defying death.

His wife finds out he is actually a secret agent and they get captured by the Arabs and taken to the Florida Key's where the terrorists plan to blow up the nuke as a demonstration to the US that they have the power now! There are extremely funny scenes here including his wife's first attempt at firing a gun- namely an UZI- not a good choice for a first timer! Now they escape and the terrorists kidnap Arnie's daughter! He rescues them with a little help of a hijacked harrier jet. Great cast choice and excellent dialogue, plenty of sub-plots to keep you glued. Classic Arnie one-liners make this movie an awesome comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect movie, 13 Dec 2011
By 
C. Stuart-monteith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Lies [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say that others haven't? This movie has got it all: it is fun, full of action, is totally unPC, Arnie at its best and Jamie Curtis is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ARNIES BEST, 8 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Lies [DVD] (DVD)
one of arnolds best films
its a mix of comedy action and romance
todays films all rely on special effects
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "You're Fired!", 7 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Lies [DVD] (DVD)
James Cameron knew what he was doing making ‘True Lies’ – it was a mix of genres which can never really be identified; is it an action film or romantic-comedy? It flitters between the two to never alienate audiences enough to get bored and presents a more fleshed out film for both sexes to enjoy, be it a little stronger on the action than the rom-com. But it still has wonderfully comedic and tender moments dotted in between the bombastic action sequences thanks to the chemistry between Schwarzenegger and Curtis who you really can believe are a strained man and wife duo.

If American audiences were responsible for the James Bond character, then this is what Arnold Schwarzenegger embodies being a suave and well suited secret agent who knows his way around any form of super-weapon or vehicle he comes across. Director Cameron seems to keep his tongue very firmly in cheek during this film giving us lots of silly moments sugar coated that is just avoids being absurd, like a horseback chase through a hotel, a Harrier jump-jet battle and outrageous explosions and carnage.

It’s a love letter to the action genre that Cameron and Schwarzenegger know so well, and with the involvement of the likeable Tom Arnold as the comic relief to bounce off Schwarzenegger in all of their scenes and Jamie Lee Curtis as the bored frumpy housewives-turned-sex siren who joins in with the action later on, there are lots of enjoyable moments to break up the action. Art Malik and the gorgeous Tia Carrera are on fine form as the slimy, power-crazed villains of the piece and don’t stray too far into megalomaniac territory, but keep it grounded with a dark terrorist threat, and they all get stuck into the action sequences when required.

The plot is split into two, starting with the terrorist investigation led by Omega Squad, but then takes a break to develop the relationship between man and wife with some wonderfully dark comedy moments, before ramping it up and bringing the two plot points together to combine for a brilliantly staged final act. Cameron can direct action and he shows how big he can go with minimal CG use and relying solely on the work of miniature, model and stunt crews to keep things as real and dangerous as they can be. It looks fantastic, and Schwarzenegger continues to show his ease as a real action hero whilst dishing out plenty of puns like a real pro.

Sadly the pacing sags a little towards the end, as it feels the climax we should have had has been replaced with an additional extra climax that is visually impressive but lacks the gravitas of sequences before. I’m talking about the Harrier jump-jet sequence. It’s fun to watch, but I feel the action and work scenes before in the Florida Keys should have been the finale we deserve as that really showcases true Cameron and Schwarzenegger genius, with a rousing Brad Fiedel score (with numerous cheeky Terminator-esque riffs thrown in) and great support from the cast as they all come together with brilliant stunt work in between. This should have been the end, not the Harrier.

But it’s enjoyable fun, with the emphasis on fun from Cameron who doesn’t take his film too seriously but knows when to play for laughs but also when to keep it serious as necks are snapped, bodies are impaled and gun shots ring out. It’s almost like a thank-you from Cameron to fans I feel for their love and acceptance for his serious and deep Terminator films beforehand, and so this is just meant to be watched and enjoyed for what it is; big, loud and well-made fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Lies [DVD] [1994]
True Lies [DVD] [1994] by James Cameron (DVD)
£3.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews