Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the wittiest films ever
I still don't understand why this movie wasn't a big success at the box office. I have watched it several times on Sky Movies and the last time I watched it, I decided I would by the DVD. I will never get tired of it.
Pret A Porter is one of the wittiest films ever. It gives us a very cheeky view into the banal world of Haute Couture and crazyness that surrounds...
Published on 8 Aug 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Ready to Wear' was not ready to work
Veteran Robert Altman's slick directing, with a snazzy and peppy soundtrack as can be expected from the musically minded director, and a veritable cornucopia of top-of-the-line actors keep things moving along well enough in his 1994 fashion satire to avoid boredom, but unlike his other multi-strand tales like 'Nashville' and 'Short Cuts', the various stories never feel as...
Published 16 months ago by a.diaz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the wittiest films ever, 8 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pret A Porter [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I still don't understand why this movie wasn't a big success at the box office. I have watched it several times on Sky Movies and the last time I watched it, I decided I would by the DVD. I will never get tired of it.
Pret A Porter is one of the wittiest films ever. It gives us a very cheeky view into the banal world of Haute Couture and crazyness that surrounds Paris fashion week. The films strength is in being able to praise the talent and extraordinary beauty that the catwalk can reveal, but at the same time poking fun at the people who take it far too seriously - as if their lives depended on fashion.
The film blends an all star cast (from old and new cinema) together with Cameo appearences by real people from the fashion industry (Jean Paul Gaultier, Gianfranco Ferre, Christian Lacroix).
The many stories in this film, entwine and move forward without complication and make the two hours of the film feel like 5 minutes. Every time I watch it, I wish it would carry on and on.
As far as the transfer to DVD is concerned - the picture and sound quality are excellent. The only irritating quirk, is the fact that the widescreen letterbox occupies the entire top three-quarters of the screen and leaves a thick black strip at the bottom (no strip at the top) - I assume this is for the subtitles. Also, it is low on extra features. This is why I give it a 4 rather than 5 star rating.
Buy IT !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Not only Rock'N'Roll but also Fashion is dead", 30 July 2008
This review is from: Pret-a-Porter [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Highly anticipated movie was found bit disappointing by the critics and the public. The movie is very sarcastic and wonderfully explores the interim order of the fashion world. Including highly common features of this business environment: jealousy, anger, scare, superficiality, cruelty, etc

Cast - 5 star! From Sophia Loren to Julia Roberts and Kim Bessinger. Absolutely amazing is Drew Berrimore whom you can hardly recognise. The movie includes video excerpts from important fashion events and shows including a number of 90ies biggest supermodels like Claudia Schiffer, Helena Christensen (who appears on the cover of the DVD), Christy Turlington and designers like Jean Paul Gauthier, Thiery Mugler, Sonia Rykiel, etc. You can also spot than supermodel today the first lady of France Carla Bruni.

The movie is bit overwhelmed with various short episodes, which all together creates the whole story. Nevertheless, all together I find it absolutely hilarious. The main message could be phrased as follows " Not only Rock'N'Roll but also Fashion is dead".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Ready to Wear' was not ready to work, 2 Aug 2013
Veteran Robert Altman's slick directing, with a snazzy and peppy soundtrack as can be expected from the musically minded director, and a veritable cornucopia of top-of-the-line actors keep things moving along well enough in his 1994 fashion satire to avoid boredom, but unlike his other multi-strand tales like 'Nashville' and 'Short Cuts', the various stories never feel as satisfying or well connected as they ought to be, several being almost perfunctory and having nothing to do with the fashion trade (especially the Robbins-Roberts & Everett threads, neither of which feel important and lack full resolution) and then, even the ones that do offer nothing biting, insightful or new to say about this sometimes crazy and backhanded business that we haven't already known and probably cracked jokes about for years before the film was even made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satire on the Fashion Industry, 23 Dec 2007
This is an entertaining spoof built around a Paris fashion week, and was actually filmed during that event. It's a typical Robert Altman film, with multiple story lines, fast cutting from one setup to another, and overlapping soundtracks, which all make it hard to follow at the cinema, and very suitable for rental so it can be replayed. It would take too long even to begin to summarise the subplots and characters, but in addition to a galactically stellar cast; there's a host of guest celebrities, including lots of couturiers; and of course dozens of models on and off the catwalk, in and out of designer clothes, and in the climactic scene without clothes at all.

It is always healthy - both for laughers and laughees - to laugh at powerful people who take themselves too seriously; and by poking fun at the fashion industry and its surrounding media circus, Altman is performing a social service, as well as being a true artist. But I don't find his satire as cruelly biting as some people do. He treats some characters sympathetically or neutrally - eg the designer played by Anouk Aimée and Marcello Mastroianni's mystery figure. And even the extreme characters - eg Richard E Grant's screamingly gay designer or Kim Basinger's gushing TV reporter - are only a little more exaggerated than some real-life equivalents.

The final nude catwalk parade is not only a visually delightful and neat solution to the problem of a designer having lost her collection; but is also a postmodern take on the fairytale of the emperor's new clothes - nowadays, the crooks wouldn't have to pretend they were making clothes for the vain emperor, but would be able to sell him nudity, so long as it had a trendy designer label!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this the most boring film ever made?, 23 Jun 2014
Worst film I've seen in a while. The script was totally boring and pointless. The story goes nowhere. The actors where terrible. Considering the film has some well known good actors in it, this film makes them look like amateurs. Cinematography was unimaginative. It's amazing how much coverage a poor film like this gets. Goes to show, if you have the money to create a fuss with marketing etc. Any film can be made, even one as bad as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A typical but not vintage Robert Altman film, 8 Sep 2014
By 
Andrew Banks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When 'Pret a Porter' was released in 1994, Robert Altman, who directed, produced and co-wrote the movie, was riding high with the success of his two previous films, 'The Player' (1992) and 'Short Cuts' (1993). 'Pret a Porter' is very typical of Altman's work in the way that the film interweaves multiple plot strands with an ensemble cast, a sort of cinematic equivalent of a short story collection, and in fact the previous year's 'Short Cuts' was based on some short stories written by Raymond Carver. The approach does not serve Robert Altman quite so well this time around. Although the subject matter, Paris at the time of the annual Fashion Week, would seem to be a suitable target for a satirical drama, too often the screenplay is meandering and lacking in focus. Some of it works. Kim Basinger, for example, is quite entertaining in her role as a television reporter, and it was quite amusing to see the fashion editor played by Linda Hunt literally getting down on her knees to beg the photographer played by Stephen Rea to work for her magazine. On the other hand, the subplot involving Julia Roberts and Tim Robbins sharing a hotel room goes nowhere and is not even related to the central fashion week theme, and a lot of time is wasted on the investigation of the supposed murder of a man who choked on a ham sandwich. The DVD has good picture quality, but there are no special features, unlike my DVD of another Robert Altman film, 'Gosford Park' (2001), which included a director's audio commentary, a making of featurette, and footage of a cast and crew question and answer session. On the whole, this is unlikely to feature in many people's lists of their favourite Robert Altman films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I despise fashion from the bottom of my heart, but I love this movie, 22 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Pret-a-Porter [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This movie is about the goings-on in the fashion world. The characters are fashion designers, fashion journalists and all kinds of other personnel who happen to find themselves gathered in and around a prestigious fashion fair.
The cast is very interesting. Cher, Tracy Ullman (remember Tracy Ullman?), Anouk Aimee, Julia Roberts, and even, would you believe it, Sophia Loren and Marcello Mastroianni.
The movie begins with a mysterious man arriving from Moscow. A little later, another man is found dead in the back of his own car. Then, one after another, all kinds of little hells break loose all around the city. And, of course, there are scenes from the fashion shows themselves.

This movie is so French, even though is isn't French. I mean, it's set in Paris, and weird things happen the way you'd expect in a French movie. (Imagine two thieves, male and female, accidentally meeting in the same hotel room, and upon leaving, looking at each other awkwardly and saying: "Bon soir" - "Bon soir, madame", before half-running their separate ways.) It's so glamorous and it's so funny. And if, by any chance, there are people among you who enjoy the sight of a naked woman, you're in for one big, yummy surprise towards the end of the movie. But that's definitely not the only reason I love "Pret-a-Porter". Sometimes they just succeed in shooting a movie where everything (or almost everything) is the way it's supposed to be. I'm so grateful to my now-ex-wife for taking me to watch this years ago, and I keep enjoying it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 29 Jun 2014
This review is from: Pret-a-Porter [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
An Altman great! A good laugh and a insightful comment too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star-studded cast, 18 Jun 2014
By 
Christian Nugue "go-between" (Meudon (France)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pret-a-Porter [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
You will meet a bunch of old friends in this classical Altman satire: Kim Basinger as an intrepid TV-anchor; Marcello Mastroiani as petty thief - Jean-Paul Gaultier as himself and Forest Whitaker as a media mogul, just to name a few. Sophia Lauren plays a sad widow who falls under the charm of her former lover. She manages to maintain poise, look stunning and put in a good comedic performance while wearing hugely oversize hats.
You will dive into a world of appearance and betrayal, where nobody cares about anything beyond his own success and good looks; where the spoken language - one of mankind's biggest conquest - is used only to hide one's true feeling.
It is a funny, witty and uncompromising universe, filled with gorgeous creatures like Julia Roberts or Lauren Bacall and cutting-edge dresses that look rather old-fashioned. But Altman's satire of the fashion world will never get out of style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent funny DVD about fashion industry, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have seen this movie previously and enjoyed it on an old VHS format. Wanted to get it on DVD. Result was great. Better quality in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pret-a-Porter [DVD] [1995]
Pret-a-Porter [DVD] [1995] by Robert Altman (DVD - 2001)
£3.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews