Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem
This is a fantastic little film, about a super-shy Northern girl (Jane Horrocks) who hides her secret talent - an amazing singing voice - from her mother until one fateful day she is 'discovered' by the ultra-slimy Michael Caine, the flash man-about-town who sweeps Little Voice's mother off her feet but ultimately turns out not to be very nice after all. There are...
Published on 13 Mar 2000

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gritty coming of age drama
LV spends all her time in her room listening to her dead father's record collection at full blast. She hardly ever speaks (even when directly spoken to). Her overbearing mother takes everything LV does as a personal slight.
Two men look set to change all that: There's the shy telephone engineer who notices LV and wants to get to know her better. There is also her...
Published on 5 Sep 2004 by Francisco


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem, 13 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This is a fantastic little film, about a super-shy Northern girl (Jane Horrocks) who hides her secret talent - an amazing singing voice - from her mother until one fateful day she is 'discovered' by the ultra-slimy Michael Caine, the flash man-about-town who sweeps Little Voice's mother off her feet but ultimately turns out not to be very nice after all. There are some excellent scenes in the film, most of them involving Michael Caine, who's never been better than he is here. Ewan McGregor (pre-Kenobi) plays a minor part as the introverted pigeon-fancying love interest of the heroine. The most amazing thing about this video, though, is that Jane Horrocks does all her own singing! LV Trivia: The stage play on which this film is based was directed in the West End by Sam Mendes, who went on to make the awesome film 'American Beauty'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem of a Movie!, 4 Oct 2003
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Voice [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
My oh My!!! This is a gem of a movie! I first saw it last year and loved it. Now it is thankfully, available on DVD, you cannot really afford to miss this movie. The lovely Jane Horrocks plays LV (Little Voice) a painfully shy girl who lives her life through the great singers of yesteryear. (Garland; Monroe; Dietrich; and in our own time Bassey etc.) Michael Caine (who should have gained an oscar for his part) discovers her talent quite by accident when he develops a relationship with LV's mother Brenda Blythen (who is very funny by the way). LV performs in a night club (after seeing the spirit of her dead father in the audience) and seems bound for stardom. However, it doesnt quite work out that way. I cannot say too much about this film because it needs to be seen and appreciated. ( The scene where Michael Caine tries to sing Roy Orbison' Its Over is hilarious!) This film has just about everything. Great singing; great acting; comedy; and sadness. One cannot fail to be entertained. Go and buy it, you wont be disappointed. Picture and sound on DVD are very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive British film, 6 Aug 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Voice [DVD] (DVD)
'Little Voice' is a British film that will always make me smile no matter how many times I see it. As well as being touching and hilarious in equal measure, it is almost worth seeing purely for the talented Jane Horrocks who gives a stunning performance.

Filmed in Scarborough, Horrocks plays LV (Little Voice), a painfully shy girl with an amazing singing voice, she can impersonate stars such as Judy Garland and Marliyn Monroe quite brilliantly. Her loud, brash and uncaring mother (brilliantly played by Brenda Blethyn who received an Academy Award Nomination for Best Supporting Actress) constantly berates her daughter. The mother's new boyfriend (played by Michael Caine) is a sleazy talent scout, he overhears LV's incredible voice and from then on, will stop at nothing to make her star, as long as he sees the full credit of this new 'discovery' going to him. With stars such as Ewan McGregor and Jim Broadbent also involved, you can expect some more magical performances in a very impressive cast list. All of the characters are likeable and very different people, and as a result, it is very easy to identify with all of them.

For me, Jane Horrocks is the real star of this movie, which has a wonderful script and is very funny. If you are searching for a film that will both make you laugh and also impress you, you can't go wrong with 'Little Voice'. It's just cracking entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This movie is okay but Jane Horrocks is Absolutely Fabulous, 25 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Voice [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
"Little Voice" is a strange little film. It is based on the play "The Rise and Fall of Little Voice" which was written by Jim Cartwright specifically and most deservedly for the talented voice of actress Jane Horrocks. However, given what I have seen in this movie there must be some significant changes with the last act of the story from what appeared on stage. The story basically falls into three stages, which can aptly be described as the discovery, rise, and fall of Little Voice. This is the nickname of LV (Horrocks), the painfully shy daughter of human hurricane Mari (Brenda Blethyn), who takes refuge in her room upstairs listening to her father's record albums. On the few occasions when she actually utters words it is indeed in the littlest of voices and we are genuinely surprised when she actually makes eye contact with another human being. Trying to do more than that is young Billy (Ewan McGregor), who is smitten with the shy young woman. Meanwhile, Ray Say (Michael Caine), a seedy third-rate manager of fourth rate talent in the entertainment biz blows into town to have some good times with Mari and he proves to be more than her equal in terms of having a very good time.
Then, in one of those scenes that delightfully catches us by surprise, both Ray and the audience learn that LV might not talk, but she can sing. More to the point, she can sing like the singers on the records she listens to, which means we are talking Judy Garland, Shirley Bassey, Billie Holiday, and other music icons. Ray has dollar signs in his eyes that blind him to the obvious amorous affections of Mari as the big question becomes how to get the timid LV upon on the stage at the club of Mr. Boo (Jim Broadhurst).
The rise part of the story is the most enjoyable as our anticipation builds for the moment when LV is going to let loose with all those voices she keeps bottled up inside. Of course, once that happens there is nowhere to go but down. Ray coaxes LV into the big moment through dishonest means, which is a portent of what is to come. Caine's performance is marvelous from start until the final act of this film, at which point his character throws away all of the good grace he has developed over the course of the film. Our sympathy is totally with LV, who is always singing in her mind's eye to her long departed father (special mention to Graham Turner for the perfectly wonderful smile on his face), although young Billy's earnestness wins our admiration as well. By the end of the film LV's career and a whole lot of other things are in ashes. The ending of "Little Voice" is rather unsatisfying, but to paraphrase the Bard, I am not sure what satisfaction it could provide us from where it begins.
Blethyn got a supporting actress nomination for her performance in this film and Caine's performance is what of his better efforts, but the reason to watch this film is Horrocks. In the end your biggest complaint with this film is going to be that Horrocks does not do a lot more singing. I understand the importance of the key line that LV finally gets to delivery to her mother, but I cannot help but feel that there should have been an equally important moment from the musical perspective. "Little Voice" is worth the watching, but if you find yourself only rewatching the middle section, do not be tremendously surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gritty coming of age drama, 5 Sep 2004
By 
Francisco (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Little Voice [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
LV spends all her time in her room listening to her dead father's record collection at full blast. She hardly ever speaks (even when directly spoken to). Her overbearing mother takes everything LV does as a personal slight.
Two men look set to change all that: There's the shy telephone engineer who notices LV and wants to get to know her better. There is also her mother's latest boyfriend who happens to be a small time promoter. After an accident with the electrical system, Ray notices the talent LV has and realises the money he could make if he could get the shy girl to sing on stage.
At the end of the day, the film is a coming of age drama which shows LV as she grows out of her shell. The characters are well drawn and believable. The setting, working class Northern England, adds to the feeling of bleakness in LV's life.
I confess that I'm not that big a fan of the coming of age genre. Having the main part given to someone who is clearly not an adolescent (even though she lives in the past) at the start is refreshing. I found the film compelling whilst watching it but, after it finished, was slightly disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A REMARKABLE FILM..., 2 Dec 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Michael Caine, Brenda Blethyn, Ewan McGregor, and Jane Horrocks give absolutely stellar performances in this wonderfully quirky film. The title of the film refers to Jane Horrocks' character who is called "Little Voice" or LV, for short.
LV is a mousy, meek, painfully shy and reclusive little thing with an itty bitty speaking voice. She is totally overwhelmed by her brazen and common mother, Mari (Brenda Blethyn), who treats LV with scarcely concealed contempt. Part of that contempt is fueled by LV's devotion to her late father's memory and her fondness for old time musical stars. She has a collection of records by those long ago stars, which she plays over and over, a collection that she apparently inherited from her beloved father.
Her passion for this music drives her mother crazy, as it seems to remind Mari of her late husband, whom she apparently held in the same regard in which she holds LV. Only Billy (Ewan McGregor), the local telephone repairman, a sensitive, young man who trains and raises pigeons as a hobby, seems to talk to LV as if she were a sentient being.
Mari begins dating Ray Michael Caine), an over the hill, has been talent scout. Mari is pathetic, as she tries desperately to hang on to whatever vestiges of her youth remain. Ray, a sleazy opportunist, who thinks that he is God's gift to women, does not exactly reciprocate Mari's lavish affections. I cannot, however, think of two people who deserve each other more.
One day, LV is in her room singing, and Ray overhears her, but what he hears is "Judy Garland". It seems that LV can sing and sound exactly like those old time musical stars. Ray is in seventh heaven with his discovery. You can almost see the dollar signs in his eyes. He will do whatever it takes to get LV on stage, though his unctiousness towards her only serves to fuel Mari's jealousy of Ray's attention to her daughter.
Ultimately, Mari and Ray band together, however, as LV is their meal ticket to fame and fortune, if they can only get her to overcome her shyness and reclusiveness. They do not, however, understand why she sings. It is this lack of perception that that will, in the end, be their undoing.
Nonetheless, LV goes on to give one of the most show stopping performances ever to grace center stage. The transformation is incredible. Jane Horrocks gives a performance to be remembered! The only question is whether Ray and Mari can get LV to sing more than once. See the movie and find out for yourself. This is, without a doubt, an exceptional film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HILARIOUS, 11 Mar 2000
When I saw this film at the cinema, I didnt really know what to expect, then I saw Michael Caine in a flowery dressingown, and started to laugh hysterically, from then on, I didnt stop. Powerfully realistic performances from Jim Broadbent and Brenda Blethyn, not to mention the amazing vocal skills of Jane Horrocks, made 'Little Voice' one of THE films of '99. That leaves just one question then................
"That's never her?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 9 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Voice [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is just a lovely film. Jane Horrocks finds herself with a gift which no one knows about or if they do they don't appreciate it. Thats until Michael Caine hears her. Ewen McGregor is great. This is innocence versus vulgarity. An even better watch if you like oldie music but always worth a go as beautifully filmed and directed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An All Time Great, 11 Mar 2012
By 
H. A. Weedon "Mouser" (North Somercotes, Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Voice [DVD] (DVD)
Since I've always loved this film I'm now delighted to have my very own copy of it. Apart from anything else it's British film making at its best. It's also very much about what it mmeans to be English. One of the most inspiring facts about it is that, although it's certainly comedy, there's a powerful thread running through it that is so true to life with believable characters - people we've all come across at sometime in our lives. Even Little Voice herself will remind us of shy people we may have met at one time or another. It's so easy to identify with all the characters and love them all, warts and all, just as they are. What more can one say? Not only is this five stars all the way, it sends up a myriad of bright stars to burst out all around it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 18 July 2000
By A Customer
I picked up this video because I knew Jane Horrock's other work in the London Donmar Warehouse production of Cabaret (Sally Bowles). I had no idea that I would be speechless over this video after I'd seen it, and that I would be recommending it to everyone I know. This is such a great piece of work with a stellar cast, and I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Voice [DVD] [1999]
Little Voice [DVD] [1999] by Mark Herman (DVD - 2001)
£3.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews