Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Blu-Ray & Uncut
As a huge fan of this film i have owned almost every incarnation. I first purchased the VHS then the DVD but after noticing various cuts (the counterfiet bust at the beginning and the attack at the bank tellers house) i subsequently purchased the Region 1 DVD as this was uncut.
I took a leap of faith and purchased the Blu-Ray and am so glad i did. The picture & sound...
Published on 25 Dec 2011 by Cb1306

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great film spoiled by bad editing (Collectors Edition!!)
This is one of my favourite films, - a 5 star film, but this is not what I saw in the cinema - the DVD (UK region) is a version that has been edited presumably to fit within the 15 certificate bracket. There are a couple of annoying mistakes - such as when Clint shoots a bad guy and the gun does not make a sound (all we see is the bad guy clutching himsself and falling...
Published on 3 Aug 2002


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Blu-Ray & Uncut, 25 Dec 2011
By 
Cb1306 "CJB" (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
As a huge fan of this film i have owned almost every incarnation. I first purchased the VHS then the DVD but after noticing various cuts (the counterfiet bust at the beginning and the attack at the bank tellers house) i subsequently purchased the Region 1 DVD as this was uncut.
I took a leap of faith and purchased the Blu-Ray and am so glad i did. The picture & sound on this are nothing short of brilliant (another example of an old film far outshining some newer releases). Extra's are the same as the Special Edition DVD but most importantly the film is totally uncut. Enjoy this modern classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great film spoiled by bad editing (Collectors Edition!!), 3 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: In The Line Of Fire [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films, - a 5 star film, but this is not what I saw in the cinema - the DVD (UK region) is a version that has been edited presumably to fit within the 15 certificate bracket. There are a couple of annoying mistakes - such as when Clint shoots a bad guy and the gun does not make a sound (all we see is the bad guy clutching himsself and falling to the ground). Also, the villain has been sanitised by severely cutting the scene where he murders some innocent people - so he seems no where near as threatening. This edition is supposed to have extra footage, I am not sure where it is, but it does not make up for the footage that has been cut out.
I still love the film, it is one of Eastwood's best and Malkovich is outstanding, but I will be trying to get hold of an earlier release on VHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Censored!!!!!!, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Craig Martin (Melbourne, VIC AUS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can you believe the censors have tampered with this film? The sequence in which Malkovich breaks the neck of a very likeable character is entirely cut from the film. It's a key moment that director Wolfgang Peterson included to show the level of callousness of Malkovich's character who otherwise gains some of our sympathy. Unforgiveable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 10 Jan 2010
This is a brilliant film and a brilliant blu-ray! Clint Eastwood is his usual excellent self and John Malkovich is superb. The picture is very sharp and very clear and the sound was pretty good too. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He Sets Out To Fix What He Can't, 13 April 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clint Eastwood is ageing Secret Service Agent Frank Horrigan - a guy who still holds bad memories when John F Kennedy was assassinated. He feels he let everyone down that day, but when a young man calling himself Mitch Leary announces he wants to kill the current president, Frank makes himself available and tries everything to stop history repeating.

This is a good film, well told by Jeff Maguire and well directed by Wolfgang Petersen, better known for his work on The Perfect Storm and Air Force One, and has worked with Hollywood's elite for quite some time now. This film flows well, and is in no hurry to tell the story, which is nice. Plus Clint Eastwood is a legend, everything he does is successful and his powerful presence in front or behind the camera has always been well received. Renee Russo is also good in this, but top marks has to go to John Malkovich who I feel has been far underrated in the Hollywood system for too long. Ripley's Game has to be one of his best.

This Blu-Ray is good - full BD50 disk with a decent bitrate, and the colours are wonderful and remind me of when I saw this at the cinema. The audio is punchy and clear and worth checking out if you love this film. Bit disappointed with the extras as they're still in SD, really this could have done with an upscale. Really I would only suggest this BD to people who love this movie and must see it in HD, as this is a splendid transfer, it's vibrant and does justice to the original.

Rent if you don't know this movie, buy if you're a big fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clint Eastwood and John Malkovich!!! What can go wrong?, 9 Sep 2012
By 
Benn Parsons (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great blu ray transfer, great sound and great extras.
Its an old film, but on this blu ray it doesn't seem like it, with a HD 2.40:1 ratio transfer it is spot on.
Obviously, the extras aren't in the same ratio (I don't understand why people complain about extras not being a perfect transfer, enjoy the film experience and just watch the extras) but they include loads of interesting features.
The sound is perfect (TrueHD 5.1).
The only complaint (and the reason for the four stars) is the English subtitles. I enjoy watching films with subtitles so I don't miss any dialogue, but the subtitles on this blu ray differ quite a lot from what the actors are actually saying, and on top of that there are some sentences that are skipped altogether, not happy!
Apart from that, Highly recommended for your blu ray collection.
Also, one more thing, I loved the menu screen and set up options, with a shooting target of each section and a gun fires when you choose and option, after which the option that you have chosen rises up and is moved quickly to the front of the list, a great touch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Eastwood Blu-ray, 21 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recently got Dirty Harry on Blu-ray and was stunned by it. Fancying a companion Clint film from towards the end of his (acting) career I thought I'd get this. It's a very good transfer (and a great film of course!). However I think 4 stars is fair because the sharpness and depth of field does vary from shot to shot. Some close-ups are great, with plenty of detail visible in the faces and eyes. Others are a bit fuzzy. Some of the famous changed history CGI stands out a bit more too. Can't fault the film though and this is probably the best version there is...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, tense and full of suspense., 11 April 2001
By 
Jenny (Dukinfield, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The teaming up of Clint Eastwood and John Malkovich was the idea of, what can I say, a mad genius! The two along side each other convey a bitter and chilling relationship that keeps you in suspense all throughout the movie. Though I must say Malkovich, as always conveys the most noticeable character and acheives it well as the sick and twisted but clever assassin Mitch Leary, who attempts to ruin the life of the American President's bodyguard - Frank Horrigan (Eastwood). Horrigan is determined to protect the President's life no matter what - even if it means being In The Line of Fire for him, because of his fail at protecting John F. Kennedy's life thirty years before hand. With the odd funny moment and sparks of romance this film is great entertainment for those who like fast, hot action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Clint Classic, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Blu ray Info.
Running time 126 minutes approx, Region 2, Uncut version.

Extras.
Trailer, Making of Documentary.

Trivia.
1)Robert De Niro, Robert Redford, Dustin Hoffman were all at one time or another associated with the roke of Frank Horrigan.
2)Sean Connery was offered but turned the role down of Frank Horrigan.
3)Originally Clint Eastwood was reluctant to play the part thinking at then 62 he was to old to play the part.
4)The character of Mendoza is played by Tobin Bell who went onto star as John Kramer in the highly successful Saw franchise.

Synopsis.
Experienced Secret Service agent Frank Horrigan was once a former bodyguard of President John F.Kennedy but as tragedy struck on that fateful day, Frank couldn't prevent the Presidents assassination.

30 year's later a assassin named Mitch Leary (Booth) decides to play a cat & mouse game with Frank as Leary intends to assassinate the current President of the United States but how & when.

Frank must take action & use whatever resources are available to take down Leary & try & pevent an assassination attempt that's about to take place on the life of the world's most powerful man even if it cost's Frank his own life in the process.

Timelord Thought's.

This showcases why Clint Eastwood is such a legend as Clint brings a charismatic aura of cool to the role of Frank Horrigan & is just mesmerising when he appears on screen.

John Malkovich is chilling & yet gives a very calm still performance as assassin Mitch Leary who is the antithesis of the Clint character as the two share a chemistry of hero & villain as they engage in phone conversations which are tense, Dramatic & enthralling.

This is a brilliantly directed film by Wolfgang Petersen who nails the movies tone & paces the movie very well with some superb tense chase scenes throughout.

Dyan McDermott & Rene Russo do well in there supporting roles in Agent Andrea & Agent Lily Raines but make no mistake this is Eastwood & Malkovichs movie as they both light up the screen everytime they appear individually or share scenes together.

A superb tense nail bitting thriller with brilliant performances from Eastwood & Malkovich.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING for foreign language buyers: Wrong language description above !!, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Line Of Fire [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
The correct language description of this DVD (SONY Collector's Edition) is as follows:

AUDIO Language: ENGLISH only !

SUBTITLE Languages: ENGLISH + HINDI only !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In The Line Of Fire [DVD] [1993]
In The Line Of Fire [DVD] [1993] by Wolfgang Petersen (DVD - 2002)
4.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews