Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A HEAVENLY SPOOF...
This is a funny, well executed spoof of the popular nineteen seventies series by the same name. At times, it is positively hilarious. Cameron Diaz showcases her comedic talents and is a standout. With that luminescent smile and perfect comedic timing, she is reminiscent of a young Goldie Hawn. The ever lovely and voluptuous bad girl, Drew Barrymore, is also very funny, as...
Published on 19 Feb 2003 by Lawyeraau

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good morning Charlie!
I have to admit this film is a secret fav of mine. Love the girls in it, think they work well together but I'm not posting this to review the film because if you haven't seen it yet, then you must've been in a coma for the past ten years! I'm disappointed with the transfer. It's not as sharp as I had hoped for, in fact it's not a lot better than the DVD. Audio is...
Published on 21 Sep 2010 by Lisa Stowner


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A HEAVENLY SPOOF..., 19 Feb 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a funny, well executed spoof of the popular nineteen seventies series by the same name. At times, it is positively hilarious. Cameron Diaz showcases her comedic talents and is a standout. With that luminescent smile and perfect comedic timing, she is reminiscent of a young Goldie Hawn. The ever lovely and voluptuous bad girl, Drew Barrymore, is also very funny, as is the petite Lucy Liu. The droll Bill Murray as Bosley is likewise perfect, and with the addition of John Forsythe, who played the original, mysterious Charlie in the series, reprising his original voice over role, the casting is flawless.
While the plot is, as it is with all spoofs, silly, it is, nonetheless, action packed and highly entertaining. Its tongue in cheek action scenes, as well as the sheer campiness of the movie, keep the viewer engaged. For sheer enjoyment, watch this film. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly silly but enjoyable, 28 Jun 2002
By 
Mr. James W. Beard "jamesbeard" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charlie's Angels [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
To enjoy this film, you have to not expect it to be anything other than what it is: a combination of pop-video, action flick and general celebration of the feminine charms of Cameron Diaz, Drew Barrymore and Lucy Liu.
It's not The Godfather, but who cares? I think you can tell that director McG had a lot of fun making the film (which shows in the excellent commentary by him and the Director of Photography), and his visual style is heavily influenced by his standing as pop video director. So much of the film is so lushly produced they can get away with quite a lot of silliness. For example, the scene when Diaz and Luke Wilson visit the set of Soul Train sees Diaz throwing down her thing on the dancefloor, and it's all so watchable. Who cares if it's a little dumb?
Likewise, there are a few fight scenes (obligatory since The Matrix raised the bar on hand-to-hand combat) which have genuinely been choreographed well, and it is the girls doing most of those stunts; again the pace keeps you involved.
I haven't gone through all the special features on the DVD, but the commentary was really interesting to hear - I wish more films had these!
So, you know ... the plot is a silly and far-fetched, but that's what films like this are all about - I'll take this over the twaddle that the Bond franchise has become any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good morning Charlie!, 21 Sep 2010
By 
Lisa Stowner "Lisa. S." (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to admit this film is a secret fav of mine. Love the girls in it, think they work well together but I'm not posting this to review the film because if you haven't seen it yet, then you must've been in a coma for the past ten years! I'm disappointed with the transfer. It's not as sharp as I had hoped for, in fact it's not a lot better than the DVD. Audio is problematic too as their voices are often overshadowed by the bass and/or music, just not the best mix. I gave it 3 stars as the movie itself is so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A HEAVENLY SPOOF..., 13 Sep 2004
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Charlie's Angels [2000] (VHS Tape)
This is a funny, well executed spoof of the popular nineteen seventies series of the same name. At times, it is positively hilarious. Cameron Diaz showcases her comedic talents and is a standout. With that luminescent smile and perfect comedic timing, she is reminiscent of a young Goldie Hawn. The ever lovely and voluptuous bad girl, Drew Barrymore, is also very funny, as is the petite Lucy Liu. The droll Bill Murray as Bosley is likewise perfect, and with the addition of John Forsythe, who played the original, mysterious Charlie in the series, reprising his original voice over role, the casting is flawless.
While the plot is, as it is with all spoofs, silly, it is, nonetheless, action packed and highly entertaining. Our trio of crime fighting beauties are a sight for sore eyes. The tongue in cheek action scenes, as well as the sheer campiness of the film, keep the viewer engaged. For sheer enjoyment, watch this fast-paced film. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 29 May 2001
This review is from: Charlie's Angels [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Directed like a music video, loud, colurful, funny, and sexy. the 3 stars look fantastic, in roles perfectly fitting with the overall sytle of the movie. its got to be taken less seroiusly than the tv series, which in parts it does a good job of sending up. Has that girl power late 90's feel about it making this one of the few successful modern re-makes. lots of extra featues available making it better on DVD than VHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ludocrously Funny, 14 Oct 2009
By 
A. Bellerby (Pembrokeshire, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charlie's Angels [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Primarily a showcase for the three lead actresses. A series of ludicrous situations, seemingly designed solely as an excuse for equally ludicrous costumes, linked together by the idea of a plot. But they sweep you along with the well choreographed post matrix fight scenes, and the one liners. The best of which are shared between Diaz and Lui.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A creative Difference, 7 Oct 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charlie's Angels [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
We are all familiar with the TV series.... The movie is better than the show. It has a believable plot and all the girls seem to work well together, instead of just jiggle (Though it is here). There is a lot of action in this movie. The girls look like they had fun in this movie, especially Cameron Diaz. The Martial Arts fights are campy, but done in the Chinese tradition of high flying. If you sit down to watch the film and take it as the fun that was intended, you'll love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Adaptation of the series, 23 May 2007
This review is from: Charlie's Angels [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Okay, so, there are times when I am a sucker for movies based on television shows. Seeing as how I was a huge fan of the original television series, I decided to give this one a try and I was not disappointed.

At least with the movie, they had a bigger budget to make the action sequences a lot more enjoyable and Cameron Diaz, Drew Barrymore and Lucy Liu do a fine job as the three newest Charlie's Angels.

The only one they bring back from the television series, though, is John Forsythe, the voice of Charlie. That seemed rather fitting, although I'm not sure why the chose Bill Murray to play Bosley, unless it was for comic relief. The small role of thin film enacted by Crispin Glover of Back To The Future fame is very significant and should have had greater exposure.

I love those camera shots where you see freeze frames with the actresses swishing their hair..very corny but really pleasant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great update and transfer to the big screen., 1 Nov 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Charlie's Angels [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Having watched the First Season of the 1970s TV series immediately before this film I appreciated what a fine job Director McG does of updating the TV series to the big screen thirty years on whilst retaining the spirit of the original.

The original TV series was pure entertainment all about style, beautiful girls, paper thin plots and girl power, and Cameron Diaz, Drew Barrymore and Lucy Liu deliver these qualities in abundance. Bill Murray does not seem completely at home as Bosley but his part is relatively small.

For those that can unwind and enjoy action as entertainment this film is sheer bliss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A high-kicking extravaganza!!, 8 July 2003
This review is from: Charlie's Angels [2000] (VHS Tape)
after recently seeing the sequel, i remembered how much i ejoyed this first film..
it captures these independant women, who are not to be messed with. everyone loves a story about a strong woman, and everyone loves seeing pretty girls beating the hell out of people.
produced by Drew Barrymore, this is a great film, however for the best charlie's angels experience, go for the latest installment, Full Throttle.
and that's Kickin' your ass!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charlie's Angels [DVD] [2000]
Charlie's Angels [DVD] [2000] by McG (DVD - 2001)
2.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews