Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars8
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2003
Hardcore and Ska. Skacore, if you like. This is a sub-genre that Capdown have affectively created for themselves. True, to drop them in a Ska-punk catagory with the likes of the diabolical Less than Jake and Reel Big Fish would be an insult to a very talented and promising band. The album 'Civil Disobedients' begins with the adrenaline pushing 'Unite To Progress' and then the pro-cannabis 'Kained But Able'. 'Ska Wars' sounds like Madness on speed playing Danzig covers and 'JNR NBC' is like a mixture of these first three tracks. 'Dub #1' is their experimental ambient piece but the guitars return for 'Positivity'. 'Cousin Cleotis is the closest that Capdown get to sounding anything like the Ska-Punk scene but thankfully, they're stll miles off. 'The Neverlution' is my personal favourite, it's a very well-written track with a Sax introduction and then a frantic change of pace when the guitars actually take over. Great stuff. The title track, 'Civil Disobedients', manages to last for over 5 minutes and 'Headstrong' has a bigger emphasis on Ska than the other tracks. The penultimate track, 'Real Deal' brings back the guitars and high-energy drums and 'Bitches and Nike Shoes' ends the album on a note of Ska-ness.
I'm not really into Hardcore, Ska or Punk in general but this is a very special album, everyone should own a copy. The riffs also deserve a special mention..the guitarist (as well as the rest of the band) is incredibly talented and tight.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2001
Capdown are a breath of fresh air, giving us the finest slice of Skacore Britain has to offer. Giving us very fast hardcore punk with tunes like Unite to Progress, Kained But Able, Jnr NBC and Deal real. Also you've got some luvverly ska tunes to skank to like Ska Wars, Cousin Cleotis and Headstrong. Their attempt at a dub tune kinda works in Dub No1 and also the album finishes nicely with Bitches and Nike Shoes. I hope this album isn't a one off fluke, but since they've been Soap, the've been making some great songs, but are moving up one step since Soap and since Time for Change e.p. This is a vital part of my record collection and has become essential.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2001
Capdown are definitely one of the best ska-core bands around at the moment, and this album proves it. If you like bands such as Link 80 or the Voodoo Glow Skulls, then you'll love this. The british fouresome feature fantasic songs such as ska wars, headstrong and positivity on the album and have even done an astounding dub song, which is, strangely enough, called Dub no.1. So if your cd collectoin is lacking some spice, then I strongely advice buying or at least listening to this album, you won't regret it.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2005
very strange at first, i wasnt sure if i even liked it, mainly because it was so different. but this is a musical masterpiece. the songs on the album span such a wide veriety of music it would be like listening to a compilation if the singer didnt have such a distinctive voice and style. theres pure ska with 'Ska Wars' to metal with 'Deal Real' which is also the best song on the album for me. as long you are open to new types of music and your taste in music is already rock, you could enjoy this album as much as me and many others. allow yourself to like it and dont be put off if you think "what the hell is this?!" the first few times you listen, pretty soon you'll be in ecstasy listening to your favourite parts.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2004
I first got into capdown from the householdname records sampler in 2002, and i immediatly bought 'pound for the sound' which is a great album but not as good as 'Civil Disobedients', 'Civil Disobedients' is much more raw and has more fast ska riffs which i love, especially songs like 'ska wars' and 'headstrong' and my favourite track on the album 'bitches and nike shoes'. Capdown are definatly my favourite band, if you like capdown also check out 'Farse' who are another great ska/core band.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2001
This is one of the best ska/punk bands around at the moment, if you are into you are into this style of music then this is a must for anyone who wants a serious collection of ska/punk.....Must i say more
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2001
I would serioulsy advise any ska/punk fan to get this album. If you are a bit sick of the happry ska, dont get me wrong i love it, but it's a breath of fresh air on the ska camp, GET THIS ALBUM!!!!!!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2001
Capdown really are great. if u like ska and punk and hardcore then u'll love these guys. the are like rancid and operation ivy but with more attitude and more ska. this aint your jump on the bandwagon ska nitether. this stuff is pure freshly squeezed organic orange juice like ska punk. headstrong, cousin cleotis, ska wars all horn toting greatness, theres a bit of dub in dub no 1, and pure hardcore in kained but able. great album, great band. these guys will be big get this album NOW!!!!!!!
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.