Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feverish with emotion
Without receiving much publicity, Turin Brakes have steadily built up an impressive fanbase on the base of this remarkably assured debut album. This is a collection of shimmeringly beautiful songs, all drenched in the glorious emotion of modern life.
What sets this band apart from the others that they were initially lumped in with is their startlingly acute emotional...
Published on 7 Mar 2003

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars patchy at best
After all the hype, after all the praising reviews and after a fair number of recommendations from my friends, I finally got my hands on the Turin Brakes debut LP. And I was severely disappointed. It's only good in parts, these being all the singles plus 'Feeling Oblivion' and 'State of Things'. The rest are all pretty similar, and I hate to say it, dull. I wish I...
Published on 18 Nov 2001 by johnnypoindexter


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will not hear a better record than this all year!, 6 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Optimist Lp [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Since buying this record it improves with every listen, the strong songs seem to be 'The door', 'Mind over money' & 'Save me'. With folkey peaceful songs like 'The road' & the title track 'The Optimist'. Hopefully with the release of 'Save me' they may get the recognition they deserve for this wonderfully refreshing record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent,, 24 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Optimist LP (Audio CD)
SAW THEM LIVE ON THE BACK OF 'THE STATE OF THINGS', AND WAS ABSOLUTELY NOT DISSAPOINTED, THE ALBUM IS FURTHER PROOF THAT THIS DUO CAN CREATE GREAT MUSIC. HIGHLIGHTS FOR ME WOULD BE 'THE ROAD', 'STATE OF THINGS' AND 'MIND OVER MONEY' BASICALLY IF YOU LIKE GREAT MELODIC SOOTHING SOUNDS, BUT VARIATIONS IN AN ALBUMS TEMPO ALL THROWN IN WITH A UNIQUE AND WONDERFULLY EFFECTIVE VOICE, THEN ITS FOR YOU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air for real music fans!, 11 Jan 2002
This review is from: The Optimist LP (Audio CD)
This LP had to be one of the greatest hidden gems released in '99. There is not a weak song to be found on this album, ranging from the melancholic 'Future Boy' and 'By TV Light' to the wonderfully complete 'Underdog' and 'The Door'. These three fellas seem to bring a new perspective as to what music should really sound like.... Mind Blowingly good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Country feedback, 16 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Optimist LP (Audio CD)
Another acoustic act with a silly name (why not Vatican Hubcaps?) but quality material. This stuff sounds real, unlike the fast-food feyness of Dido.
Best songs are undoubtedly the first and last: the insidious melody of Feeling Oblivion and the gorgeously harmonised title track. Good stuff in between, too, like Underdog and State of Things. The guy's got a good voice, and the lyrics try their best to avoid cliche. Better than Coldplay or Travis? Probably not yet. The others may be too popular for some people, but they've made it because they created fully formed records with a higher proportion of really memorable tunes than there are here. The Optimist is a good start, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars melodically minded majestical moods, 14 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Optimist LP (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the basis of a couple of reviews and one listen to the opening track, and I cant stop listening to it. Turin Brakes have created the sweetest melodies to make this album a summer must. From the opening piano on 'feeling oblivion', you just know that this album is going to be one of the most relaxed acoustically-driven albums of recent years. Although the majority of the songs are acoustic, the band show that they have a harder edge on the song 'slack', which turns out to be a great straightforward rock song in the vain of the Doves and perhaps even early Oasis. The Optimist LP is a must for any of you Coldplay, Doves, or Travis fans out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A somewhat sombre, but excellent original album, 12 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Optimist LP (Audio CD)
I never heard of Turin brakes before all I knew was that they were nominated for the Mercury award.(an award given to the best album of the year, selected by a panel of music critics) I risked it and bought it, and HAVE NOT regreted it since. It is an amazing album. The lead singer has a unique voice akin (slightly) to the originality of thom yorke (radiohead). the album is a very mellow, and sometimes sombre set of songs. it is mostly acoustic, the pace of the album is very relaxing and yet sometimes strangely invigorating. Its hard to compare turin brakes to any other band, you just have to listen to them. In my opinion I couldnt live without this cd!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This just gets better!, 10 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Optimist LP (Audio CD)
The first time I heard 'The Door' was on a compliation CD and thought it was one of the best tracks. On the stength of that I decided to find out a bit more about these boys.
I'm very pleased that I did. Whilst browsing on Amazon a few weeks ago, I find what surely will be my album of 2002!
This is one of those albums that grows on you more and more with every listening, catchy, but easy to listen to, great lyrics, and a style all of their own. This is an excellent debut album. Turin Brakes are set to be around for quite a while if they continue to produce great tracks like 'Emergency 72' and 'The Road' etc.
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Delicate and charming debut, 15 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Optimist LP (Audio CD)
As a debut album, this is an extremely accomplished piece of work - Turin Brakes understand how to create a sense of charm and delicacy by exercising a considerble amount of restraint - both in the the musical production, and the songcraft itself. Whilst there are a few misfires on 'The Optimist', as a whole the album hangs together beautifully. It's a Sunny Sunday afternoon of an album, and there is much to love in it's tongue-in-cheek lyrics and subtle harmonies. Turin Brakes should have a great future ahead of them; this is already streets ahead of the often dull and overblown output of most of their contemporaries ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quiet is the new loud, 13 Mar 2002
This review is from: The Optimist LP (Audio CD)
This album was my first foray into guitar-based music after some time out listening to a lot of dance stuff. I used to listen to Radiohead and that sort of thing but then got bored and moved more towards the likes of Photek and Roger Sanchez. Having heard the singles "The Door" and "Underdog", I thought I'd give this one a go. I'm damn glad I did
Possibly my chosen album of 2001, "The Optimist" is a beautiful record. Obviously a CD that the two lads who make up the outfit have taken great time and care over, every bit of emotion and feeling that they submitted to their efforts has come out aurally. "Feeling Oblivion" is a sublime way to begin the record and is certainly one of the standout tracks. The piano and harmonising give it a dream-like melancholy feel and set the album up nicely.
Not perfect, "The Optimist" does begin to lose its way towards the end. "The Road" is not a great tune at all but it does not spoil the overall feel or mood of the album. Some people here have slated "By T.V. Light" which is unfair as I think that it is a very competant song but opinions are what this is all about.
To summarise, if you want a record that would be ideal to just lie down and listen to, you would not go far wrong with this. I bought it, and I listen to drum and bass!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars powerful beginning - drifting to the end, 6 Dec 2001
This review is from: The Optimist LP (Audio CD)
What an album! I think that the hype was definately justified, yet the album is not perfect. It all starts with a slow warm up song that is uplifting, with amazing harmonies. Save me is the pulsating heart of the album with amazing bass and guitare riffs, so much so that it is a dissapointment when it finishes. Unfortunately the rest of that album does not keep up this standared, so slowly drops away with individual brilliance of songs like starship, and mind over money. A must have album, but improvments could be made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Optimist LP
The Optimist LP by Turin Brakes (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews