Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top mix !
I can't understand the one star review at all - but that's taste for you I guess.

I bought this album about 8 years ago and have played it time and time again.

A superb, laid back trip - a blend of soulful and funked-up Jazz. I popped the disk on at a party a few years back and let it roll by in the distance. The guys at the party weren't...
Published on 26 Jan 2010 by Beardfreak

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funk from the Premier Jazz label
There has always been a crossover between the major Black music genres, and Funk in particular took R&B conventions and injected elements of Jazz - the structures and solos notably.

As a result Jazz artists took to Funk, and the early 70's, in particular, saw major Jazz names like Miles Davis (On The Corner) and Herbie Hancock (Headhunters) produce Funk albums...
Published on 2 Dec 2007 by Andy Edwards


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top mix !, 26 Jan 2010
This review is from: Blue Funk (Audio CD)
I can't understand the one star review at all - but that's taste for you I guess.

I bought this album about 8 years ago and have played it time and time again.

A superb, laid back trip - a blend of soulful and funked-up Jazz. I popped the disk on at a party a few years back and let it roll by in the distance. The guys at the party weren't "Jazz-heads" at all, but appreciated the vibes.

I think its a good place to start if you want to broaden your tastes and explore other areas of this eclectic genre, we loosely call Jazz.

This "is not" middle of the road elevator music, unless you happen to frequent some seriously cool buildings with staff who happen to stock the in-house music system with fine cuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funk from the Premier Jazz label, 2 Dec 2007
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Funk (Audio CD)
There has always been a crossover between the major Black music genres, and Funk in particular took R&B conventions and injected elements of Jazz - the structures and solos notably.

As a result Jazz artists took to Funk, and the early 70's, in particular, saw major Jazz names like Miles Davis (On The Corner) and Herbie Hancock (Headhunters) produce Funk albums - admittedly to mixed critical acclaim.

Blue Note have raided their back catalogue for this set, which contains covers and original material, all of which can be regarded as Funk, if a little loosely in some cases. I tend to shy away from instrumental versions of vocal hits - hence Bobby Hutcherson's version of "Family Affair" is workmanlike but lacks the impact of Sly's vocal, and "Say It Loud..." is essentially the same arrangement as JBs, and adds little to the original. Interestingly, Lou Donaldson also covers Curtis' "If there's Hell Below" to much better effect.

For me, the best tracks here are "Hunk Of Funk", by Brother Jack McDuff, and "Down Home Funk" by Richard "Groove" Holmes, both of which are closer to real Funk than Jazz, although Grant Green supplies tracks, which demonstrate the variety of music which falls into this genre.

An interesting, rather than essential album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get the funk out!, 30 May 2014
By 
T. J. Parker "Timbo" (Ashford, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Funk (Audio CD)
This is one great album from start to finish. You will not be disappointed! Play it loud, play it often!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funky rather than funk, 17 Jan 2012
By 
Gadget Fan (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Funk (Audio CD)
Ok so the title is probably a little misleading, but for those in the know, this is exactly what you would expect from Blue Note. This is great jazz rather than funk, with funky undertones. These artists probably inspired the tunes that spring to mind when I think of funk.

There's a great selection of artists on this album, with great guitar solos from Grant Green, masterful vibes work from Bobby Hutcherson (check out his track Ummh on different album: Ummh) and superb sax from Lou Donaldson to name but a few.

If your after funk like The Meters then you will be disappointed, if however you like blue notes blue break beats albums you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Average elevator music, 8 Jan 2009
By 
J. Stewart (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Funk (Audio CD)
Save your money! There is more funk in the sound of one hand clapping.

I really regret spending money on this album and now I'm stuck with it... I don't have the heart to give it away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Funk
Blue Funk by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews