Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite! In my opinion the best!
When I saw Final Fantasy IX on the shelves, staring at me, its case twinkling in the lights of the multi-storey floor building, I just HAD to get it. I guarded it to make sure no one else would have it and when it reached my PlayStation console my dreams had come true.
Oh the emotion! Oh the story! Oh the heart wrenching brilliance! Being a fan of Final Fantasy this...
Published on 13 Mar 2006 by vivirin

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit of a disappointment
After spending too many hours to count playing Final Fantasy 7 and 8, I eagerly awaited the next instalment, unfortunately I was hugely disappointed, the in game graphics were terrible compared to FF8, the characters looked disproportionate and apart from the in game movies which were excellent as usual I was left feeling that this wasn't a new game but I was just playing...
Published on 17 Feb 2001


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite! In my opinion the best!, 13 Mar 2006
This review is from: Final Fantasy IX (PS) (Video Game)
When I saw Final Fantasy IX on the shelves, staring at me, its case twinkling in the lights of the multi-storey floor building, I just HAD to get it. I guarded it to make sure no one else would have it and when it reached my PlayStation console my dreams had come true.
Oh the emotion! Oh the story! Oh the heart wrenching brilliance! Being a fan of Final Fantasy this one, in my oppinion, is the benchmark. Simply wonderful. For its time it had the greatest graphics off all of the Final Fantasies as well as a beautiful musical score and outstanding storyline. The way the game evolves and grows throughout the course of the adventure is truly marvelous. This game, if you put your heart into it and please say you do, will probably take you about 70 hours including ALL of the side quests and mini games.
I have never gotten tired of this game and I have completed it over 5 times. That's about 350 hours of my life gone to one of the greatest experiences I've ever encountered. I truly believe, though Final Fantasy VII is named the greatest RPG of all time, that this is emotionally, lovingly and heart fulfillingly better.
With the upgrowing commotion of Final Fantasy XII this must be played before its memory is forgotten. I believe that you should place your copy of Final Fantasy VII aside for just a little bit to experience the true accomplicity of what Final Fantasy IX has to give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS GAME DOES'NT DESERVE 5 STARS - IT DESERVES 100 !!!!, 6 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy IX (PS) (Video Game)
This is a truly jaw dropping eye opening gob smacking belter of a game. You don't play FFIX, you get picked up whirled round the room and then sucked straight into the midst of a load of black mages in a medieval dream-like world with magnificent eidolons to summon, great palaces, flying airships and a young lad with a tail called Zidane Tribal. This was the second RPG game I had bought, the first Final Fantasy game. Before I had stuck to games like Spyro, Ape Escape, Tomb Raider and Jak and Daxter, but this was something totally new.
Following buying this, I was enjoying it so much I decided to buy FFVII, and I gradually acquired all of the games from FFIV to FFX. Although FFVII and FFX came close to FFIX, they aren't as good. In both of those two, there are a couple of good characters, as well as the magic of Square that is in all FF games. In FFVII there is Cloud, Cid and Sepiroth, who are really strong characters, and in FFX, they have used the formula again so they have all got quite individual characters, but the strongest are Wakka, Lulu, Auron and of course Tidus.
In FFIX, however, you can sympathise or like in a different way each of the characters - they all have very strong characters and attitudes.
You have -
Zidane, who is almost always cheerful and optimistic, and who falls in love with every lady he meets and does his best to cheer Garnet up.
Garnet, who is depressed a lot of the time, because her kingdom's been blown to bits and her mother killed, but she tries to be a good queen and put on a brave face.
Steiner, who is stuffy, old-fashioned and is utterly devoted to the princess, and although he doesn't like Zidane at first, comes to be more relaxed and like him more as time goes on.
Vivi, who you can't help being sorry for, as the little black mage doesn't know whether he exsists, and gets upset when hundreds of black mage dolls like him are found destroying places, working for the evil Kuja.
Quina, who is very strange and lives only to eat lots of tasty food from all round the world, and seems a bit of an annoyance to Zidane.
Freya, who is also upset (everyone is in FF games, because they've mainly got a dark past or something bad happens to them), because the love of her life went away, and when he finally returns he can't remember her at all.
Eiko, who (you've guessed it!) is also quite unhappy inside, but she puts on a bright face and is very bouncy and spirited. All her family is dead and she lives in the empty shell of a town called Madain Sari with her pet moogle and moogle friends. At six, she is the youngest character, two years younger than Vivi.
and finally;
Amarant, who is a loner, who fights first and asks questions later. He is rude and rough, and thinks he can handle things on his own. He rejects the idea of working in a group, but later softens a little, and co-operates with the others.
The graphics are simply stunning, the cut-scenes are breathtaking, and the emotions shown by the characters are so realistic, that the characters could well be live people if they were in modern dress. The in - game graphics aren't quite as good, but the backdrops are beautiful, and the characters move without glitches and smoothly.
The music score suits the game perfectly, the medieval music and Dagger's song suit the atmosphere, which is a relief as it would be awful to spoil an otherwise perfect game with bad tuneless music.
I have completed this game with all Chocobo treasures, defeated Master Quale, Ozma and Hades, uncovered the secret of the eidolons, delivered all Mognet letters, received Excalibur, known how to get Excalibur II (get to Disc 4 in under 12 hours - it is at the bottom of the stairs leading up to the Invincible),found all 12 Stellacio coins, found Ultima Weapon, learnt to summon Ark ..... the list could go on and on - there is no end to the sub-quests in FFIX, as well as the main story there is always something you need to put on your "Stuff to be doing" list. I am sure that I have missed out loads of sub-quests, as some are complex and hidden, while some are presented to you to do.
Overall this is the best game I have ever played on any console and it will take any time up to 70 hours to complete if you try to do everything. The only two tiny flaws are a) the random encounters can be annoying after a while and b)when digging for Chocobo treasures it can be very tedious when you don't find any for ages. These flaws are tiny however, and the good points outweigh the bad so much that the scales tip over to the good side.
Anyone who doesn't own this game has my sympathy and deepest regrets, and anyone who doesn't like it should get their head checked because they have obviously either had their brain stolen or they are an escapee from a mental hospital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! This is immense!, 19 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy IX (PS) (Video Game)
I am a final fantasy fanatic and I live and breathe it, but Final fantasy IX is certainly the best yet! Those who enjoyed Final Fantasy VII are almost certain to enjoy this game due to certain similarities, as Final Fantasy IX casts aside the more realistic personality of Final Fantasy VIII and reverts back to 3D versions of SNES and NES Final Fantasy games. The Story revolves around Zidane Tribal, a young thief travelling with a group of players. But their play is a front for the attempt to kidnap the adopted daughter of the tyrant queen Brahne. The games graphics push the PS1 to its limit, but they are trully mind-boggling. The amazing music, once again composed and arranged by Nobuo Uematsu is excellent and correctly reflects each scene in the game. For the point of longevity, it will keep you occupied for at least 50 hours, and up to 100 hours if you are to discover everything this game has to offer. Final Fantasy IX sees the return of Final Fantasy VIII's card game, now in grander style, with a more interesting angle on play. If you wondered about the time gap between US and PAL release, it is due to a shoddy US translation which Square has spent great lengths of rectifying for the PAL release. In short, this game is stunning, buy it and prepare to be amazed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i've caught the final fantasy bug!!, 26 Aug 2004
This review is from: Final Fantasy IX (PS) (Video Game)
A few weeks ago, i was introduced to the final fantasy genre thinking nothing of it! my sis' bf lent her a game of ffIX. I watched her play and on an utter whim decided to give it a try... and thats when i got addicted.
Never playing a ff game before i was overwhelmed at how detailed and entising the plot was. It drawed you in and actually made you care what would happen to your characters. the plot constisted of twists and turns and will make you squeal with antipation to laugh in glee.
In this game there are a wide variety of dreamlike animals ranging from moogles (cute animals with baubaues on their head) to dragon warriors. You control 8 charcters which have their own stories to tell. Theres Zidane-a spunky 16 year old theif who cant get his mind of girls, Vivi-a cute little (but very powerful) black mage who act wise beond his years, Princess Garnet-a girl with strong morals, Eiko-a brave little girl who lost her family, Aramant-the lone ranger, Stiener-a 33 year old knight whos life is about to change, Freya-a dragon knight who is old friends with Zidane and has a troubled past, Quina-strange being which seems to have no gender, will eat anything.
The music is of a high quality standard and doesnt ittrate the hell outta ya while you concentrate *ahem pokemon *ahem
there are original ways of traveling, saving your games and charming little sub-qusts. Everytime you play it you will find something new to do. A game like this makes you think about how much hard work and thought people put into it and final fantasy seems to go that one step further.
Next i hope to play the fforigins and ffVII and ffVIII (if only i had the money)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best FF in ages., 21 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy IX (PS) (Video Game)
You'll be wanting this then. Pfft, who am I to tell you what this game is like? I've been playing for 110 hours and I still haven't done half of it. What I have played is amazingly brilliant in every way. There are no faults. It's perfect. The characters are spot on, the story line is (for a change) not that heavy and reasonably easy on the brain, but at the same time compelling and twisting. The items and abilities system has been refined to perfection. The movies... well. We all know what Square can do in the CG department don't we? Need I say more? Easily the best RPG on the PlayStation (by several thousand miles) and quite possibly the best Final Fantasy yet. Buy it twice and send one to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic final fantasy the golden era of RPG, 11 Mar 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IX (PS) (Video Game)
Although we live in the age of high def blu ray and online gaming with ps3s FF9 is a classic. The other day I was looking for a game to play. Staring at me was FF9. I slid the first disc in and memories came flooding back. The characters are fully customisable. You can name them whatever you want, theres a ton of different skills, spells and abilities to learn with each one. For example Zidane is suited to using daggers and stealing items as he is a theif and Garnet is best used as a healer. She can also summon monsters known as edilons to assist you in battles. The battle system is extremely simple your running around on the world map.... suddenly the screen flashes and your fighting. You select commands and the character uses the selected move. This may seem retro but that is why its great fun. The story is very well thought out and it will keep you wanting more and more. Locations include, Alexandria, Treno, Black mage Village etc each one offering unique things from items to buy to weapons for your party to use. Graphics wise its slightly aged but its amazing for its time. A true classic with a fantastic storyline Final fantasy 9 truley holds its own in the modern age of ps3 gaming as an all time perfection of the RPG genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Fantasy IX - A Must Buy For Any RPG Fan, 26 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy IX (PS) (Video Game)
I have been playing the Final Fantasy games since FFVII. This latest installment in the Final Fantasy series is definetly the best one that I have played. The graphics are excellent, as good as you will see on any Playstation game. I am not just talking about the excellent movie clips that occur in the game, all the graphics are of a very high standard. The fighting systems have been streamlined and are much easier to use. Those long cut sequences that played each time you used a monster attack have been changed so that they only play every once in a while, much less annoying. The menu system is similar to the previous outings so you will not have to learn everything from scratch again. The story is definetly the best and is what makes the game. The story is very engrossing and gets deeper and deeper as you progress through the four huge discs. The best thing about the story is that it is not as obvious as the other stories and it is harder to guess what is really going on and who is actually behind it. So if you are already a fan of RPG (Role Playing Games) games this is a must buy for your collection, if not this is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great story, 21 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy IX (PS) (Video Game)
Once again, Square have created a well rounded, intelligently thought out game. The story starts out a little vague but becomes immersive and may I say extremely exciting. The opening scenes in particular are rousing. Square have done well to go back to the medievil fantasy setting as it seems to fit the atmosphere of the story better. The combat system is very similar to FFVII and thankfully the junction system from FFVIII has been dropped, ensuring that the charactors retain some individuality. The charactors themselves are all brilliant, Vivi in particular comes to mind. Some of his scenes are heartwrenching, whilst Steiner is always amusing. The villians are all suitably camp enough! I'd say that this game doesn't try to take itself too seriously, something i think FFVIII was guilty of. Play this game, if only for the excellent storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suberb, 7 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy IX (PS) (Video Game)
There is no game on any format that is better than this game.period.It has a suberbly intriging plot which will keep you hooked for weeks on end.The detail on the charactars is suberb,you really get the feeling that you know the charachter personally.It's humour is similiar to the exellent Monkey Island series.The Graphics on FF9 have got to be the best graphics evr seen on a computer game.The backgrounds are exellent on every town that you visit.and the FMV Video's are breathtaking,Although the world map is a tad mundane.Random battles are still there,but you find you want these even if they are annoying because you want to learn that new move or beat that boss.This game is like your playing a book.Roll on FF 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant ! Much better than FFVIII, 23 Feb 2001
This review is from: Final Fantasy IX (PS) (Video Game)
I bought this very recently because of a friend's recommendation and the fact it was more like FF7 than 8. I was pleased to say the very least. Square have done the noble thing of moving away from the realistic but complicated (and quite frankly crappy) FF8 and right back to something which is much more like the legend that was FF7.
As ever the FMV sequences and storylines are phenomenal and really draws you into the game. The characters are sheer eye candy and the battle sequences are back to the much loved FF7 system and not the crappy "Draw" and "Junction" from FF8.
Well back to it i suppose. I just can't kill that bastard Gizamaluke !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Fantasy IX (PS)
Final Fantasy IX (PS) by Namco Bandai (PlayStation)
Used & New from: £19.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews