Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Return To Dune
Dune 2 was the first RTS game (something which many people seem to forget these days), and, in my opinion, wasn't ever beaten.
The newer games that came along did indeed boast superior graphics, but the gameplay was abismal and strategy taking the back seat with mass producing tanks being the way to win against a stupid AI.
Dune 2000 was a disapointment, with it...
Published on 15 Jun 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same
After playing all the other Dune games (including Dune I, do you remember?), and reading all the Dune books (which I recomend to everyone), I looked forward to the continuation of the game serie. So I bought the game from Amazon and started playing. A month has passed and I still haven't finished the game. Not that is to hard or that I don't have the time, but why should...
Published on 27 Aug 2001 by JOV


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Return To Dune, 15 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Emperor: Battle For Dune (Video Game)
Dune 2 was the first RTS game (something which many people seem to forget these days), and, in my opinion, wasn't ever beaten.
The newer games that came along did indeed boast superior graphics, but the gameplay was abismal and strategy taking the back seat with mass producing tanks being the way to win against a stupid AI.
Dune 2000 was a disapointment, with it basically being Red Alert on Arrakis. Nothing had been improved.
Now, with Dune Emperor, things have taken a turn for the better. There are actually improvements beyond graphics for the first time in the Westwood RTS series.
The strategy here is far greater than ever before, and the different Houses far different from one another. The strategy does not end on the battlefield, with important decisions being made between missions, that do drastically alter the gameplay.
Alongside all this, you have the different factions from the novels being represented, such as the Bene Tleilax and the Spacing Guild, whom can become allies if you play your cards right.
And, continuing this expansion, you not only war on Dune, but also on the homeworlds of the three houses !
Plus, especially on Arrakis, you have more than just the enemy to contend with. With storms and sandworms, there's more than enough. But, then there's also Shai Hulud lurking in the deep deserts, capable of swallowing whole squadrons of troops or vehicles ! (Scale is finally right here !).
The interface itself is drastically improved, and you can even zoom in on the map, zoom out, spin around ... Imagine that watching a battle !
All in all, this is a fantastic game, and the step forward in RTS gaming we've all been waiting a decade for. And what better setting than the greatest science fiction epic of all time - the Dune Saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST STRATEGY GAME EVER!, 23 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Emperor: Battle For Dune (Video Game)
I cannot tell you how many hours I have spent on this game. Think of the addictiveness of the first Red Alert, spruce it up with acceptable 3D graphics (far too many people say the graphics are bad, but they're nit-pickers and shouldn't have a say). With 3 sides, and a fully environmental planet: there's enough to keep you occupied for months, but you learn something new about it every now and then (new tactics + techniques which you actually feel you have a part in). Well, if the three campaigns aren't enough for you with the GREAT, GREAT, GREAT gameplay (don't forget the price either!) then what about the subhouses - really make alliances, not just some manufacturer's promise to gain sales, but a real good aspect of the campaign, which can affect the missions you take part. Not only that, but for each campaign you can choose whichever province you wish to attack and so you can choose which mission you take part in and against which enemy. Needless to say that all the other reviews will add on what I've said. Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RA2 on sand... but thats no bad thing!, 17 Sep 2002
By 
Mr. J. Green "Jonnu G" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emperor: Battle For Dune (Video Game)
Emperor is essentially Red Alert 2 on the desert planet Arrakis, however, I in fact prefer this to RA2.
The Dune saga is a compelling setting for the war, much better than the usual USA vs. Russia fare. The full-3D is an excellent transition from the old C&C interface, instantly playable and so much more rewarding. The graphics are gorgeous, especially special effects like sandstorms and worms.
Cut-scenes are great, casting and attention to detail in them particularly good and faithful to the Dune universe, right down to the Sapho juice stains on the lips of the Mentats. (Dune fans will understand!)
The sub-houses are a great addition, as assisting one can eventually give an 'alliance' - the ability to build their units. All the units are very balanced and all lend well to strategic use, far better than Tiberian Sun. However, some units surviving from Dune 2 have undergone a number of changes. The Harkonnen Devastator, formerly a Mammoth Tank style machine, is now ridiculously slow and has become a weird 3-legged mech. Ordos Deviators are now shielded hovertanks (with great gas effects!). The Fremen are now fully-controllable units and very deadly (as they should be), not just computer-controlled cannon-fodder as before. Even the Guild Navigators inside their tanks and planes look true to the film. Unit voices are mostly excellent, although some are a bit cheesy and we don't really need to know that the Devastator driver "feels sick"! The main complaint in terms of the battles is the odd and downright stupid 'super' weapons. The Atreides use a 'Hawk Strike', a large bird image that scares off enemy troops. Hmm.......
Overall though, a top game for all RTS fans, and Dune fans will be totally immersed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasmagorically amazingly brilliant, 8 Dec 2003
This review is from: Emperor: Battle For Dune (Video Game)
I bought this game as a sci-fi fan who owns the books and movie, also as a strategy fan and a command & conquer fan. Much to my satisfaction the game was great with only one drawback which I'll mention later.
Firstly there are the three great houses:
House Harkonnen of Geidi Prime are a veil people knowing only hatred, their well trained, armoured and armed army is the only thing keeping them in power.
House Ordos of Draconis IV are a sneeky and untrustworthy mercenary people concerned only with the gaining of wealth, the regeneration powers of their units allows for damaged units to perform again as if they were never hurt.
House Atreides of Caladan are a noble people who take care of their men and allies, they are not however incapable of doing damage, their troops are trained to the higheat standard and more experienced units can even move in enemy territory undetected.
All houses are capable of winning and the differences compensate themselves. The other houses in the game allign themselves with whoever is nicest to them and offer two new units each, the sub-houses are the sarduakar, fremen, ix, guild and tleilaxu.
Secondly there are the graphics, a fully rotatable map with the ability to zoom in to see peoples teeth meant I was able to appreciate the quality of the graphics, sharp picture and a well mixed use of lighting and textures on a 3D landscape.
The terrain is different from normal games allowing buildings only to be placed on rock, not on sand, which is common sense really. Your harvesters collect spice which gives money to build units which kill people (always good) and sand worms wipe out anyone who stays on the sand too long. Very Command & Conquer style gameplay except in a sci-fi environment.
All in all, a good buy for all westwood, Command & Conquer, strategy and sci-fi fans a like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars spankin' gorgeous!, 3 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Emperor: Battle For Dune (Video Game)
After reading some of the reviews here I was a bit concerned about the perfomance of Emperor. Away I went, after installing it, sliding all the graphics options down to the lowest and ran a skirmish game. I was so impressed with the graphics and speed that I went back and ramped them all up full! Still it ran fine and looked gorgeous! I've got a 700mhz athlon with an ageing geforce mx and everything looks peachy. It's difficult to stop yourself whizzing your view in and out of the battle field and round and round!
The AI in skirmish games is vastly improved too. You can choose what style you want them to play, attacker, competant or defensive. I've not really messed too much with this but in defensive mode they build walls around their bases and keep most of their units close to their base rather than sending them all off on suicide missions to mine.

The best thing about the missions is you can get reinforcements from friendly neighbouring territories, something that always anoyed me that you couldn't do in previous westwood rts games.
My only gripe with it really is the terrible acting in the cut scenes when you play the missions! They really are dire!
All in all the graphics, sound and game play is superb but the video scenes are pants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Bi-la Kaifa!!", 17 Mar 2006
By 
Gavin Moore "Gav" (Gateshead. England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Emperor: Battle For Dune (Video Game)
"Amen!!" in the Fremen tongue to the previous review.
Yep, Emperor: Battle for Dune is the best game of this style I've ever played and I can't imagine it getting much better! All three of the great houses are back to once again wage war on dune for it's much sought after drug the Spice Melange for it's prescient and restorative properties to name a couple. The noble Atreides, the evil Harkonnen and the devious House Ordos (that I've only ever seen mentioned in the 'Dune Encyclopedia' book from the genius of the series Frank Herbert).
The same applies in style as with the previous Dune games by Westwood Studios but this time the Houses have more individuality, strengths and weaknesses and so on and so forth, The Atreides are good defenders and have repair vehicles, the Harkonnen are good attackers and have atomics as a special weapon (the deadly Death Hand missile that now poisons the ground it hits for a short period of time) and the Ordos are good all-rounders but more towards subterfuge and strange technologies just to name a couple of them. The same applies to buildings and vehicles as these are all designed differently too.
Graphically this still looks nice now 5 years down the line and units retain nice sharp detail when you zoom in on them and they have nice smooth movement. The Ordos vehicles hover for example and you will notice them gently swaying when close to them. The maps are also nicely textured and detailed with broken buggies and the odd dead sandworm lying around and civilian settlements dotted about (great for burning when you're the Harkonnen!)
Gameplay wise it's more tactical, involving the taking of territories or resigning them when under attack. Each territory apart from the main objective can have a sub objective like helping one of the few sub houses (The Fremen, The Tleilaxu, The Ixians or the Sardaukar) which when aided enough will help you throughout the rest of the game, being careful not to upset the balance as the Ixians are enemies of the Tleilaxu! Each sub house also has its massive advantages.
The sound is also top notch with Fremen battle cries, Harkonnen taunts and superb vehicle noises like the Harkonnen Buzz Saw and the whir of the Ordos craft. Again with all Westwood outings the music is also great and again individual to each house.

Verdict ' 10 out of 10!! The spice must flow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another retro classic, 19 July 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Emperor: Battle For Dune (Video Game)
Great gameplay, huge lastability. Another wonderful, quality game from a long lost era of PC game innovation and attention to detail. Plays perfectly on my ancient XP (with no service packs) PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, 27 Aug 2001
This review is from: Emperor: Battle For Dune (Video Game)
After playing all the other Dune games (including Dune I, do you remember?), and reading all the Dune books (which I recomend to everyone), I looked forward to the continuation of the game serie. So I bought the game from Amazon and started playing. A month has passed and I still haven't finished the game. Not that is to hard or that I don't have the time, but why should I play 30 or more missions that all look alike? Wouldn't the game be better if there were less missions, more dificult and... diferent? The game plays nicely (most of the time) but there is something missing, something new. So if you've never played any of the Dune games, I recomend this one, but if you are not new to strategy games, buy something diferent (I strongly recomend Deus Ex).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but falls short of greatness, 26 Jun 2001
By 
HLT (Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Emperor: Battle For Dune (Video Game)
The first thing to note is that a number of previous reviews have given star-ratings based on the authors' hopes and expectations of the game!
I've now been playing it fairly solidly for a few days, and it's great, compulsive fun, but it has the hallmark shortcomings of every Westwood game since DuneII (shortcomings that were forgiveable in the "grandaddy" game of the genre, but should really have been fixed by now.
The greatest disappointment for me is the lack of serious artillery and spotting units. They add so much tactical depth to the battlefield, and were used so effectively in Dark Reign... This one is another game where the standard missions reward building lots of the heaviest and most powerful units available, and using them in a massive bludgeoning attack. There are a few tactical missions (with no building) that rely on finesse, though.
The second disappointment (a problem also solved years ago in Dark Reign) is the mindless way units bumble about and get in each other's way when following a move command. I've actually seen 2 units go head to head, trying to push past each other, and remaining jerkily stuck until I intervened manually! A related problem is the way it puts weak but vital units (such as repair trucks) in harm's way. Surely a damaged combat unit should retire behind the lines to where the repair truck is waiting, rather than having the latter hurry up to the front line?
If I sound disappointed, it's more a case of regretting what could have been - a feeling I've had with every Westwood game since C&C. This is still a compelling and atmospheric game that will keep RTS fans hooked for hours, but it's also a missed opportunity.
Performance-wise, it's fine on my elderly PIII-450 system - I mention it because of the previous review indicating performance problems with the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks fantastic with disappointing game-control, 20 Jun 2001
This review is from: Emperor: Battle For Dune (Video Game)
With great anticipation did I wait for this game. On one hand my expectations were met, this is a fantastic game that looks great and has excellent RTS game play. There are only a few minor points that are wrong with it, but they spoil it quite a bit. The mouse cursor is outright sluggish, and no fiddling with my mouse-settings seemed to help. And when a lot of things are going on at the same time, it becomes uncontrollable. Since in this kind of game it's essential to be able to control your units quickly and accurately, this is an unforgivable problem. Especially since this game seems to be more tailored towards large scale battles than the similar Red Alert 2.
I didn't play any of the previous Dune games, but essentially this game is the same kind of game as Red Alert and Tiberian Sun. Except that the world has now been done in proper 3-D, which makes it look abolutely fabulous. My guess is that a lot of people will find this game very enjoyable, but the real fanatics, who want to play battles online, will find the sluggish control a real pain, if not unusable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Emperor: Battle For Dune
Emperor: Battle For Dune by Electronic Arts (Windows 95 / 98)
Used & New from: 3.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews