Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the funniest film ever?
Lt Frank Drebin is back and funnier than ever! This film is the funniest film I have ever seen. The jokes and slapstick come think and fast, and some of the funniest happen to The presidents wife. Once you've seen the crab bit, you'll be in hysterics. My favourate quote: Bad guy: "Now I'll have the pleasure of killing you myself."
Drebin: "The pleasures all mine!"...
Published on 29 April 2003 by redhotchilifan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Region Free! Not the best image quality but it's an old movie
Confirming this is actually region free; it plays fine on my North American Blu-ray player in the USA. The image quality is not that great, however, so I was a little disappointed. It's definitely better than the DVD on my 55" widescreen, but still looks noticeably grainy. This is still the best quality release format to date and the price is right. It was super cheap and...
Published 9 months ago by Excalibur212


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the funniest film ever?, 29 April 2003
Lt Frank Drebin is back and funnier than ever! This film is the funniest film I have ever seen. The jokes and slapstick come think and fast, and some of the funniest happen to The presidents wife. Once you've seen the crab bit, you'll be in hysterics. My favourate quote: Bad guy: "Now I'll have the pleasure of killing you myself."
Drebin: "The pleasures all mine!" (Confunsed look from badguy.) If you liked the first one get this. If you liked the 3rd one get this. If you've never seen them before, still get it. I promise you it'll be the funniest film you see all year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nielson=god!!!!!!!, 13 Jun 2006
By 
this film is so funny, you cant drink while watching it as you will choke. you cannot stop laughing through the film, it is just non-stop laughter. it is the funniest film there is and it will remain as the funniest film, probably forever. it is perfect.funny from the start which is quite rare. watch it if you like laughing for an hour and a half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "She was the kind of woman who made you want to drop to your knees and thank God you were a man!", 6 May 2006
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Naked Gun 2.5 - The Smell Of Fear [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
Watching this 1991 sequel to Naked Gun: From the Files of Police Squad, is like opening a time capsule. A slapstick comedy/satire set in Washington, DC, during the Presidency of George H. W. Bush, the plot involves the kidnapping of Dr. Albert Meinheimer (Richard Griffiths), the President's energy czar, who wants to reduce the country's pollution and its dependence on coal, oil, and nuclear power. Working as the Public Relations Director of the Meinheimer Institute, is Jane Spencer (Priscilla Presley), to whom Police Lt. Frank Drebin (Leslie Nielsen) was once engaged (until he was found in a compromising situation with the Queen in Naked Gun I). Jane is now the lover of Quentin Hapsburg (Robert Goulet), who has planned the Meinheimer kidnapping.

Filled with sight gags, one-liners, parodies of other films, stock comedy routines, jokes hidden within the sets (a portrait of Mike Dukakis on the wall, for example), and non-stop action that runs amok, the plot is the least of director David Zucker's concerns. Lt. Drebin (Nielsen), his romance with Jane, and his constant missteps as an investigator serve as the primary focus. Goulet acts the suitably oily villain, and actors George Kennedy and O. J. Simpson, who work with Drebin, are as bumbling as he is.

In the opening scene, a Presidential reception hosted to honor Drebin by President George H. W. Bush (played by John Roarke, who is hilariously realistic), Drebin decks Barbara Bush several times (with Margery Ross, who plays the First Lady as a valiant trouper, always coming up smiling). The setting quickly changes to a strip joint, a bowling alley, and operating room, and eventually includes a bomb site, a blues bar, and a dance-reception before the chases start. Nelson and Winnie Mandela, John Sununu, and Davy Crockett have roles here, and ZsaZsa Gabor and Mel Torme appear in cameos.

The action is wild and wacky, and the gags (both verbal and visual) never cease. Love scenes add romance--or attempts at romance, since those, especially a seduction in which the two people are making a vase from wet clay in an art studio when the wheel goes out of control--are as off-the-wall as the rest of the film. Especially time-sensitive regarding O. J. Simpson, who dominates his scenes ironically in ways that he never did in 1991, when the film was made, Naked Gun 2 1/2 is a hilarious but poignant comedy--the energy problems of 1991 are, unfortunately, not all that different now. Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Region Free! Not the best image quality but it's an old movie, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Confirming this is actually region free; it plays fine on my North American Blu-ray player in the USA. The image quality is not that great, however, so I was a little disappointed. It's definitely better than the DVD on my 55" widescreen, but still looks noticeably grainy. This is still the best quality release format to date and the price is right. It was super cheap and easy to buy it here on amazon.co.uk and pay shipping to the USA, for cheaper than many domestic Blu-Rays! I also bought Hot Shots!, Hot Shots! Part Duex, and the Naked Gun 33 1/3, none of which are available in the US yet. Hopefully if more people start buying the UK versions, they will release in the US in better quality/remastered versions... These are classic and hysterical movies. Look at the other crap they put out in Blu-Ray that is now in the discount bins at BestBuy when they could sell these for $10/ea to millions of people. Come on, Paramount!!! Release the USA versions already!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film that is a true must see, 4 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Naked Gun 2.5 - The Smell Of Fear [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
Lt Frank Drebin (Leslie Nielsen) strikes again in this classic comedy film.
Admittadely not as good as the first, 2 1/2 - Smell of Fear is still one of life's greatest hilarious movies.
Great film that is a true must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comedy classic, 15 July 2006
This review is from: Naked Gun 2.5 - The Smell Of Fear [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this film was hilarious! It was funny from the first shot to the last. Leslie Nielson was perfect for his role. And, as Oliver Hardy (from those brilliant comedians Laurel and Hardy) said "There's no one as dumb, as someone who's dumb, and thinks he's smart" a description that perfectly describes Leslie Nielson's character, Frank Drebin.
Definetly worth seeing if you like comedy, as this is a comedy classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stick with the DVD, 20 Nov 2013
By 
S Ablett "Orange Grunt" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such a great film, let down by the missing special features of the Dvd.

I bought this because I love the film and wanted it in High Def. but I am keeping the Dvds also because they contain the audio commentary, not found on the blu-ray.

The picture was very grainy and only marginally better than the dvd. Basically, stick with the dvd as its better value for money.

The high rating is for the film, rather than this Blu-Ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How not to save the environment., 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Our hapless policeman with the deadpan delivery is back with the gang as he attempts to save the day aided or abetted by his faithful colleagues following the kidnapping of a Presidential Adviser and his replacement with a double to increase the wealth of the members of a cartel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get it now, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naked Gun 2.5 - The Smell Of Fear [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big fan of the Naked gun films and this one is just as good as the first if you want a film that will actually make you laugh get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's your turn to wear the handcuffs..., 4 April 2008
By 
Ms. Felicia Davis-burden (Staines, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naked Gun 2.5 - The Smell Of Fear [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film so much it hurts - but it has to be a guilty-pleasure because so many of the jokes are low-brow, groan-inducing and sometimes incredibly childish. The dead-pan comic genius of Leslie Nielsen makes up for it in spades. My favourite scene, and probably the most expertly constructed in terms of sight-gags in background as well as foreground as well as script and comic timing, is played out in Lt. Drebben's chosen watering hole, The Blue Note nightclub. Ridiculous and often off-the-pier, this is a laugh-riot of a film. And remember your code phrase, 'I love it'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Naked Gun 2.5 - The Smell Of Fear  [1991] [DVD]
3.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews