Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The word on the street...
Not to be confused with a 1956 film of the same name, 'The Naked Gun' is an 80-minute version of a 'Police Squad' episode, and it's just as funny as the original TV series. Leslie Nielsen, the ultimate straight-faced comic, returns as the bumbling Frank Drebbin in a movie where he exposes a plot to assassinate the Queen (yes, of England). The supporting cast is truly...
Published on 15 Mar 2000 by Ben Elliss

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor quality picture
If you're thinking of buying this over the basic dvd version, take my advice and save a few pounds by not doing so. I was so disappointed when I sat down to watch it. The picture quality was very poor and I really wished that I had just purchased the much cheaper DVD.
Published 24 months ago by Paul


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The word on the street..., 15 Mar 2000
By 
Ben Elliss (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not to be confused with a 1956 film of the same name, 'The Naked Gun' is an 80-minute version of a 'Police Squad' episode, and it's just as funny as the original TV series. Leslie Nielsen, the ultimate straight-faced comic, returns as the bumbling Frank Drebbin in a movie where he exposes a plot to assassinate the Queen (yes, of England). The supporting cast is truly bizarre, featuring Weird Al Yankovic, Priscilla Presley and OJ Simpson (before all that murder-trial business). The list of good quotes is endless, but my favourite is an exchange between Drebbin and the city's mayor. Frank echoes Dirty Harry, saying, "When I see five weirdos stabbing a guy in broad daylight, I shoot the bastards. That's my policy." The Mayor responds: "That was a 'Shakespeare In The Park' production, you moron! You killed five actors!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor quality picture, 30 Oct 2012
If you're thinking of buying this over the basic dvd version, take my advice and save a few pounds by not doing so. I was so disappointed when I sat down to watch it. The picture quality was very poor and I really wished that I had just purchased the much cheaper DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars so many gags packed into the film, 4 July 2010
By 
This review is from: The Naked Gun [1988] [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
This film is honest, start to finish hilarity. Drebin (Nielssen) is such a marvellous character and it's a shame that Police Squad get's over-looked because of this film.
I never stopped laughing and I've quoted it since I first saw it all those years back.
"Like a midget at a urinal, I was gunna have to stay on my toes."
This film is just hilarious. It's so ridiculously silly, but at the same time ideal for both child and adult audiences. There isnt a single minute in this film that doesnt contain a joke, and it will have your sides aching by the end there are so many gags packed into the film, you have to watch the film more than once to see and laugh at all of them because plenty is going on in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naked Gun, 10 April 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Naked Gun [1988] [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
When all's said and done, this film boils down to one simple fact; if you hate the humour presented by the Zucker brothers and Abrahams then you're simply going to hate this film. If you love the humour then certainly you're going to love the film, but you're probably also going to appreciate the significance of the film in the history of cinematic comedies.
This is more than a film of one-liners and slapstick gags (although lets face it, it is jam packed full of rip tickling jokes) there is also some of the sharpest observational humour around and even then there is room for some memorable spoofing swipes at other films.
There's no real reason to discuss the plot, that is simply a vehicle to hang all the funny situations and brilliant pranks onto, and similarly you can't really criticise any of the cast for their performances as it's really a time to forget acting skills and just give a hammed up pantomime performance.
Leslie Neilson is brilliant in this type of film and although it basically prevented him ever widening his acting horizons (did he actually ever try?) his is the master of his craft in this one. Well supported by a rare old mix of actors including the lovely Priscilla Presley, George Kennedy, Ricardo Montalban and even wooden old O.J. Simpson is acceptable in this.
One final point, whilst some films from the 80's have aged horribly badly over the years, this one comes out very well indeed. The fact is, it should actually age very badly indeed (just take the first scene where the world's "tyrants" are gathered round the table) but instead, it this respect, it comes over as a lovely whimsical look back on old times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars outrageously silly gags, 13 May 2012
This review is from: The Naked Gun [1988] [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Clever, broadly funny comic spoof. The story begins as a Los Angeles police officer is nearly killed while investigating malfeasance on the local docks. He survives, and leaves clues for best friend Lieutenant Frank Drebin, a brainless fellow officer determined to try and apprehend the culprit. Drebin's investigation leads him onto the trail of Vincent Ludwig (Montalban), a well-respected businessman who may be involved in a plot to assassinate the Queen of England. Intentionally silly, often hilarious comedy has a few lulls as it nears the finale, but up until then it's an amusing barrage of ingenious gags, funny lines, and a steadily playful feel throughout. Nielsen is perfectly cast as the bumbling, obtuse officer, aided by a script that's both smart and consistently funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ótimo, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
um dos meus filmes preferidos. o assisto umas 4 vezes ao ano. roteiro e piadas originais vale muito a pena na coleção.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exelence, 11 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Naked Gun [1988] [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
A fantasticaly funny film .Well worth buying. A must for comedy fans. Will crack u up guaranteed laughter all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE IT, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naked Gun [1988] [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
it as come to day in the post and it is a good DVD AND IT IS A GOOD FIRM FROM THE TV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naked Gun [1988] [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Whats more to say this film is hilarious if you are a comedy fan or a lover of the late great Leslie Nielsen buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Naked - on video, 20 May 2012
By 
SilentSinger (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Naked Gun [1988] [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Although not quite as funny as the sublime prequel 'Police Squad', decades later this film is still hugely funny. Packed full of gags delivered deadpan by the incomparable late Leslie Neilsen this movie doesn't disappoint. My favourites are the scenes in the lab and some of the asides - 'Our Lady of the Pointless Miracle'. I suppose it depends whether you like this kind of humour, but I do. The supporting cast are good too, Priscilla Presley makes a great femme fatale and the slightly infamous OJ Simpson as the unlucky Nordberg are worthy additions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Naked Gun [1988] [DVD] [1989]
The Naked Gun [1988] [DVD] [1989] by David Zucker (DVD - 2001)
£2.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews