Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars44
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2009
I like action movies but this one didn't do it for me!... The original is far better (70s style which gives it its charm) but remakes rarely surpass their predecessors... Yes, I know that Shaft is supposed to be nonchalant, smooth and always get his way but after a while it just got annoying. It wasn't a poor performance but I have seen Jackson in much better roles (i.e.: Pulpfiction or Jackie Brown or even 51st state). I like Jeffrey Wright and Christian Bale as well although it isn't 1 of their best roles either.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2009
Wow... fans of Samuel L Jackson... master of the long single shot.... will agree with me that frankly he could be painting planks and you'd still find his presence captivating. This film moves fast and is visually very interesting. The plot is a bit weak but Jackson carries the lead role off in a way that almost brings a tear to Richard Roundtree's (the original Shaft)eye! Roundtree's cameo as Shaft's twinkly - eyed uncle is adorably cute!The score is wicked with the original Isaac Hayes theme as hot today as it was when first released. Is this version as good as the original? Well it's different, contemporary and still edgy with slightly less cheese than the original. It makes me nostalgic enough to want to wear a gold lycra catsuit!!!
Why not buy both...Right on!
Heidi
x
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2002
This movie really impressed me when I saw how cool Shaft was. The remake of the 1970s classic is excellent. The perfect actor (Samuel) gives an amazing performance. He’s cool, smooth and knows how to get his way.
If you watch this, it’s exciting to watch his character get justice even without justice backing him officially. What happens in the beginning is murder of a black man. Shaft investigates and quits his job to get justice to find out who did it. The film brings us to the gang neighbourhoods as well as the corrupted police force.
All in all, a really cool film with and excellent performance by Samuel L Jackson.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
**THIS MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS**

Who delivers ten times out of ten? Samuel L. Jackson is Shaft, the man and the movie. John Singleton (Boys 'N' the Hood) directs this gritty action-packed thriller.

With uncle John Shaft (Richard Roundtree reprising his role) as mentor, it's no surprise that today's Shaft is the coolest dude and the hottest action around. To stop a racist killer (Christian Bale) Shaft's got to track down the only eyewitness that can put him behind bars (Toni Collette). As Shaft closes in, so does the danger. Armed with attitude and up against corrupt cops and venomous druglords, he's out to make crime pay up.

(Note: this is a second-generation film rather than a remake of the original).

Like with the original Shaft film, I received this one as a birthday present. I saw this film before then and thought it was very good at the time, and it was just as good when I watched it on DVD. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
These days the awards ceremonies and the associated media blitz have really got to our psyche, resulting in a serious shortage of B-movies made watchable by cool heroes, villains and gunshots. This film goes some way in addressing that malady, with Christian Bale acting suitably villanious, lots of associated heroes & villains doing their job (befitting the tone & tenor of the film) handsomly, and above all, Samuel L Jackson simply dominating each & every scene where he is allowed to be visible. Solid stuff. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2001
I have yet to see any of the original Shaft movies but after watching this Shaft 2000, I definitely plan to.
I wouldn't call this film bad by any means, but then again, I wouldn't call it great either.
Samuel L. Jackson, the embodiment of cool, is quite rightly cast as John Shaft, albeit, the original John Shaft's nephew, and he struts his stuff on screen as only he can.
John Singleton (Boyz 'N The Hood) directs with adequate pace, and the shootout scenes have a quiet originality to them - i dunno what it is but i like em!
The rest of the cast, Vanessa Williams, Christian Bale, Toni Colette, Dan Hedaya, Jeffrey Wright etc etc, all support perfectly, especialy Wright, who's character, Peoples Hernandez, is a cross between Tony Montana and Speedy Gonzalez.
The film moves along at a nice pace, with good use of action, car chases, fist fights, and generally Jackson kicking butt.
However I feel the plot of the film is very weak and quite unoriginal. You are never really drawn into the plot as the characters are never really broken in, so it's difficult to really feel anything for them. The dirty cops have no real motive (or none that is clearly explained in the outset) for turning against Shaft, and so we're left wondering why they would even consider it.
All in all tho, a very watchable film with a revamped theme song from Issac Hayes, and when all said and done, the film is watchable if only for Jackson's brilliant coolness, which the man must have been born with, unless you can buy it somewhere.
One more thing- WHY NO COMMENTARY ON THE DVD????? I was NOT pleased about that!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2002
Blimey. This film drips coolness from start to finish. you never really take it seriously, but frankly, who cares when a film entertains this much? It is one of a very select bunch of films that the gloss added actually improves the film. There are plenty of intriguing characters, and the music and action are both very slick.
A 'boys film' and no mistake.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
The remake of Shaft starring Samuel L. Jackson, is very similar to the original Shaft movie, made in 1972. The script is more up-to-date and it's a lot more action packed than I expected but who's to say I'm complaining - it's great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2001
SHAFT IS BACK!! I SEEN THIS FILM AT THE CINEMA AND WHEN YOU HAVE SEEN IT YOU WILL AGREE THAT SHAFT IS THE MAN! THEY COUDN'T OF PICKED ANY ONE BETTER TO PLAY SHAFT. SAM JACKSON ADDS HIS OWN BLEND OF SLICK STYLE TO A CLASSIC CHARACTER!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2001
Shaft is the fast-paced, hard hitting, and often hilarious action thriller that delivers explosive entrtainment from start to finish. Film favorite Samuel L Jackson stars as the wisecracking policeman 'Shaft', whose unorthadox but winning ways of law enforcement make him a formidable force in his police department. Fighting crime, this is a kick-ass action which certainly lives up to the famous trilogy of Shaft films in the 1980's. Shaft has been reborn, and is once again everybody's idol.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)