Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can you dig it???
Wow... fans of Samuel L Jackson... master of the long single shot.... will agree with me that frankly he could be painting planks and you'd still find his presence captivating. This film moves fast and is visually very interesting. The plot is a bit weak but Jackson carries the lead role off in a way that almost brings a tear to Richard Roundtree's (the original...
Published on 22 April 2009 by Bang tidy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stick to the original!
I like action movies but this one didn't do it for me!... The original is far better (70s style which gives it its charm) but remakes rarely surpass their predecessors... Yes, I know that Shaft is supposed to be nonchalant, smooth and always get his way but after a while it just got annoying. It wasn't a poor performance but I have seen Jackson in much better roles...
Published on 5 Aug 2009 by P. Duffort


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stick to the original!, 5 Aug 2009
By 
P. Duffort - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shaft [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I like action movies but this one didn't do it for me!... The original is far better (70s style which gives it its charm) but remakes rarely surpass their predecessors... Yes, I know that Shaft is supposed to be nonchalant, smooth and always get his way but after a while it just got annoying. It wasn't a poor performance but I have seen Jackson in much better roles (i.e.: Pulpfiction or Jackie Brown or even 51st state). I like Jeffrey Wright and Christian Bale as well although it isn't 1 of their best roles either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can you dig it???, 22 April 2009
This review is from: Shaft [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Wow... fans of Samuel L Jackson... master of the long single shot.... will agree with me that frankly he could be painting planks and you'd still find his presence captivating. This film moves fast and is visually very interesting. The plot is a bit weak but Jackson carries the lead role off in a way that almost brings a tear to Richard Roundtree's (the original Shaft)eye! Roundtree's cameo as Shaft's twinkly - eyed uncle is adorably cute!The score is wicked with the original Isaac Hayes theme as hot today as it was when first released. Is this version as good as the original? Well it's different, contemporary and still edgy with slightly less cheese than the original. It makes me nostalgic enough to want to wear a gold lycra catsuit!!!
Why not buy both...Right on!
Heidi
x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don’t give Samuel L Jackson a bad day, 22 Aug 2002
This review is from: Shaft [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This movie really impressed me when I saw how cool Shaft was. The remake of the 1970s classic is excellent. The perfect actor (Samuel) gives an amazing performance. He’s cool, smooth and knows how to get his way.
If you watch this, it’s exciting to watch his character get justice even without justice backing him officially. What happens in the beginning is murder of a black man. Shaft investigates and quits his job to get justice to find out who did it. The film brings us to the gang neighbourhoods as well as the corrupted police force.
All in all, a really cool film with and excellent performance by Samuel L Jackson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't even remember I've watched it!, 24 May 2010
By 
I. M. Dias (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaft [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Very forgettable. Or maybe I just didn't watch it? According to Amazon, I did buy it. So there you go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore all bad reviews of this film: they got horribly wrong, 5 Mar 2002
By 
Mr. N. A. Perry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shaft [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
Blimey. This film drips coolness from start to finish. you never really take it seriously, but frankly, who cares when a film entertains this much? It is one of a very select bunch of films that the gloss added actually improves the film. There are plenty of intriguing characters, and the music and action are both very slick.
A 'boys film' and no mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars husband, 17 Mar 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaft [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
my husband had this on video but it went missing so we already know this was a good film x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shaft, 14 Feb 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaft [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I saw this movie a long time ago and became a Samuel J Jackson fan and just had to add this one to my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Jan 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaft [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Theres not a lot than can be said about this film, its excellent and thoroughly enjoyable if you like this type
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent second-generation film, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Tennant "Metalhead" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shaft [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
**THIS MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS**

Who delivers ten times out of ten? Samuel L. Jackson is Shaft, the man and the movie. John Singleton (Boys 'N' the Hood) directs this gritty action-packed thriller.

With uncle John Shaft (Richard Roundtree reprising his role) as mentor, it's no surprise that today's Shaft is the coolest dude and the hottest action around. To stop a racist killer (Christian Bale) Shaft's got to track down the only eyewitness that can put him behind bars (Toni Collette). As Shaft closes in, so does the danger. Armed with attitude and up against corrupt cops and venomous druglords, he's out to make crime pay up.

(Note: this is a second-generation film rather than a remake of the original).

Like with the original Shaft film, I received this one as a birthday present. I saw this film before then and thought it was very good at the time, and it was just as good when I watched it on DVD. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Shaft, 19 April 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaft [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I watched the original in the 70's and thought i would give this a try. This was quite a good re-make and made me quite nostalgic although i still preferred the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9ee58cfc)

This product

Shaft [DVD] [2000]
Shaft [DVD] [2000] by John Singleton (DVD - 2001)
2.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews