Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction
After their reformation in 2000, ex-New Model Army guitarist Ricky Warwick's band, The Almighty have just released this budget collection that charts their early career (1989-93), plus two covers. The song writing's uninspired, with many tracks relying on tried and tested repetition of the title, but the snarling punk attitude and hard rock reminiscent of Therapy? with...
Published on 15 May 2002 by Ben Saunders

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten metal
With Ricky Warwick taking the lead with the rejigged Thin Lizzy,I wanted to hear his back catelogue. Its ordinary rock,basic and repetative and the melodies are I didn't like him with Lizzy so this confirmed my view. Lizzy are now Black Star Riders....good look with the new material chaps.
Published 23 months ago by concerned shopper 1


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction, 15 May 2002
By 
Ben Saunders (Stirling, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild And Wonderful (Audio CD)
After their reformation in 2000, ex-New Model Army guitarist Ricky Warwick's band, The Almighty have just released this budget collection that charts their early career (1989-93), plus two covers. The song writing's uninspired, with many tracks relying on tried and tested repetition of the title, but the snarling punk attitude and hard rock reminiscent of Therapy? with touches of Motorhead and Bon Jovi(!) still has plenty of appeal, despite (or because) it's so far from the current rock trends. A great introduction to the band. If that's what you want, this is definitely for you (at this price); but otherwise not essential, though still not bad given it's cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A top quality slice of British rock history, 5 Aug 2002
This review is from: Wild And Wonderful (Audio CD)
This is a truly great comilation title, it features tracks from The Almighty's earlier work (upto '93). It features all of the tracks you want to hear without fail on any Almighty listening session. My only real complaint track wise is that they didnt find the room to include "Jesus loves you" which is a shame as I feel it is a standout track from Powertrippin'.
Some of the early tracks on the album can sound a little flat compared to their album recordings but this in no way puts you off. Hell to Pay has been very well rerecorded with the inclussion of harmonica and being a lot more chilled than the original.
If you are an Almighty fan then you need this album, if you are new to the band this is a great place to start ... just remember not all of these are the orginal album versions so you should also go and buy the full albums.
My hope now is that they will release a similar collection of the more recent material as when they decided to go back to their punk rock roots the almighty still rock, just in a different way. So come on Ricky how about it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation of their early career., 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild And Wonderful (Audio CD)
There should be a part 2 which covers the albums from 'Crank' to 'Psycho Narco', so hopefully that will come one day. This showcases their earlier material. Unfortunately the debut 'Blood, Fire & Love' (in my opinion) was poorly produced and didn't convey their live sound which is what made them the awesome band that they were and you can hear a massive difference between tracks such as 'Detroit' and 'Power' to those off the Soul Destruction album, like 'Free n Easy' and 'Devil's Toy'.

The inclusion of a Metal version of 'Blood, Fire & Love', an acoustic of 'Hell To Pay' (better than the album version and complete with some excellent harmonica) plus covers of the Pistol's 'Bodies', Neil Young's 'Keep On Rockin' in the Free World' and a live version of BTO's 'You Ain't Seen Nothing Yet' from the live EP that followed their debut album all add something a bit different to this collection.

The Almighty did one or two decent ballads, but I would have dropped 'Little Lost Sometimes' for the rip-roaring beat-driven 'Crucify'.

There are some tracks off the 'Powertrippin' album which should have made it onto this Greatest Hits, notably 'Over The Edge' and 'Jesus Loves You ... But I Don't', but of course there's only so much space you have on a single CD.

By all means get this to save yourself creating your own compilation for the car, but perhaps do yourself a favour and just go buy the entire back catalog. Each one has a different style and sound, but all are worthy of your music collection and a decent reminder of the British rock scene of the late 80's to the mid 90's before grunge killed it all.

Ricky Warwick has plenty of solo material available too and is currently playing and recording with Thin Lizzy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 23 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. Paul F. Gayton "Paul Gee" (Beeston, Notts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild And Wonderful (Audio CD)
This is a great album - only two points - the songs are not the originals but re-recordings with some small differences I did not appreciate this from what I read online before I bought it but it does not detract from the album. Also it does not contain Crucify which is one of the best Almighty tracks in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic rock., 25 Oct 2011
By 
J. Adair - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild And Wonderful (Audio CD)
Brilliant collection of The Almighty's heyday from 1989 to 1993 with a couple from 1995 thrown in for good measure. Full of melody, catchy chorus' and great riffs, this is a collection of well written, powerful rock. Still sounds great... give me love, give me power and give me FREEDOM!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten metal, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild And Wonderful (Audio CD)
With Ricky Warwick taking the lead with the rejigged Thin Lizzy,I wanted to hear his back catelogue. Its ordinary rock,basic and repetative and the melodies are I didn't like him with Lizzy so this confirmed my view. Lizzy are now Black Star Riders....good look with the new material chaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild And Wonderful
Wild And Wonderful by Almighty (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews