Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of a pretty good bunch
Fila Brazilia have set a very high standard for the artists who follow them in this great series.
Every track is a winner, and the eclecticism on display is a thing to be praised. Truly inspired, it's the kind of mix we'd all love to make for our mates.
Quite a few tunes I'd never heard of of but it still did the trick.
Also, this is one of the few...
Published on 16 April 2002

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good chillout tunes but very ecclectic.
This album, although very chilled in some place fails to maintain the mood consistently. Just when your about to drift off to sleep near the end of the album, Kelis arrives and disturbs you with a song which seems strangely out of place. However the few tracks before her attack on your chilled outness are supperb and really mellow and slightly funky. Overall the the album...
Published on 30 Jun 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of a pretty good bunch, 16 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Another Late Night - Fila Brazillia (Audio CD)
Fila Brazilia have set a very high standard for the artists who follow them in this great series.
Every track is a winner, and the eclecticism on display is a thing to be praised. Truly inspired, it's the kind of mix we'd all love to make for our mates.
Quite a few tunes I'd never heard of of but it still did the trick.
Also, this is one of the few compilations, or CDs of ANY sort for that matter, which I will always play start to finish...
1. The Persuaders Theme - John Barry
This man helped create the spooky sound behind the success of Portishead & Goldfrapp. There's a great CD called 'Themeology' if you want more John Barry: shows he was about more than just the Bond Theme.
2. Firefly - Homelife
Sounds like much of David Holmes' soundtrack work. A Good Thing, I think, and would fit perfectly onto 'Let's Get Killed'. Simmering.
3. Hero Theme - Infesticons
Great bit of Big Dada (Ninja Tune) rap to bob your head to. Good rhyming skills from a British(?) rapper. Funny too! I'm trying to find an album by these guys but have only seen this as a single.
4. Bucket Bottom - Prince Alla
Something for everyone! Crusty dub-reggae tune that brings back happy memories for me. Sunday mornings. Sunny days. Being taught how to skank by my big sister...
5. Get a Move On - Mr.Scruff
More Ninja Tune. I'd heard a lot *about* Mr Scruff but never actually heard his music. This converted me. Wicked jazz riff that picks up a solid backbeat to get those feet moving. Great vocal break too! Ski-den-daddy!!
6. T Plays it Cool - Marvin Gaye
Ahh .. sublime. One of Marvin's criminally overlooked better moments. Get the 'Trouble Man' soundtrack itself for more of this great stuff. This is up there with 'Let's Get It On', 'I Want You'.
7. Regiment - Brian Eno (& David Byrne)
The man behind the music, Eno's name pops up with alarming regularity in my collection: Talking Heads, U2, Roxy Music etc. This is taken from the fantastic 'My Life In The Bush of Ghosts' CD. Eno created these tracks with ex-Heads frontman, David Byrne. Some tracks feature samples lifted from US radio including a live exorcision. Has to be heard to be believed!
8. It's Not Too Beautiful - The Beta Band
Superb! If you haven't heard of the Betas before now, look up the '3 EPs' CD on Amazon coz they're giving it away (not literally). This is from the first album though. This track is worth the price of admission alone.
9. Rodney Yates - David Holmes
A-ha! Mr Holmes. From one of those unexpected gem CDs, 'Let's Get Killed'. I think this is still the best thing he's done, though 'Ocean's 11' & 'Out of Sight' OSTs were good too.
10. Nature Boy - Fila Brazillia
Two rules of doing cover versions:
1] Pick a great song to cover. The more obscure the better.
2] Make it your own. What's the point in doing a note-for-note remake?
Although the original isn't so obscure, this cover scores on both of the above points (compare this to George Benson's version!). Superb. Go out and buy some Fila Brazilia CDs immediately.
11. Nuclear Symphony - Unforscene
One of those groups I'd never heard of before this. Very chilled beats. There's a small bassline that reminds me of 'Umi Says' by Mos Def. Impressive.
12. Les Nuits - Nightmares on Wax
Another huge name who I'd never heard anything from. I can only describe this as DJ Shadow-ish, and thjat's VERY high praise in my book. One of the artists I''ve yet to follow up on but he's on my list!
13. Blue Skies - Outside
Dark, laid-back soul. Or is it?
Probably the weakest track on the CD but someone had to get the short straw...
14. Suspended - Kelis
I'd only known her for having very frizzy hair and that great debut single, 'Out There (I Hate You So Much Right Now!)'. This track has made me reevaluate her talents. If like 'Fallin' by Alicia Keys this'll probably appeal to you. Very good.
15. Prelude & Fugue in C minor - The Swingle Sisters
A lovely little (1min 47sec) coda written by Bach. Maybe it was thrown in as a complete novelty, but so what? It still works!
This is one of those rare compilations that have made me want to go and hear more by the artists featured rather than settle for this (very tidy) mix.
I have given this as a present on a couple of occasions and been thanked for the good choice.
CAn't recommend this highly enough!
Cheers :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet more Fila Brazillia goodness, 9 Jan 2002
This review is from: Another Late Night - Fila Brazillia (Audio CD)
If you already know and love Fila Brazillia then it probably won't come as much surprise that this album is everything you could hope for. Many other reviewers have complained that the Another Late Night albums aren't "mixed", instead they simply crossfade from one track to another; rather a petty issue when the music being served up is of this quality.
FB have chosen some tracks which instantly feel perfectly mellow (David Holmes' "Rodney Yates") immediately alongside The Beta Band's ethereal "It's Not Too Beautiful", with it's strains of the overture from Disney's The Black Hole. The selection seems intent on being different, shoving two fingers up to the stagnant commercial remix album industry, as much as providing a backdrop to your late night pursuits, whatever they may be.
Overall the album feels somewhere halfway between CD2 of Brazillification and the more mellow strains of Kruder and Dorfmeister. If that sounds like your cup of tea then I think you know what to do...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brazilliant!, 5 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Another Late Night - Fila Brazillia (Audio CD)
I bought this on a whim after reading the reviews and recognising some of the tracks on the listing.
Fila Brazillia have put together a superlative collection of late night audio candy. From the onset of John Barry's haunting Persuaders Theme you know you are in for a rare treat of musical excellence. The prestigious Rodney Yates by David Holmes and the Fila Brazillia version of Nature Boy are pure class. Even the endemic Les Nuits finds itself being delivered with a touch of class and sophistication a long way off from the usual delivery found on other chill out albums.
It is so refreshing to hear a different perspective on the compilation album theme and Fila Brazillia have delivered a masterpiece.
It has also prompted me to search out other stuff by the Brazillia crew; if this is a sample of their musical influences then there must be some pretty good stuff in their repetoire.
Top marks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Setting the standard, 4 Mar 2004
This review is from: Another Late Night - Fila Brazillia (Audio CD)
Fila Brazillia are one of the finest purveyors of downtempo music in the UK. Keeping a fairly low key approach to advertising they let their music do the talking. The result is a massive back catalogue of albums which always prove funky and cool.
So it was with great interest that I bought this CD to see what the boys play at home and whether it would give an insight into their music. This CD demonstrates their musical roots with some real crackers from beginning to end.
The CD covers a massive variety of styles ranging from the cool John Barry theme to Nightmares on Wax to their own interpretation of Nature Boy. The CD doesnt necessarily come under the chill out umbrella but it has provided me with a great listening experience whilst chilling at home.
This CD really sets the standard for the rest of the series and is thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahhhhhh. A nice mix for the nightime, 13 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Another Late Night - Fila Brazillia (Audio CD)
As soon as you hear the name Fila brazillia you are guanteed blissful chillout tunes for you and your mates to listen to at the end of the nights clubbing. The CD starts of with John Barry and the theme tune to the Persuaders and it is from here that you know it is going to be a brilliant album. From then on Fila move through some nice slice of hip hop and regae and then comes to the excellant MR SCRUFF and 'Get a Move On' & of course the master of soul music Marvin Gaye with one of his less well known instrumentals. Fila then put on one of their own tracks at number 10 and then blissfully mixes into Unforscene and Nightmares on Wax with the use of orchestral strings. The final couple of tracks are both trully great songs especially Blue Skies, which more people should knw about and Kelis with her R & B track Suspended which makes you want to walz around the room with who ever or what ever is in their. If you want an album that is trully chillout then dont go for the commercial crap of Ministry of Sound and go for the excellence of chillout beats that is Fila Brazillia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd best in the series, 7 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: Another Late Night - Fila Brazillia (Audio CD)
My second favourite in the entire Another Late Night series. Usually my love for Fila would shoot them to the top above all else if it wasn't for Zero 7s amazingly slinky and diverse mix (and its a shame their albums don't sound as good at that compilation!). Fila aren't quite so slinky on the blend as Zero 7 but this demostration of influences that go together to make Fila sound like they do makes this CD into a top flight compilation.
What a way to open, the Theme From The Persuaders, an instant hit with my ears provoking memories of forgotten TV sessions when I was a kid. Reggae and hip hop flavours get added to the mix before you hit on the now legendary Get A Move On by Mr Scruff. A piece of genius, deep funky house meets old blues in a way that will never be bettered. A nice dose of funk from Marvin Gaye is introduced to the mix which melts nicely into some wibbly Brian Eno psychedelica. Stalwart of the leftfield scene David Holmes has a track present and the Bond-esque mash up of The Beta Band reminds that they're a band I should really be checking out. As with the entire series, Fila provide their own exclusive track, Nature Boy, to the mix ... those of you who are collectors could do well to search out the 7" releases that came with this series. Each 7" holds part of a spoken word story on the B-side, they were limited to 1000 to each artist ... I was lucky enough to get three of the boogers!
Its definitely the best Fila mix thats out there at the moment, its better than the Another Fine Mess mix they did and I don't really count the Brazilification 'summaries' as DJ mixes. An eclectic and varied mix that avoids the potholes of throwing together so many genres. Not quite as oustanding as the Zero 7 mix but definitely a more than worthy mix!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top mixing easy, 11 Jun 2013
By 
J. Boyd (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Late Night - Fila Brazillia (Audio CD)
Top relaxing CDs with a great amount of influences, some I know and some new , top prices as retail still at 15, CDs as good as new treat yo self x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Class, 26 May 2007
By 
A. McMahon (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Another Late Night - Fila Brazillia (Audio CD)
Highly original compilation with a very interesting mix of old and new tracks, the highlight is the sublime mix of Marvin Gaye and Brian Eno, fantastic stuff. This should be required listening for all mixers on how to do it well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hull's and Pork Records finest come up trumps, 25 Feb 2001
This review is from: Another Late Night - Fila Brazillia (Audio CD)
There are so many compilations out there in chill out land at the moment , but from the pioneers of all things beat , this is the best selection I have heard from a long time, If you like this you will need to search out all the albums by Fila Brazillia , Buy this and you will be a leader and not a music follower .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant new laid-back comp from the kings of cool..., 12 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Another Late Night - Fila Brazillia (Audio CD)
Been hooked on Fila Brazillia since Maim That Tune on Pork - an album which was an instant classic, and still garners an disproportionate share on my stereo, after what must be five years now.
Here is Fila Brazillia's Rosetta Stone. In the liner notes they tell how these incredibly diverse choons have influenced them so much over the years. And even if they weren't on hand to tell the story - or even better, if you had no idea this compilation was by them - you'd still be able to figure it all out. The revelation of Marvin Gaye's instrumental track "T Plays It Cool", for instance, is mind-blowing. I immediately went and searched out the soundtrack to the move ie, Trouble Man, as a result. (The percussion from this track is all over "Maim That Tune".) Just waiting for my copy of Mr. Scruff to turn up now.
From Eno to Barry, the Beta Band to Nightmares on Wax, it's all here. It is indeed going to be another late one.. Well done guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa30c40cc)

This product

Another Late Night - Fila Brazillia
Another Late Night - Fila Brazillia by Fila Brazillia (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews