Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen without prejudice
Don't be intimidated by the reviews commenting that "this might not actually be chillout rather than...". Chillout is not just the Cafe del Mar complilations and this album is definitely not just a bunch of tunes that were selected primarily for the reason that they were previously unknown to the most of us, but a beatifully arranged 2CD set of mellow tracks...
Published on 9 July 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good but not amazing
I would say that this album is good to listen to as background music and definately achieves its aim but does not contain many well known tunes. Also, the track by William Orbit which is featured on the advert is cut short on the Cd and I feel this is a bit naughty. Good but, for a better buy try the Euphoria Chillout album.
Published on 20 April 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen without prejudice, 9 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Chillout Session (Audio CD)
Don't be intimidated by the reviews commenting that "this might not actually be chillout rather than...". Chillout is not just the Cafe del Mar complilations and this album is definitely not just a bunch of tunes that were selected primarily for the reason that they were previously unknown to the most of us, but a beatifully arranged 2CD set of mellow tracks that will easily put you in a relaxed state. This might not be the epitomy of chillout (try Groove Armada,Back To Mine and Bonobo,Animal Magic for that) but I only wish it's sequel was as good. So if you 're considering buying it, go ahead. Oh and push the skip button on "Demons". It ruins the whole effect :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Stuff!!, 15 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Chillout Session (Audio CD)
This is really a top quality CD. It is well mixed and has tracks you could just lie back and die for. Outstanding tracks for me are 'No Ordinary Morning', '6 Underground' and 'Sexual'. The first CD is laid back and has been played many times at for background music at my house! Do yourself a favour and buy this CD and a set of quality headphones and lose yourself!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a great CD to play in the car on a long journey, 18 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Chillout Session (Audio CD)
I really liked this CD. It is not too chilled out that you feel like faling asleep but rather it's nice and mellow and perfect for chilling. Also very good on a long journey in the car or as background music at a dinner party. I am a big fan of dance music, and the chill out mixes, and I feel that this CD is one that I would definitely put on my top 10 list! Super for relaxing on the beach also! Bring it with you on hols.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chilled!, 7 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Chillout Session (Audio CD)
If you like dance music, but also something a bit mellow, this is the CD for you. Packaged onto two CD's, I found the first disc to hold the best tracks. However, the second still didn't disappoint! Sit back, play and relax. I also found it excellent to listen to while walking home from work. Excellent unwinder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleased, 7 Oct 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chillout Session (Audio CD)
A nice album overall, though nothing 'amazing' really. Cd1 has a particularly mixed theme, with soothing songs such as Les Nuits, or the lovely No Ordinary Morning (wow). Cd2 has more of a beat, but the rhythms are still quite bliss.

Good album, though for me, the best chill out album money can buy is Chilled Euphoria...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mix - match of chilled and ambient tunes, from ministry?, 29 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Chillout Session (Audio CD)
when you first listen to the first cd, you will be suprised to hear the french horn of alternative chillout master Badly Drawn Boy, very un-ministy-esq, but it works, and it works very well. some real good selections but some more chilled than others, and too be honest some dont deserve to be on the same cd as some of the greats like Cafe del mar, and jakkata. Groove Armada and chicane are in there element , but i'm sorry but Macy will disturb you from your "state of chill" purely to skip forward a track....but a well worth the doe cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good but not amazing, 20 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Chillout Session (Audio CD)
I would say that this album is good to listen to as background music and definately achieves its aim but does not contain many well known tunes. Also, the track by William Orbit which is featured on the advert is cut short on the Cd and I feel this is a bit naughty. Good but, for a better buy try the Euphoria Chillout album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best chillout album i know., 15 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Chillout Session (Audio CD)
I think the some of the above reviewers must have some strange definition of the word chillout, if they don't think this music fits this category.
If you wanna chill you're not going to go wrong with this in the player. It has some great, interesting remixes. There's not a track on either CD that I don't like. Having been disappointed with the gutless music from the big chillout labels I've been turned away from buying these kinda albums, but I'm glad i made an exception for this one.
It may not be the run-of-the-mill music you can expect from your average chillout album, but it's a cut above the rest
Get it :) (and i don't work for the ministry!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Chilled, Musically eclectic., 8 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Chillout Session (Audio CD)
This CD is surely one of the best this year, so far. Even if you're not a great fan of "traditional" dance music, this'll calm you down better than any kind of man made intoxications available. The tracks are progressively more intensive as the album goes on, yet still subtly calming, and chilled out. The mellow chords of the modern day composers of classic dance tunes, is better than any form of radox. None of the tracks are in any way intrusive, and rightly so. If your going to buy any dance album this year, buy this. Infact, if your going to buy ANY album this year, also, buy this. I only wish my parents would listen to it too, and they could find the true meaning of music. (and not Bob Dylan.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply too well played to ignore., 23 Jun 2001
This review is from: The Chillout Session (Audio CD)
Anyone comparing this to other, more high octane dance compilations is missing the point. I bought this with the hope that it would at least match the excellent Euphorias 1 and 2 for quality (The rest are mediocre at best) but also do the whole 'chilled' thing as it was meant be done. Many have tried and failed, this is far removed from those that have tried before. Simply put, I play this a lot. If you like proper chilled stuff get this. If you're lucky enough to have discovered Groove Armada and loved it as I do then DEFINIELY get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chillout Session
The Chillout Session by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews