Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Upgrade
This game has come a long way since the days of Theme Park, I should know ive bought them all.....this game allows much more freedom in the way you move the camera and within the rides that you build...you can set the number of people allowed on the rides and you can even set the speed that the ride goes, but beware the higher the speed and the more passengers on the ride...
Published on 17 July 2002 by Darren

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm - nearly makes it, but not quite.
Theme Park World doesn't quite hit the mark. It's not the idea - based on the first and VERY sucessful "Theme Park". It's not the graphics, which are excellent. In a sentence, it's just too easy. It seems to fall between two stools being tough for kids and too easy for Adults.
There are some nice touches though, the best being the ability to ride your...
Published on 18 July 2000 by Groovycathers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Upgrade, 17 July 2002
By 
Darren (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This game has come a long way since the days of Theme Park, I should know ive bought them all.....this game allows much more freedom in the way you move the camera and within the rides that you build...you can set the number of people allowed on the rides and you can even set the speed that the ride goes, but beware the higher the speed and the more passengers on the ride then the more the ride will need to be fixed.
If youve played the first theme park and enjoyed it then Theme Park World is a worthy investment, especially at the price that you pay on Amazon.
The game will keep you interested for weeks on end as you try to unlock different parks and new rides....This is the sort of game that you can continue to play for months even if youve completed all the levels and unlocked all the rides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theme park world- the best world in the world!, 8 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Theme Park World (Video Game)
I must be the biggest fan of Theme Park world. I've played it on the playstation but using it on my macintosh is excellent as I can play while at university. I don't know where to start as there is so much that is good about this game. The levels well there massive and everyone is different my favourite is the halloween level because of the range of rides avalible.
Each level has funny music and shops with side shows you can play to gain gold tickets. Theres lots to concider I spend hours creating rides then more time re-creating them. Once you have enough golden tickets you gain a camcorder which enables you to walk around your park and really ride on your created rollercoasters!. My boyfriend loves this bit. I build the park then he spends ages just riding everything, bless him.
Making customers happy is the name of the game. They arrive on buses and walk in stopping to buy a ticket at the gate. You monitor sales figures and arrival rates through menus so you are totally in control-power trip!.
The more money you make the better the rides and the more staff you can hire, and they sure are a funny bunch!. The mechcanics have to be the best -if you don't keep them happy they spend all their time in the staff room- while your rides are blowing up all over.
Its great to play with friends as everyone can get a go at being manager adding features and changing food prices etc. Remember the more salt you add the more the customers drink its great!.
I spend to much time on this game but I recommend it to everyone- aspecially people who can't relax at home unless their doing something-like me because this game could keep you going for months, if not years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great game even today, but beware of the lack of an end goal., 26 April 2015
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
I got the big box CD Rom version of this game a long time ago after falling for the original theme park on the mega drive. The game installed great at the time on windows 98 and again installed with no problems on my windows vista machine, despite being such an old disc of the game, BUT...the intro movies on my vista machine don't really work anymore, the disc can be heard spinning in the drive but the movie is just choppy and doesn't work, it may be due to multiple processors but no matter what I've tried I can't fix the problem...But this doesn't affect the gameplay at all. Just a shame as everday a new video will play, until about 8 different videos have played out then they loop.

The game itself starts with the advisor introducing themselves and asking who you are. You put your name in and then are greeted with four different parks and one key. You only have access to the dino park or the Halloween park at first and have to earn keys to unlock the other parks. There is also an option to start a quick game where you start with a small pre-built park but for me this option is limiting and I'd stick to the normal mode.

The graphics are a vast improvement on the old theme park, with the ability to see your park from other sides and you can zoom in. Plus everything has been given a real 3D feel for the first time. The music for me is a nice improvement too. The advisor talks rather than making you read things and you really don't need the manual to understand how to play as the advisor keeps explaining such things to you which is a really great improvement on the original.

The game works very much the same, build rides, shops and amenities, hire staff and then watch your profits soar as the visitors come in. Just like the old game you can click on visitors to find out more, have to manage your staff and rides and for the first time can set a work zone for your staff, especially helpful to make sure cleaners really do stick to cleaning the areas you want.

The new BIG feature in this game for me is the ability to walk around your park and ride some of the fides as if you are a visitor. I love this new feature as it really gives you the chance to enjoy what you have spent hours creating. The game also gives new options for connecting online and sending pictures of your park to friends or apparently publishing the park online, although I've never tried the online features so can't comment and am really not sure if they still exist all these years later.

There are four main parks to enjoy, the Lost Kingdom (like a dinosaur theme), Halloween, Wonderland (like being a mini person in a garden) and Space. You can work up to these parks by earning keys. There are golden tickets to be earned too which can unlock extra special bonus rides.

The BAD:
I've told you all the good and now here is the bad: This game has no clear reason for playing, no definite end. In the original theme park the point of the game was to build a theme park empire around the world, in theme park inc there is a clear goal in the game, but for theme park world there is no goal. The goal is simply to build and observe until you get bored.

This game is still a lot of fun to play, but for me without a clear end goal, once you have unlocked everything in every world you really do feel like 'what was the point!' It's a great shame as this game is so good but just misses out on the crucial end.

If you are looking for a game with a clear end, but with the graphical and play quality of theme park world then I'd advise Theme Park Inc. But that's not to say that this game is still not fun, especially when you can fide the rides and wander around your park (Rollercoaster tycoon only lets you ride rides, not walk around). I'd still recommend this game to anyone. It's quite easy to play and kids will really love it, but as an adult I do still play :) A great game but just beware of the lack of an ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good if you have a fast new computer, 31 July 2001
I bought this after playing the original Theme Park-which was fun and challenging, but simple graphically. Theme Park World was a major improvement. The graphics were, I suppose better, but as the game was 3D, they couldn't help being a little blocky. Another problem was if you had a slow-average PC, the screen would move in frames, not smoothly-especially when the park was developed, and full of people. This became extremely frustrating. One of the big features of the game was that you could ride the park rides, and the roller coasters you designed. This was fantastic! The game wasn't too difficult and not one you could really hate. Give it a try, as it's quite cheap, but I think Roller Coaster Tycoon is much a better buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theme Park World- Great Game!!!, 17 Oct. 2001
By 
Adam Kentrop (Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Theme Park World Classic (Video Game)
Words cannot describe how I felt whilst playing this, after having to play the original for donkey's years, the graphics have had possibly one of the most major overhauls, the gameplay is much more realistic, with decisions that you make right from the beginning influencing the rest of the level, like building a roller coaster right at the beginning will attract loads of punters at first, but people will get bored of that ride after a while, so you'll start to lose customers. Also, there are much more variables to be played about with, like ticket price, frequency of how often the cleaners clean the toilets, and others besides them. The AI seems to be much smarter, because the punters actually act like children at the park! There's even a 1st person mode where you can go on your rides and play your sideshows, all to win Gold Tickets, which you can then use to open new parks! The only downside of it is that you don't get to keep the money that you accumulate over time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm - nearly makes it, but not quite., 18 July 2000
By 
This review is from: Theme Park World (Video Game)
Theme Park World doesn't quite hit the mark. It's not the idea - based on the first and VERY sucessful "Theme Park". It's not the graphics, which are excellent. In a sentence, it's just too easy. It seems to fall between two stools being tough for kids and too easy for Adults.
There are some nice touches though, the best being the ability to ride your own rides (virtually) first hand. Some of the rides are well coded with great graphics and a sense of humour on the part of the developers.
Its closest competitor is probably Rollercoaster Tycoon. In a head-to-head, Tycoon wins on having far better gameplay and 'returnability'.
However, TPW is not a total waste of time, but I'd think hard before buying it. Best suited to fans of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Theme Park game in the world, 24 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Theme Park World (Video Game)
Theme Park World is excellent value. This game is really fun and there are very few downsides to it. You have to build your own theme park in a choice of 4 different themed worlds: jungle, halloween, candyland and space.
It keeps you playing for hours. The graphics are really good too. You can walk around your theme park and test out all of the rides. You can also publish your theme parks on to the internet where you can also vote for other people's parks. And there are a lot of them! Definitely 5 star material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars theme park world, 4 Aug. 2000
By 
ashlieOwens (doncaster england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Theme Park World (Video Game)
At first glance theme park world looks exiting and original but after half an hour it gets quite dull.The aim of the game is to create and build your own theme park and compleate your targets set by a tutor.Throught the game certain problems arise vandals destroy the rides so you have to employe gaurds but if the conditions are not right they go on strike' or your rides will brake down.Certainly not as entertaining as the first one but packs a suprise and being able to ride the rides and play the mini games.Great for nights in when you have nothing to do.Try before you by
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic game, 5 Nov. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Theme Park World Classic (Video Game)
I played this game years ago when I was a kid. I have been looking for it everywhere and now I have it once more it is still as fun as I remember, I could waste hours and hours playing Theme park World It's combination of creative building and first person view of the parks, although with low graphics is still pretty entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Theme Park World, 30 Dec. 2000
By 
T. Milnthorpe "pipkiin3" (W-S-M) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Theme Park World (Video Game)
Well Cool. Loads better than the original. Deaspite the sprite people walking diagonally{or sliding along} its is graphically great. Just one major flaw-its a bit dull after you finished a park. What is there left to do that is fun when you have finished? It is amazing fun while it lasts. Lets hope the next one is even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Theme Park World Classic
Theme Park World Classic by Electronic Arts (PlayStation)
£39.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews