Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bruce
This, for me has to be the best Bruce Lee film there is. It contains every part of Bruce's dynamism that I don't think is visible in his other films.
Based on a true story, Bruce portrays the character Chen Jun, a past student of a school of martial arts at which his sifu (master) has just died. On returning, Bruce does not believe his sifu died of natural causes and...
Published on 27 Mar 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Donnie Yen's Chen Zen
there are a lot of similarities between Donnie Yen's protrait of Chen Zen and the one we all know from Bruce Lee. If you're looking for a performance a little different then I'd suggest watching Jet Li's Fist of Legend, which directly retells the events seen in Bruce Lee's Fist of Fury film.

This of course is also a retelling of Lee's Fist of Fury film, here...
Published 23 months ago by Philip Drake


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bruce, 27 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
This, for me has to be the best Bruce Lee film there is. It contains every part of Bruce's dynamism that I don't think is visible in his other films.
Based on a true story, Bruce portrays the character Chen Jun, a past student of a school of martial arts at which his sifu (master) has just died. On returning, Bruce does not believe his sifu died of natural causes and after a while discovers the truth, at which point he goes on a killing rampage. For every second that Bruce is on the screen he has an aura which surrounds him that I think gives you an insight into why he is a legend. His performance is unlike any other, not only in this film but in the era also.
Scenes to remember for me are;
Bruce seeking revenge in the Bushido school, returning the 'sick men' sign.
the scenes in which before and after he discovers the real reasons for his sifu's death
and the climactic battle with Petrov.
I've watched this film again and again and I'm always amazed at Bruce's on screen presence, even now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reexperience Bruce Lee's "Fist of Fury" in its entirety!, 12 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
After the release of "The Big Boss - Special Collector's Editíon", HKL follows up with Bruce Lee's second kung-fu epic, "Fist of Fury". As with "The Big Boss", this remarkable edition is completely uncut with a boosted picture and sound quality. For the first time ever, I had the chance to view the legendary nunchaku scenes that have been missing for so many years in the video releases of this film in Sweden. In their unabridged state, all the fighting scenes tend to radiate a never-before-seen freshness. The audio commentary to the film is truly enlightening and the option to select between English and Cantonese soundtrack is also a nice feature. At last, with HKL's "Fist of Fury", lovers of Bruce Lee and martial arts films finally have an opportunity to enjoy Lee's on-screen persona "to the full". Definitely worth each penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - a completely different film to the older VHS, 7 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
My other half and I were stunned by the difference in the story line of the complete version of this film to the 3 other VHS copies we have tried. The whole emphasis of the story changes, even your impression of the time line. I never realised that it contained a love story, broken up by the tragic murder of the Master and the need for revenge. Just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Lee at his most intense and manic !!!, 19 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film about 20 years ago when I was 11 years old. It was completely uncut and I became a Bruce Lee fanatic straight away. Since then I have seen it about 20 more times and have been grossly disappointed. The versions that could be obtained from UK video shops were always severely cut, with the nunchaka and throat-kicking scenes taken out. There is a huge difference between the newly released DVD version and the previously cut versions on video. In this film, Bruce Lee is manic. His master has been murdered and he will not stop until he seeks revenge on the killers. There are no light hearted moments in this film. Bruce Lee's character kills a lot of people in this film, in an extremely manic and intense manner. This is a highly charged movie, full of racial tension, tragedy and irony. It is, also, the best martial arts movie I have ever seen !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Little Dragon's most defining role is class!, 14 May 2002
By 
This review is from: Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
After the unexpected global success of 'The Big Boss', Bruce Lee followed it with the noticeably superior Lo Wei-directed 'Fist Of Fury'.
Chen Zhen (Lee), a student at the Jing-wu Mun School of martial arts, returns home to find that his master Fok Yun Gap (who was actually a real-life master - the photos you see in the movie on his shrine are those of the real guy) has died suddenly. The funeral and eulogy are broken up when members of Master Suzuki (Riki Hoshimoto)'s neighbouring Bushido School, together with their interpreter Mr Wu (Wei Ping-Ao, 'Way Of The Dragon', 'Ninja In The Dragon's Den'), who brings them a 'present' - a sign with the Chinese symbols for 'Sick Man Of Asia'. This greatly angers Chen, so, after having been forbidden to exact his ever-growing fury at the prejudice on Wu and the Japanese during the funeral, he later pays them a visit and single-handedly defeats all of the Japanese students with his incredible fighting skills.
After a revenge attack from the Japanese on the Jing-wu school and its students (which includes a guy played by a pre-cosmetic surgery Jackie Chan), Chen is asked to leave for the school's sake. He refuses, and stays the night, but soon has his peace disturbed when he finds out that something more sinister may have been responsible for the death of Sifu Fok Yun Gap...
This was not only considered to be Bruce Lee's most defining role as he defends his fellow Chinese against prejudice from the Japanese (his most famous scenes, which caused raucous cheer, are (a) the line where he says 'We Chinese are not sick', and (b) the bit involving the racially-discriminating 'No Dogs or Chinese Allowed' sign outside the park). He also shows some more realistic choreography that has less of the hokey moments present in 'The Big Boss' (although some still remain that Lee would have preferred weren't there, such as physically lifting a whole rickshaw with Wei Ping-Ao on it - even Lee wasn't that strong), and also introduced the weapon most famously linked to him, namely the previously-censored Nunchaku (although bits where he used them had to be sped up as he had only recently started using them at the time). He also had a Westerner (Robert Baker, a real-life student of Lee's) to contend with, where Lee really shows his stuff, particularly with the speed of his punches.
Note that even though Han Yin-Chieh is listed as the fight coordinator, Bruce Lee actually choreographed the fight scenes he was in (you can tell because of the different overall feel of those which did not feature him, which looked limp and unrealistic in comparison). Lee surrendered credit to Han out of respect for an elder.
Top marks for Hong Kong Legends for reintroducing the new generation of action fans to this classic, which (on DVD anyway) comes complete with the usual trailers, special features and an audio commentary with Hong Kong cinema expert Bey Logan, who adds some interesting and entertaining background to Lee and the movie itself, as well as pointing out key actors and actresses, including ones who would later make it big (look out for people such as Jackie Chan, Yuen Wah and a brief appearance from 'Mr Vampire' star Lam Ching-Ying). Also included is the usual Hong Kong Legends DVD choice of either the English dubbed version or the Cantonese (they redubbed it from the original Mandarin track it had on initial release in 1972) with remastered English subtitles (which I admit contain the occasional typo).
If you were a bit disappointed by the hokery in 'The Big Boss', don't let that put you off this one. Lee's first scrap doesn't take long to kick in (pun fully intended), and all his fights are far more impressive. In fact, fans cite this as containing the best fights of his tragically short career, as well as showing him and Nora Miao sharing what would be his only screen kiss.
This movie is a classic, and if you're a Lee fan (or any action fan) you'd be a fool to miss this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bruce Lee Magic is Back!, 9 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
It has been almost thirty years since Bruce Lee blazed across cinemas and
lit up screens with his charisma and persona. What a wait - finally, we have a DVD print that shows what Bruce and the producers intended the audience to see. This edition is stunning. The colours are vibrant, the digital audio remastering giving full rein to classic chop-socky effects, for me bringing back memories of that pivotal cinematic experience. Bruce looks far better than he ever did on VHS, and the restored nunchaku scenes show why they became his trademark weapon. A fantastic tribute to the man, and a chance to understand why, for his fans, Bruce will live on forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic 2nd Film From A Martial Arts Legend!, 6 Jun 2006
This review is from: Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
After the huge success of Bruce Lee's first major film, 'The Big Boss', his second picture 'Fists Of Fury, released just a year later in Hong Kong, and arguably his best film, for the gripping fight scenes and standing up to the racism against chinese people at the time, was to become even more of a hit.

Lee plays Chen Zhen, a student at the Jing wu Mun school of martial arts, who arrives back in Shanghai to find that the one person he cares most about in world, his sifu (teacher) has died. The funeral is interupted by some members of a Japanese Bushido school who bring a who bring a sign saying 'sick man of Asia', refering to the Chinese. This angers Chen who takes the sign back later on and challenges the whole school to a fight. A revenge attack from the Bushido school follows, and Chen agrees to leave. However when he when he finds out that the death of his sifu was not due to illness, he goes on a revenge mission, with bloody consequences.

There are a few memorable scenes in this film, firstly when Chen returns the 'sick man of Asia' sign to the bushido school, where he promtly obliterates the entire school single handedly. The second memorable scene, or scenes really, is when Chen finds out the people who ordered the death of his sifu, and exacts justice on them all, again single handedly. Also in this film, we see the introduction of Bruce's partner in crime, his trusty nunchakus, which he had not been using long when this was made, but now have become legends in themselves.

As said, Bruce Lee plays Chen Zhen the top student at the Jing Wu Mun school of martial arts, and we also see the turn of many familiar faces from 'The Big Boss' and who also appear in some of Bruce's other films, such San Chin as Tung, and Chung-Hsin Huang as Tien.

In terms of extras on the DVD there are a few, which include: two trailers: an original theatrical trailer and a UK promotional one, there are rare interviews with two of the people involved in the film, photo galleries, an animated biographical showcase of Bruce Lee, and also a feature length audio commentary by Bey Logan, who gives some interesting insights into the film, and also points out th likes of Jackie Chan, Yuen Wah, and Lam Ching-Ying who appear briefly in the film. So enough here to keep die-hard fans happy.

Also on DVD you can choose whether you want the film in Cantonese with English subtitles or view it dubbed in English, and as well dubbed as can be expected aswell. So if you can't stand reading subtitles throughout a whole film, then you can simply have it in English and so theres no excuse for not buying it.

Overll, Bruce Lee's second major film is a huge hit with me, and as said before, is arguably his best. As with any Bruce Lee film, you won't be dissappointed in terms of action or fight scenes and if your expecting that on-screen pressence which you always get when he is on, you won't be dissappointed there either. A great film from a movie and martial arts legend and most certainly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Donnie Yen's Chen Zen, 8 Oct 2012
By 
Philip Drake "solous" (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fist Of Fury [DVD] (DVD)
there are a lot of similarities between Donnie Yen's protrait of Chen Zen and the one we all know from Bruce Lee. If you're looking for a performance a little different then I'd suggest watching Jet Li's Fist of Legend, which directly retells the events seen in Bruce Lee's Fist of Fury film.

This of course is also a retelling of Lee's Fist of Fury film, here though the narrative is told through a short TV series. I'd recommend this for absolute Donnie Yen fans. Those who bought Kung Fu Master and Revenge of Kung Fu Master, also with Donnie Yen, shouldn't be disappointed. For those who occassional enjoy a martial arts film I'd advise caution. The acting is average, as is the production- this was after all made for TV. I do need to say as well that a lot of the fighting has been sped up. This kind of method in action making can been seen in Kung Fu Master as well, and stands as a means of conveying jet fuelled fighting. Lee's Fist of Fury had it's own note of exagerated action, such as Lee picking up an entire rickshaw and tossing around two Japanese fighters who were obviously dummies. Yen's Fist of Fury is entertaining for the ardent Hong King action fan who'll take a little of the silly with the story that's being told.

The flow pretty much lives up to the narrative of Lee's Fist of Fury with Chen Zen's master dying at the hands of evil invading Japanese. Chen Zen swears revenge and his path of fists explodes.

In all truth I think Donnie Yen's Fist of Fury: Sworn Vengeance was better. This was a prequel to the events of Fist of Fury and features 'Once Upon a Time in China 3's Clubfoot. Of course Sworn Vengeance was made after Fist of Fury, perhaps resulting in it's better action and general production, I thought.

For those who're absolute Chen Zen fans there's always Chen Zen: Legend of the Fist, the film staring Donnie Yen, this was recently made and with Yen's outstanding performances in 'Dragon Tiger Gate'; 'SPL' (Kill Zone); and 'Flash Point' you can expect similar high octane action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Magic - Bruce still is the star or five, 26 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
i was about 8 when i first saw this and it just gets better. Set in china in early 1900's sees the fight between chinese and japanese and the chinese are lucky the have bruce on their side coz he opens up a case of WHOOPASS on the japanese when two japanese pose and chinese, they firstly poison his teacher and bruce kills them and then all mayhem breaks loose when they are found hanging off lamposts, and thats just for starters, Not quite "enter the dragon" brilliance but can anything be as good as that? Give it a watch and i guarantee you won't be disappointed!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Lee: One Man Fighting Machine, 25 Feb 2001
This review is from: Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
This is the second of Bruce's films i've bought on DVD from the Hong Kong Legends label and it blew me away. Bruce's skills and on-screen charisma light up the film and make an otherwise by the numbers storyline seem masterful. Lee's martial art skills are unsurpassed and well highlighted, especially his deftness with nunchakus and other weaponry. The story itself sees Bruce's character gaining revenge on the Japaneses who killed his master, kicking and punching his way through some supurb action set pieces. The DVD features are also excellent in keeping with the HKL labels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD]
Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD] by Ming-Hoi Wu (DVD - 2001)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews