Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - what can I say
All my favourites in one pack - some songs I had previously heard only in films, and didn't know where to get them as audio tracks. Very enjoyable indeed. Even friends not into this sort of music take notice of the songs - simply great, and a very comprehensive compilation of music of the era, to give one a real feel of what lifestyles and musical taste were like back...
Published on 21 July 2002 by Nigelmm

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hits 30's & 40's
whilst some of the recordings on here are a little dated and scratchy - it provides a good anthology of Jazz and Swing. If you want to just have some of the primers of Jazz in your collection a good CD to have.
Published on 12 April 2010 by Paul K. Nicholson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - what can I say, 21 July 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Of The 30s & 40 (Audio CD)
All my favourites in one pack - some songs I had previously heard only in films, and didn't know where to get them as audio tracks. Very enjoyable indeed. Even friends not into this sort of music take notice of the songs - simply great, and a very comprehensive compilation of music of the era, to give one a real feel of what lifestyles and musical taste were like back then. Gives you an insight into what your grandmother listened to, and got up to! Good value for money too!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure nostalgia!, 28 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Of The 30s & 40 (Audio CD)
This is the epitome of easy listening, as it evokes a time when everything was so less complicated. Some would say it tends towards the cheesy, but...bring it on.The songs remind me so much of when I was small and the radio was always on, and everyone sang along. so different from sitting glued to the TV today. This is a brilliant collection at a remarkable price.Some of the titles I was unfamiliar with, but all in all, a most welcome and enjoyable addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good for djs that do old folks homes, 3 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Of The 30s & 40 (Audio CD)
got for my father he knows some of the 30s songs but the 40s means so much to his age group songs that ment something in the war years its what kept the nation upbeat during the war years good for sing alongs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what I call music, 30 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Hits Of The 30s & 40 (Audio CD)
Excellent product at an excellent price, it is nice to hear music how it should be played, call me old fashioned if you like but compared to todays pop music it is like chalk and cheese
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 10 May 2012
By 
J. R. Knight "Wilber" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Of The 30s & 40 (Audio CD)
This is a great complication. It brings back so many memories? I am so pleased that these complications are available . A great mix of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A present, 26 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Of The 30s & 40 (Audio CD)
We bought this along with the Number 1 Hits of the 1950s for my father-in-law who has Alzheimer's as we had read that music helps with memory and mood.
He absolutely loved it. Usually he has slept on and off during the day and just stared into space but when I played the cd for him he stayed wide awake and tapped his foot in time to the music, even remembering some of the words and titles. He actually started to smile again. We managed to keep the music going for hours. Lovely present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nostalgia is what it used to be, 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Of The 30s & 40 (Audio CD)
mellow harmonious tuneful sit back and relax to an excellent evocation of the period or if you know how a quickstep waltz or foxtrot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hits of the 30s and 40s, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Of The 30s & 40 (Audio CD)
Excellent boxed set capturing the era of a bygone age when the world ran at a much slower pace. Nice easy listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant nostalgia for Mother, 9 May 2012
By 
Mr. N. A. Hargood "NOEL HARGOOD" (Old Windsor England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Of The 30s & 40 (Audio CD)
A good compilation remastered but not affecting atmosphere, scratch hiss, as if playing a good 78, i.e. not compressed.

Mistake on listings for disc 4, there are 20 tracks, not 19, please insert at track 13 "Tampico" by Stan Kenton, all subsequent tracks renumbered 14 - 20
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Old Days, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Of The 30s & 40 (Audio CD)
I love these songs, straight from those classic black and white movies! I think it will be a great alternative to Christmas music too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hits Of The 30s & 40
Hits Of The 30s & 40 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews