Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars23
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2001
Woah. Amazing album alert! I'm a major fan of Hybrid and was eagerly awaiting this album. I'd heard that this was their best release so far...and I think it is, 100%. The CD is mixed and flows like a dream...from one classic track to another. Hybrid's version of FSOL's 'Papua New Guinea' almost actually sounds better than the original!
It's all there..the breaks, the scratching, sweeping strings and deep bass mingled with the odd familiar vocal from Andreas Johnson's 'Glorious'...one of the highlights of the CD I would say
If you don't buy this you're really missing out on a pure quality album.
It's an absolute gem...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2001
Filling in between Wide(r) Angle & the new album due out towards the end of the year Hybrid put out this compilation of remixes & re-workings of tracks which more than ably fills the gap. I bought this album about a month ago & I can't stop playing the damn thing.
The album sees a re-rub of the classic FSOLs "Papau New Guinea" which comes close to the original in brilliance. Personal favourites for me though are BT's Never Gonna Come Back Down & Filter's Take My Picture which gives these two indie style tracks a kick up the backside & an injection of real energy. Future classics I'm sure & taking off where Timo Maas's remix of Muse's Sunburn leaves off. The only disappointment is their take on Energy 52s Cafe Del Mar but with such a strong original they really had their work cut out to make any more of it.
On the whole the album is an essential purchase for existing Hybrid fans & a great introduction for those looking for some quality breaks with a melodic, orchestral edge.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I can't count the number of times I've listened to this album since I bought it a few months ago. On the whole, I don't like it as much as Wide Angle but nevertheless it's still a fantastic album, and shows budding remixers how you SHOULD remix music. Fatboy Slim has absolutely nothing on Hybrid, and as far as I am concerned the guy pales into insignificance against this group. The first track Accelerator is by far the best remix I've ever heard, and they should release it as a single. The way the breakbeat changes in this track is breathtaking.
If you haven't bought anything from Hybrid already, what the hell are you waiting for? You're really missing out!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2003
Firstly can i just say that i bought this after purchasing the most recent album morning sci-fi, which to be fair to say i was a little dissapointed with. When i saw the tracks on this album i thought oh no they are going to ruin great tracks, but how presently surprised i was to hear how well these tunes were produced. Every track had been carefully selected and it is fair to say that there is not one poor track on the album.
Each track had been given a breakbeat makeover, which gave them a raw energy but the epicness of these tracks was still there to produce a blinding combination which sounded great and worked so damn well. Regardless of how you like your dance music this is sheer brilliance.
The best tracks are energy 52 "Cafe del mar" and The futre sound of Londons "Papua New Guinea" which sends a shiver down my spine every time i hear it.It is difficult to emphasise how good this album is but this is the greatest 68 minutes of dance music production ever.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2001
The Record Label that's got it all, decent artists, and an outstanding reputation as a breakbeat label down to their clientel (BT and Hybrid to name but two), has released a peach of a record, mixed by the Welsh Maestro's Hybrid, and namely the super-talented Mike Truman.
Only one of the tunes is actually their own, the first track "Accelerator", which can be found on the second CD of the critically acclaimed "Wider Angle-Special Edition", but nonetheless, each track has a distinct Hybrid-esque feel.
Truman has perfectly blended old classics such as Cafe Del Mar and Papua New Guinea with the distinctive (scuse the pun) Hybrid breakbeats and string orchestra. Those of you who are not down with orchestral music will get a pleasant surprise when you listen to the way it has been merged with more contemporary beats.
An essential purchase for those of you who like their music funky, but with an intelligent edge.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2001
I am a huge Hybrid fan and was anticipating this CD eagerly and was not dissapointed. It really shows just how good Hybrid are when they can pump their tradmeark melody, rhythm and energy into a such a wide variety of music. Its really interesting listening to the earlier mixes as you can see how they used their remixing projects to really develop ideas for Wide Angle, and several of the rhythm tracks are recognisble as early version of those on tracks such as If I Survive. A must for fans, and great mix CD, but if it's just a breakbeat mix CD you want the Y3k CDs are more varied in style. I'd give this CD just less than 5 stars due to the remix of FSOL's classic which is simply the version on Accellerater with a Hybrid beat and bass tacked on, not really a remix, just a new edit imho. All in all it is a banging album that is well worth getting, and the mixing is impeccable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2001
This Album is absolutely brillant. Normally follow up albums are poor, Hybrid had to beat the fantastic Wider Angle disc, but without a doubt they have set a new standard with this brillant release. DJ RAPs - Bad Girl is a 9minute "ill keep this song on repeat all day and all night track" The Future Sound Of Londons - Papua New Guinea is another stand out track. You will fail in trying to dislike this CD, it has all the typical hybrid characteristics, such as hammering sweeping bass, fast rhythm - High tempo drums, and superb classical production. This CD for me is without doubt, the greatest release of the century so far, and I believe that only Hybrid can keep this standard of music going. JUST BUT IT.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2001
Hybrid have outdone themselves again with another fine selection of tracks. If wide(r) angle was your cup of tea and it should be then you will love this album just as much. Hybrid have again proved that there is intelligent dance music and that remixes are not just for novelty. Their remixes of Andreas Johnson and Moby are worth buying the album for alone but when combined with fantastic remixes of tracks such as DJ Rap's Bad Girl and Cafe Del Mar's Energy 52, this album will take your breath away. If ambrosia is the drink of the gods then Hybrid must surely be the music of the gods
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2001
I decided to buy this album after recommendations from friends, and I was told that it is like Way Out West's breaks tracks. It is amazing, worth every last penny! The only track i am disappointed with is the glorious remix, aas it sonds slightly cheesy and is irritating, but it is still reasonably good. Ever other track is like the best track on an album but all the way through! If you like trance or breaks buy this, and i assure you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2001
i was anticipating the release of this album and the tracks that it would hold. first thing i was suprised because it was all in the mix and not seperate tracks but thats still cool because the mixing is spot on. the remixes represent the typical hybrid style and demonstrates that the welsh lads can remix just about any track and take it to a new level. mobys bodyrock and andreas johnsons glorious are pretty cool remixes . no doubt this is a fine album, but beware if you are a deep hybrid fan this album doesnt not really represent there finest remixes ( comapred to what you may have already heard) but merely a small sampler. I feel the compilation in not done justice as their remix of so pure ( by al morissette) is not on there and also will smiths classic summer is missing. However this is still a great album to own and one to add to your breakbeat collection. Let the breaks continue.........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)