Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars8
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£3.63+ £2.80 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2005
... this is NOT the Warner Bros release. This IS the same as the video release, just transferred to DVD... and not all that well- not wide-screen and no menus.
However, although the quality is a bit dodgy, and the cover is in, er, Dutch? I have to say it was an absolute thrill watching this again. The tears of glee watching the hysterics of "Housequake", the unapologetic sleaze of "Hot Thing", and the heartbreak soul-lifting pure joy of "Forever In My Life / It"... I canNOT wait for the official digitally remastered wide screen version to come out here... which would rate 5 stars, without question, from all.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2003
Capturing Prince at the peak of his artistical career, 'Sign O' The Times' is basically a concert-movie, and the best one you'll ever see at that.
As stated above 1987 was the musical peak for Prince, NOBODY could touch him, past or present, at this time and it shows...some of the stuff Prince pulls off in this film is unbelievable, every vocal is outstanding, every musical note impeccable, every move perfectly timed...the songs performed here actually better their album versions.
The video is interlinked with a wafer-thin plot involving a love triangle between Prince, and two of his dancers Cat and Wally.
When I say thin, I mean THIN...the storyline is only there really to give the film some sort of basic narrative structure and to progress the musical performances.
It's difficult to pick standout moments during the movie; Prince is practically on fire throughout the entire duration, but the almost eeiry show-opener of 'Sign O' The Times' and the incredibly funky version of 'Housequake' surely are noteworthy musical highlights.
But what else...?? take your pick...the dance frenzied funk-workout of 'Hot Thing'?, the wonderfully sensual rendition of 'Slow Love?, or how about the rousing, frenetic performance of 'I Could Never Take The Place Of Your Man'?.
Near EVERY performance is a show-stopper, but for me the two undisupted highlights in the whole movie are his jaw-dropping versions of 'If I Was Your Girlfriend' and 'The Cross'.
Once I had heard side 2 of the 'Sign 'O The Times' album I never thought Prince could better what I heard on track 2...'If I Was Your Girlfriend' was pure genius and I was thinking "there's no way I am gonna hear something better from the man after this; live or studio'...that's until I heard his quite phenomenal rendition of his unusual-masterpiece on this video.
Believe it or not the track sounds even better sung by Prince in his falsetto, and it's this subtle but excellent change that transforms the song into something even better.
Equally as impressive is the awe-inspiring sight that is 'The Cross'- an electryfyingly awesome rock song which has rarely been performed better than on 'Sign 'O The Times'.
It's hard to figure out why 'Sign 'O The Times' still isn't officially available on DVD, it remains the greatest live document of Prince ever and is an essential part of anyone's collection.
I have nothing else left to say, just BUY IT.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2005
Point 1: This is a fantastic pseudo-live concert movie, from Prince with one of his best band line-ups, belting their way through the material from the criminally short Sign O' The Times tour (it took in only mainland European).
Point 2: This is the Dutch release from 2004 - the transfer and sound-quality are terrible, most likely from transferred from VHS - and very badly at that.
BUT fear not! A bristling *OFFICIAL* release HAS been released, but as yet, only in Canada (REPEAT, THE CANADIAN REGION 1 RELEASE IS AT THE TIME OF WRITING THE ONLY TRUE PROPER, OFFICIAL RELEASE, TRANSFERRED FROM THE MASTER TAPES).
You can get it from Amazon.ca
So, if you order this version, don't blame Amazon.co.uk for your rubbish DVD - you should have bought the Canadian release from Amazon.ca!
22 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2005
'Sign o' The Times' still remains the high watermark of Prince's musical career. He had made excellent albums before,and,made more after,but,that '86/'87 period,with it's three classic albums('Cherry Moon'/'Sign o' The Times'/'Black Album') was an artisitic statement so great,it showed just how gifted a musician Prince is.
Into the Live Arena,could Prince translate? He always had,and,with this tour,he excelled. This video came with a lot of hype,and,it was justified. It's a thrilling show,with Prince and the band on top form,complete with some funkier-than-thou funk,glorious ballads,and,some of the most searing and explosive rock'n'roll.
A testament to the incredible talent that is Prince.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2003
This is Prince at his very best! - no question. The band are amazing too particularly the horns adds more of a jazzy element not found on the album. I wasnt blown away by the album but the live version is amazing due to its much funkier arrangements.
Wish this was on DVD....
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2005
This is a 2004 republication on DVD of the "Sign O' the Times" movie, originally released in 1987 and directed by Prince himself. It was shot during the Rotterdam concert, part of the Sign O' The Times tour, which has been regarded as Prince's best tour by many of those who where there in the 80s. Nonetheless, the band is one of the best he has ever had, with Dr. Fink, Sheila E., Eric Leeds, Atlanta Bliss, Miko, Levi Seacer Jr., Boni Boyer and, of course, the beautiful Cat, performing as lively as I have never seen before. Actually, the whole band was touched by the hand of God and the live performance of such songs as "Sign O' The Times", "Housequake" and "I Could Never Take The Place Of Your Man" prove it. Not to mention Prince showing his skills playing the drums while Sheila E. takes the mic and goes rapping on the notes of "It's Gonna Be A Beautiful Night". Furthermore, Sheena Easton appears in the video version of "You Got The Look". Needless to say, it's a must for all Prince fans and, I dare say, for all the funky and electro-funk lovers.
(Running time: 85 min., Region 0)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2015
Just wow! Prince live on stage is a force to be reckoned with and this DVD which captures his Sign O the Times tour from the 1980's, shows just what an amazing performer he is. Great stage production and expert musicianship from both Prince and his band. One of the best concert DVDs of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2005
When I first saw Sign "O" The Times on VHS some 10 years ago I was simply stunned! It wasn't just any concert but a breathtaking show of out-of-this-world proportions. From the opening scene with the entire band drumming on stage to the title track, a controversy between Cat and her boyfriend in "I Could Never Take The Place Of Your Man", a tearing showdown in "Forever In My Life", an upbeat super funky "It's Gonna Be A Beautiful Night" to the chilling final as Prince soars through "The Cross" - this is Prince & the Revolution stomping 'n funking at the very height of their musical creativity. Finally, finally, FINALLY the movie is released on DVD, I've completed my order at Amazon and I'm on my way to buy a 50' flatscreen complete with digital surround sound in order to welcome Prince to my house in style. To all Prince fans: you know this is a Must Have item. To everybody else: this is a Must Have item!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)