Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, Sleek, Captivating, French Thriller.
First time i saw this film on tv, many years ago it had me repeating scenes in my mind. So i watched it again and it still impresses me with it's style and flow. Screenplay is very well paced, like most of Besson's films and captures your attention so well. Many films today do not have that directorial talent to draw you into a film aswell as Besson does, and Nikita is no...
Published on 17 Nov. 2011 by Ryan S.Cord

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware those terrible synths!
Great film, had to knock one star off for the awful, truly woeful soundtrack.
Well worth a watch although feels quite dated, great cameo from the 'cleaner' - later to become probably Besson's greatest character a little further down the line.
Would have benefited from a tighter edited first 30-40 minutes, the good stuff seemed over in a flash in the 'meat' of...
Published 17 days ago by groucho


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luc Assasinates The Critics Again, 12 Feb. 2004
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikita [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Luc Besson is starting to cause a stir in the French cinema world, his last 3 films, Le Denier Combat; Subway and The Big Blue were all big hits internationally, something which wasn't really common in France at the time. Luc was getting attention from the US, which is a major thing for a non-US director, so this was the start of something big, and Nikita was probably one of the movies which helped him move his career up and forward.
Nikita is a wild girl, a bit of a punk. She hangs around with loosers who rob drugs and generally do bad things. Nikita gets caught out with her gang of punks, and she gets into serious bother. She can't undo this easily, and to make things worse, her behavour gets worse, and she stabs a police officer with a pen. She gets refered to go to death row - there's no way of saving her now? Well, that's what everyone else thought.
The government decides Nikita can have another try, but she's got to do something to repent her sins - be an assasin for the government and live under the codename Josephine. She has no choice. A lot of strange things happen too, her boyfriend isn't who she expected - and her training turns her into a more charming girl. Things start getting too much when a job goes wrong, and she decides she wants out, but it's never that easy.
This is a great movie, and has every emotion you could expect, comedy, romance, great action, tears and some good filmling to boot it all off. This is one of Besson's more French movies, which - to me - is his better work. Anne Parillaud plays Nikita's part excellently, and Subway's Jean-Hugues Anglade (Marco) is excellent, and uses dry witt. The music from Eric Serra is also moving too, and makes some of the scenes more intense, which is about right for this thriller.
Excellent movie, add this to your collection today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Action drama, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikita [DVD] (DVD)
Saw it on TV years ago and remembered it because of the actress. Some scenes are not realistic but acceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is the original and best version in my opinion, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikita [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
got to say the same as i said for bloody marie . this is the original and best version in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikita [DVD] (DVD)
what a great movie it was. It well written and acted and kept you on the edge of your seat thoughout
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is the only Nikita film worth watching, 24 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Nikita [DVD] (DVD)
Pure 90s magic - just as good as I remembered it from the first time round. Great tension and very slick. Far superior to the horrible American remake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern classic given solid BluRay treatment, 15 Dec. 2009
By 
M. R. Hudson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikita [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This doesn't "shine" quite like the very best BluRay releases - perhaps not surprising given it's a relatively old film without CGI. Nonetheless, BluRay gives the lustre that the gorgeous cinematography of New York deserves. The sound is fine too for the shoot-up sequences, although I am not sure it's actually better than DVD. Given how brilliant the film is, it seems unreasonable to withhold the fifth star. There could be a better BluRay treatment of Nikita - but not much. The Director's Cut, or whatever they call it here, is an object lesson in how much a skilled editor brings to a film by cutting things out! In general, the original is better, not because the additional scenes in the extended cut are poor, but because they just aren't 100% necessary. I didn't hate this new cut, but still prefer the tightness of the original. There is an excellent set of cast interviews in the extras. These interviews were done retrospectively some years after the film, and I don't think this extra is on a DVD edition. Decent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikita [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
brilliant action film,great actress. dvd arrived without delay. like the service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikita [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film - the french original is much better than the Hollywood version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, 11 Jun. 2003
By 
Kurt Decoene "Tybo" (Menen - Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikita [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Luc Besson is better know in the English speaking world for his later work: Leon (1994), Joan of Arc and the fifth element.
If you would ask me which Besson movie I prefer it would be a difficult choice between Leon and Nikita. But by all means this
movie is a classic, a must see. French cinema at it's best!
As a footnote : There's not only the sad dribble of a television series but also the 1993 movie with Bridget Fonda 'the assassin'.
Bridget Fonda is a doll, but she's no Anne Parillaud...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not better than the dvd, 27 July 2010
This review is from: Nikita [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The movie is ok , but the transfer to BD is not a promotion for that format.
Compare this side by side with the dvd , and you will see that it is for 99% the same .
I dont know what master they used , but this is certainly not HD.
If you compare this with excelent transfers as The Fifth Element, The Thing,Blade Runner, Apocalypto, ... , this is just a joke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nikita [VHS] [1990]
Nikita [VHS] [1990] by Luc Besson (VHS Tape - 1993)
£2.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews