Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You swapped me? For a Milk Maid?!!!
This is a great film one of the best Johnny Depp has ever done.
Its kind of a skit of Grease but also of society being petty about stuff that doesn't matter (squares) and thinking teenage pregnancy is great (drapes).
The good girl decides she's fed up being good and catches the eye of Cry baby Walker, a "juvenile delinquent", he invites her to come see...
Published on 3 Feb 2006 by OneCatEvil

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 12 (PG) Version 10 MINUTES MISSING and F words BLEEPED!
This is a wonderful, hilarious film, this review is about the BLU-RAY RELEASE

While the "Director's Cut" is on DVD, for some reason they chose to use the EARLIER 1990's version of the film for Blu-Ray.
It's missing over 10 minutes of wonderful footage Waters put back in.

Either a political decision or a sloppy move, either way there's really no...
Published on 6 Jan 2012 by HH


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 12 (PG) Version 10 MINUTES MISSING and F words BLEEPED!, 6 Jan 2012
By 
HH (Sherman Oaks, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This is a wonderful, hilarious film, this review is about the BLU-RAY RELEASE

While the "Director's Cut" is on DVD, for some reason they chose to use the EARLIER 1990's version of the film for Blu-Ray.
It's missing over 10 minutes of wonderful footage Waters put back in.

Either a political decision or a sloppy move, either way there's really no excuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You swapped me? For a Milk Maid?!!!, 3 Feb 2006
By 
OneCatEvil (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great film one of the best Johnny Depp has ever done.
Its kind of a skit of Grease but also of society being petty about stuff that doesn't matter (squares) and thinking teenage pregnancy is great (drapes).
The good girl decides she's fed up being good and catches the eye of Cry baby Walker, a "juvenile delinquent", he invites her to come see him sing and then impresses her Grandma by almost causing a car accident. After a slight fight which the squares started Cry Baby ends up in jail and because of a slight mis representation of the truth Alison thinks he's betrayed her. The film is cringe worthily funny but also gives important lessons in life, such as 'never follow a rat'.
I'm not much of a Depp fan but this film hits the all time favourites for all the girls in my family, definitely get this film. And its got Rickie Lake in it - its odd but she always seems to play poor people in films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny D. as Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker.... Oh Yes!!!, 11 Nov 2005
If you want to see Johnny Depp in a completely different light, just after he left Jump Street, and taking the p out of himself... then this is definitely the movie to be watching! It's funny, Johnny Depp is hilarious and Iggy Pop is so great. Sort of a take-off of Grease, the clash between the "Drapes" and the "Squares" is not one to miss, so if you're up for a laugh, I would definitely recommend this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King Cry-Baby!, 15 July 2005
If you're a fan of musicals, then this is a must-see or must-buy for your collection.
Filled with fun songs, this film is cleverly done.
When leader of the Drapes, Cry-Baby (Johnny Depp) falls for the perfect square, he'll do anything to get her. Depp brings across a fantastic performance along with co-stars Ricky Lake and Iggy Pop.
With catchy tunes such as 'King Cry-Baby' and 'Please, Mr Jailer', you'll soon be singing along!
A definite must-see movie, for all fans of Johnny Depp. 10/10.
Definately my favourite movie, the soundtrack is pretty good too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feel Good No Brainer Fun, 4 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Cry Baby [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A feel good and highly enjoyable film. With the good girl falling for the bad guy, and having a much more exciting time than with her square and up tight friends. This was also the era for Rikki Lake, with this film, Hairspray and Babycakes to mention just a few. This film should be on DVD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cry baby, 20 Jun 2004
By 
vania (london, uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cry Baby [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A Great representation of the 50's.
Great soundtrack, great casting, great movie!
This DVD shouldn't be so hard to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..the sweetest lump-a sugar that i've ever seen!", 2 Mar 2007
my title (above) are lyrics from just ONE of the fabulously catchy and down right silly tunes featured in Cry Baby!!

This movie is jam-packed with madness, funny characters, and a sexy toe-tapping turn from Mr. Johnny Depp!!!

you'll love it wheteher you're 8 or 80...fact: John waters is off his head!!!, but thats what makes this energetic film spark!!

With plenty of electrifying songs and an adorably funny performance by Depp you'll be enthralled throughout!!(i know i was!)

sweet and charming musical!! (Johnny only mimes in this :( but he will sing for real in Burton's 'Sweeney Todd' adaptation!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film!, 4 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Cry Baby [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film is one of my favourites as it's so funny and it always puts me in a better mood after I watch it! The gorgeous Johnny Depp is wonderful as Wade 'Cry Baby' Walker who is a drape and catches the eye of sweet Alison, played by Amy Locane and seduces her to the world of 50's rock and fast cars.
This film is highly enjoyable and I would reccomend it to anyone who doesn't take things too seriously!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 4 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Cry Baby [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film is absolutely fantastic! A must see. I am an avid musicals fan and this film didnt let me down! I would like to point out though that the gorgeous Johnny does NOT do all of his own singing despite what many people may think. Johnny is dubbed over by a guy called John Intveld and Amy Locane (Alison) is dubbed by Rachel Sweet. It actually tells you in the end credits who each song was performed by! just wanted to clear that one up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 13 Nov 2005
By A Customer
Jonny Depp in his pants? ROCK ON! I started watching this in VHS when I was about 9 years old, I know the film word for word, action for action, and I love it. Always have. I simply can't wait for it to come out on DVD! I normally hate "musicals" but this is in a league of it's own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cry Baby [VHS]
Cry Baby [VHS] by John Waters (VHS Tape - 1992)
Used & New from: £1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews