Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blackmore, blackmore, oh ritchie blackmore
gotta say the concert is good to watch, but the sound is is even better!! everything louder than everything else someone once said, although blackmore has a little paddy at the start and sulks for most of the show, he still plays fantasticly aswell does the band, Jon lord! what was he on that night? he was fantastic!! one thing i must say spoils the dvd is the interviews...
Published on 11 Mar 2004 by A. Homatopoulos

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why?
Ian Gillan went on radio / TV etc to beg fans not to buy the CD of this concert - "you will be very disappointed" he said on BBC radio 4. He was referring to the quality of the performance - it was a real low in the band's history he said. With that in mind, it's quite surprising that they've put out a DVD of the same show. Conflict may be part of DP's history but the...
Published on 13 April 2008 by Sime


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blackmore, blackmore, oh ritchie blackmore, 11 Mar 2004
This review is from: Deep Purple: Come Hell Or High Water [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
gotta say the concert is good to watch, but the sound is is even better!! everything louder than everything else someone once said, although blackmore has a little paddy at the start and sulks for most of the show, he still plays fantasticly aswell does the band, Jon lord! what was he on that night? he was fantastic!! one thing i must say spoils the dvd is the interviews inbetween songs! ARGH! stop it! please it doesnt work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not disrespect, 12 May 2003
This review is from: Deep Purple: Come Hell Or High Water [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I can't believe the criticism this DVD gets! Purple were all about conflict (As were Rainbow) and to see this kind of disharmony live is unreal. I was at this concert and spent the first half of Highway Star frantic because Blackmore wasn't there. It was pure theatre when he came strolling out for the solo. If only modern bands existed in three dimensions. The atmosphere was incredible all night and I think it translates well to screen. I saw Purple 3 times - this was definately the best. A piece of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ritche Blackmore ROX OUR SOX OFF!!!!, 20 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Deep Purple: Come Hell Or High Water [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Despite the other depressing reviews - I have to say these recordings are my favourites after Made in Japan. Ritche plays with soo much experience he doesn't need much effort. The water being thrown and pushing of people about, is interesting to watch, and well explained by the rest of the band. Child In Time is done marvelously despite Gillians dying scream, he is still able to reach the pitch nicely:). Ritche didn't want to be there?!? So he didn't, but u could still see him get high in The Battle Rages On - double solo - middle and end of song which flows soooo beutifully. It sends shivers down my spine everytime I see Blackmore come in l8 but in time for his solo in Highway Star, and he does it perfectly with so much ease. This recording shows the band as true musicians through years of experience. Sure Steve's good, I saw him(and touched his g-tar:)) in 99 and 2001 here in Oz, but no-one will match Blackmores sound in this vid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 28 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Deep Purple: Come Hell Or High Water [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This is a great concert by Deep Puple in their classic line-up, with a fine selection of tracks.
The only trivial down side is the interviews being interspersed with the tracks, rather than being reserved for the extra material section.
If you like Deep Purple, you will like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good on DVD as it was live., 27 Sep 2002
This review is from: Deep Purple: Come Hell Or High Water [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I don't know why people are moaning about this release, it's a true rendition of the actual gig. I should know 'cos I was there. Ritchie proves what Purple are missing by outshining the rest of the band. great sound, great visually. Sit back and enjoy the man in black at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value - almost as good as being there., 7 July 2009
By 
Q (Harefield, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Purple: Come Hell Or High Water [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I confess I am not a *big* Purple fan. I have got their first two albums (which I love) and a 'Best Of' collection (which is great) but that's all. I bought this DVD on impulse, having taken due notice of the various comments by previous buyers, so my expectations were not running very high. However, I was knocked out; this is a cracking concert. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole 2 hours - including the tracks which were new to me and I would usually take some time getting used to. Not having been there on the night, I was unaware of any sulks or hissy fits and, despite some comments by others, if I had not known about the tensions, I would have been none the wiser : they were not obvious on the DVD. The only disappointment was that there was no camera on JL's actual keys - all the shots were head on. This was a pity, as there were some excellent close-ups of RB's fingers. However, this is only a minor quibble : it's an excellent concert. Even the interruption of the interviews did not spoil it for me, although I had fully expected them to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why?, 13 April 2008
This review is from: Deep Purple: Come Hell Or High Water [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Ian Gillan went on radio / TV etc to beg fans not to buy the CD of this concert - "you will be very disappointed" he said on BBC radio 4. He was referring to the quality of the performance - it was a real low in the band's history he said. With that in mind, it's quite surprising that they've put out a DVD of the same show. Conflict may be part of DP's history but the evident friction in the band did nothing for the music on this night. If it's not good enough for CD, why would you want it on DVD? I've given it 3 stars because most of the band press on in a professional manner despite the the childish water-throwing incident etc. Otherwise, it's just an ugly souvenir of the end of this line-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple - The End of an Era....1, 3 May 2009
By 
Stephen Russell (Stoke-on-Trent, Staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep Purple: Come Hell Or High Water [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Come Hell or High Water is the final live performance captured on video featuring the classic MK2 lie-up. It also represented Ritchie Blackmore's final show with the band. This well produced video captures the band at their raw best. All the classics are included including one or two non-purple tracks. The only grip I have with this video is the way in which the interview with the band is interwoven with each song. Not only does this break the flow of the live performance, but also the first segment involves the rest of the band having a dig at Ritchie for his on stage antics during the show. Ritchie's response is notable by it's absence. The producers should not have included this interview without giving Ritchie the "right of reply". Having watched the video on numerous occasions I suspect that Ritchie's late arrival on stage during the opening song and the "water throwing saga" have a bit of a stage managed feel to them. I may be wrong, but this is the kind of stuff Purple were renowed for. That's what made them such a great band. A dynamic tension always existed on stage and off between RB and the rest of the band. Purple have continued to produce good music after Ritchies departure, although the present line-up seem to be more of tribute band to the MK2 line-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple in melt-down, 11 April 2012
By 
I. Stuart "CambsMusicLover" (Cambridge,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep Purple: Come Hell Or High Water [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Musically this set is a bit patchy , for reasons examined by other reviewers. For me it remains a fascinating piece of DP history as we literally see the band breaking up on stage. The interviews with band members cover alot of ground and while I understand other viewers disliking them being placed between songs , for me it works , as quite frankly viewed purely on musical terms it would be a very poor set by DPs standards. Paice,Glover and especially Lord try their best while Gillan seems to struggle a bit with his voice - perhaps distracted by Mr Blackmore?. As J Lord says , RB behave like a spoit little boy and his playing is nowhere near his best - he really lets the band , and most importantly , the fans , down.
As a piece of music theatre/history its great , but not recommended if you want a straight-forward concert recording . For that stick to Made in Japan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why try to ban it?, 27 April 2007
This review is from: Deep Purple: Come Hell Or High Water [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This is a fantastic gig and Purple at their best! I saw them in January last year and now realise how much Blackmore and Lord were sadly missed.

OK there are a lot younger in this concert and the gig rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep Purple: Come Hell Or High Water [DVD] [1994]
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews