Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carry On Columbus
Ever since I saw Carry on Columbus I have had to own it and besides, it rounds out my Carry on Gang collection.
I found it very funny in places and I thought the acting to be quite good.
I found the opening scenes in the Sultan of Turkey's palace a bit shaky, but once Jim Dale and Bernard Cribbens start acting the film settles down nicely. I think Cheryl Crowe...
Published on 4 Dec 2004 by John Colborne

versus
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be very careful when buying Columbus DVDs
Many of the Carry On Columbus DVDs being offered are low quality copies from the video tape, not the Warner Home Movies DVD. AFAIK the Region 2 DVD was only produced for rental purposes and were all returned to Warner.
On the back of the cover it says 'Wham! USA presents...' and 'Copyright 2006 JL. Neither of these companies are licenced to distribute copies of this...
Published on 18 April 2009 by Wyl E Cyote


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be very careful when buying Columbus DVDs, 18 April 2009
This review is from: Carry On Columbus (DVD) (DVD)
Many of the Carry On Columbus DVDs being offered are low quality copies from the video tape, not the Warner Home Movies DVD. AFAIK the Region 2 DVD was only produced for rental purposes and were all returned to Warner.
On the back of the cover it says 'Wham! USA presents...' and 'Copyright 2006 JL. Neither of these companies are licenced to distribute copies of this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable Carry on Film..., 17 Nov 2002
This review is from: Carry On Columbus [VHS] [1992] (VHS Tape)
I first saw 'Carry on Columbus' a few years ago on TV, and thought it was quite a good film, and then i remembered that Julian Clary, a favourite comedian of mine, was in it and I had to get it on video.
It's widely regarded that 'Carry on Columbus' is one of the worst Carry on Films made, but to be fair, it's not all that bad and does contain quite a lot of good jokes, and an interesting enough plot to keep you hooked. Most of the actors involved are modern comedians/actors, with a few original Carry on actors as well.
One of the best things about the film is that it stars Julian Clary, and he has one of the best performances, his camp style of humour helps add to the film nicely! 'Carry on Columbus' has a good plot to start with, but later bits (mostly in america) were a bit boring and didn't seem to go anywhere - and this lets it down.
But overall, I did like 'Carry on Columbus', and if you like any of the actors involved, you should check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carry On Columbus, 4 Dec 2004
By 
John Colborne (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Carry On Columbus [VHS] [1992] (VHS Tape)
Ever since I saw Carry on Columbus I have had to own it and besides, it rounds out my Carry on Gang collection.
I found it very funny in places and I thought the acting to be quite good.
I found the opening scenes in the Sultan of Turkey's palace a bit shaky, but once Jim Dale and Bernard Cribbens start acting the film settles down nicely. I think Cheryl Crowe does a wonderful job as Fatima.
Unlike other reviewers, I thought the scenes in America with the natives were well constructed and funny.
In my view the movie is very good, but doesn't have the "feel" of the other Carry on Gang films. This is inevitable as so many faces have changed and times have moved on, but overall it was, in my opinion a very good attempt and I still enjoy the gags watching the movie as I get a good laugh out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars carry on Films., 30 April 2012
By 
Ms. P. Porter "tauruslady" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carry On Columbus (DVD) (DVD)
i like this film, lots of laughs, and still in the old carry on way. brillant!!!! i wish there was more of these films still beinging made, but alas , most of these great actors , have passed away, and there will never be anything as good, as the carry on team :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Carry On Columbus" Equal to Other "Carry On" Films, 8 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: Carry On Columbus [VHS] [1992] (VHS Tape)
Though many of the older stars are gone to their reward, those remaining stars like Jim Dale and Bernard Cribbens, along with newer stars like Peter Richardson, Maureen Lipman, Alexi Sayle, Rik Mayall, and Sara Crowe turn in fine performances and really funny humour, worth of the late Charles Hawtrey, Kenneth Williams, Sid James, and the other regulars. This is one of the "Carry On" films that I buy and give to acquaintances and friends as gifts for the Yuletide season. I am proud to say I own a copy of this video and all of the others as well and this ranks in equality with the others. Sarge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars carry on regardless, 8 July 2005
By 
D.A.C "1984" (widnes,cheshire,u.k) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Carry On Columbus [VHS] [1992] (VHS Tape)
Obviously not the best of the Carry Ons but this could have been truly awful if it had wanted.Ive never liked Julian Clary much but i thought he saved this from going down the.....Of course some of the surviving original cast at the time(Joan Sims and Barbara Windsor)refused to take part and Jack Douglas has said that he wishes he never took part.If you're a Carry On fan then this is something you probably have to own even if you dont like it.but if you do like this then thats a bonus!Lets hope the planned Carry On London does better......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly funny and addictive film!, 5 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Carry On Columbus [VHS] [1992] (VHS Tape)
Most people I know have said poor things about Carry On Columbus - fair enough, it doesn't feature hardly any of the regular Carry On cast, but ignore this and what you have is a decent historically-themed comedy film (complete with laugh-out-loud innuendos and some intruiging choices of cast members). The fact that Julian Clary appears in Carry On Columbus was enough reason for me to check it out - he fits the 'camp' style of Carry On films perfectly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Carry On Columbus, 26 Aug 2013
This review is from: Carry On Columbus (DVD) (DVD)
Cat understand why some Amazon reviewers think this film is the next thing since sliced bread, plus I really dont know why they would make this last attempt at a 'Carry On' after the last 30 or so films. This one is an insult to the rest of the films and much worser at the jokes. Although it seems that the late Gerald Thomas had a small hand in it, its obvious appeal and production fall well short of the original scenes. The real genuine atmosphere of the 'Carry On' films is definitely gone along time ago, which is very sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An embarrassment to British Cinema, 8 May 2013
This review is from: Carry On Columbus (DVD) (DVD)
I really like the Carry On franchise, but along with 'England' and 'Emmanuelle', this movie is down there with the worst of them. Sorry I didn't like it, in fact I thought it was woeful. There was such a lot wrong with it, and not much good with it. The story is incoherent, the dialogue ranges to bad to horrendous, the gags are poor, the pacing is all over the place, the direction is non-existent the sets and costumes are somewhat cheap and the acting was poor. Leslie Phillips and June Whitfield are wasted, Bernard Cribbins is unusually bland and Julian Clary only adds to the problem in an excruciatingly embarrassing turn as Don Juan Diego. In fact, the only redeeming quality is Jim Dale, who actually tries to do something with his role.

Overall, dreadful and one of the worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At least it has Jim Dale in it., 4 Dec 2005
This review is from: Carry On Columbus (DVD) (DVD)
Reviving the Carry On series after the deaths of many of the actors most associated with it was always going to be difficult. The film almost works, but suffers from the problem common to many British ensemble comedies of having too many comedians and one liners, but not quite enough humour. Still it does feature the immensely likeable Jim Dale and there are enough laughs to pass the time pleasantly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carry On Columbus [VHS] [1992]
Carry On Columbus [VHS] [1992] by Gerald Thomas (VHS Tape - 1999)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews