Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hip-hop meets kung fu in a wild mix of genres
I’m a big fan of Jet Li, but I held off watching Romeo Must Die for a while in fear that a strong romantic plot a la Shakespeare would take away from the martial arts action I crave. I needn't have worried. This movie is many things, but a love story it is not. The two main characters do come together despite their families' undeclared war on each other, but it...
Published on 8 Nov 2003 by Daniel Jolley

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jet Li breaks the laws of gravity again!
Romeo Must Die was Jet Li's 2nd American film as he was previously seen in Lethal Weapon 4, playing a villain. But in RMD he is playing the lead role as 'Han Sing' a former police officer in jail in Hong Kong after helping his Brother & Father escape from the law. While in jail, Han hears his Brother has been murdered in America and decides he must escape to investigate...
Published on 16 May 2003 by sademokid


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jet Li breaks the laws of gravity again!, 16 May 2003
This review is from: Romeo Must Die [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Romeo Must Die was Jet Li's 2nd American film as he was previously seen in Lethal Weapon 4, playing a villain. But in RMD he is playing the lead role as 'Han Sing' a former police officer in jail in Hong Kong after helping his Brother & Father escape from the law. While in jail, Han hears his Brother has been murdered in America and decides he must escape to investigate his death....
RMD isn't a bad film, but it didn't live up to my expectations that I have come to expect from a Jet Li movie. The problem is the story is predictable and shallow at times, its does however move along at a nice pace and will interest you until the end. The film's name is kind of misleading as it only shares really one similarity with Shakespeare's play (two people form a relationship that both families oppose)
Directed by former Cinematographer Andrzej Bartkowiak, the film has a hip & stylish feel to it. The fight scenes, choreographed by Hong Kong action master Corey Yeun, are all nicely done quite glossy in some cases with its neat camera angles and visual effects (x-ray sight). While the action is ultimately satisfying, they are somewhat spoiled by the OTT use of wirework. It may be fine for such films like 'Matrix' or 'Once upon a time in China', but for a modern urban setting with no explanation on how Li can do his impossible kicks?
On the acting side, Li plays his character (Han Sing) well enough, but being that RMD was then his first full english speaking film as the lead, he doesn't say much, short sentences and a couple of words at any one time. But he does oozes charm whenever he is on screen. R'n'B star Aaliyah (who sadly die in a plane crash 2 years after RMD was filmed) made her then movie debut in it as Li's love interest and does a decent job playing 'Trish O'Day'. While the two leads don't actually kiss in the film, they do have genuine chemistry whenever there both on screen. There's good support from Isaiah Washington, Anthony Anderson and Delroy Lindo. Rap star DMX also makes an apperance in a small role.
To my surprise the lovely Francoise Yip, most famous for starring in Jackie Chan film 'Rumble in the Bronx' and Jet Li's 'Black Mask' makes a brief apperance as the 'biker babe' who fights against Li & Aaliyah.
Overall RMD has more highs then lows and so its worth a look for anybody who enjoys a glossy action film. If you loved RMD and want more of the same, watch 'Cradle 2 the Grave' which was release in the cinema earlier this year (2003). You could also try Jet Li's older Hong Kong stuff like the stunning 'Fist of Legend', most of them are much superior to his current US films in my opinon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hip-hop meets kung fu in a wild mix of genres, 8 Nov 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Romeo Must Die [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I’m a big fan of Jet Li, but I held off watching Romeo Must Die for a while in fear that a strong romantic plot a la Shakespeare would take away from the martial arts action I crave. I needn't have worried. This movie is many things, but a love story it is not. The two main characters do come together despite their families' undeclared war on each other, but it is more an act of survival and friendship than romance. This is primarily an action movie sprinkled with both kung fu fights and gunfights; unofficially, Romeo Must Die is a hip-hop kung fu film. Of course, there has to be some comedy thrown in to lighten things up, and a rather nebulous plot that leaves one feeling a step behind the story at all times gives it that classic martial arts flavor.
One thing this movie has is a great cast, including the two new-comers of sorts. For Jet Li, this was his first English-language leading role (although it was his 26th film overall), and for Aaliyah, it was her first of what should have been many more movies were it not for her untimely death a couple of years ago. The supporting players are great, particularly Delroy Lindo as African-American crime boss Isaak O'Day, a man who is trying to go legit only to see a turf war erupt between his posse and that of a neighboring Chinese crime family. Anthony Anderson steals the show, though, as O'Day's hilarious goon Maurice, shucking and jiving his way throughout the entire film, always rising to the comic occasion no matter how many times he loses a fight. Jet Li is Han Sing, a former Hong Kong cop who went to jail to allow his crooked father and brother to flee the island for America; when he learns that his little brother has been rubbed out, he makes a most interesting and enjoyable prison break in order to find his brother's killer. Aaliyah plays Trish O'Day, an independent woman who is ashamed of her family's illicit business dealings. Han ends up seeking her out as the best lead for finding his brother's killer, and they eventually form a certain bond and work together as the killings not only continue, they hit ever closer to home.
The story as it plays out is a little bit confusing and hard to predict, with an ending that turns out to be quite good indeed, but there's a good bit of entertainment to be had alongside all the senseless killing. Jet Li on the dance floor is a perfect example of what I'm talking about here. Han can pretend to know hip-hop, but his moves on the dance floor are significantly less impressive than his moves in a fight. Another great scene involves Han being attacked by a female martial artist; while he refuses to hit a woman, he comes up with a pretty handy dandy way of kicking her to the curb like she deserves. Then there is Jet Li's football scene, wherein his character takes the thoroughly American game to a whole new level. This leads me into one problem I have with the film, though. Romeo Must Die, from the producer of The Matrix, suffers from The Matrix Syndrome, using wires to orchestrate acrobatic stunts for no reason whatsoever. Things go so far here as to introduce "ultra pain mode" shots where we suddenly zoom inside a person's body to see the reaction to a punch. There's just no need for Jet Li to fly through the air; the fact that he can take out every man in a large room without ever setting foot on the ground might sound cool, but it really takes something away from the otherwise gritty feel of the film.
Romeo Must Die is really an odd mix of martial arts, hip-hop flavor, comedy, action, you name it. The soundtrack gives it a driving pulse you won't find in many films of this type, making this a movie that fans of several genres can enjoy. There is plenty of action, although Jet Li's martial arts skills aren't put to good use nearly as much as I would have preferred. The DVD is absolutely loaded with extra features: theatrical trailers, 3 music videos, 13 behind-the-scenes featurettes and interviews, and even more goodies for DVD-ROM owners. It's a very enjoyable film, but its mix-and-match genre outfit leaves it unable to wholly satisfy fans of any one genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Film - Awful DVD, 2 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Romeo Must Die [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Okay so I've rated this 1 star but lets get it straight from the start I am rating the DVD not the film. Jet Li (as always) is awsome and I couldn't wait to buy this movie after I saw it at the cinema but the DVD is let down by one vital aspect - its sound. As the disk opens into the first scene its obvious something is amiss, the music is ten times louder than any nextdoor neighbour can stand but the speech is almost inaudible. Warner do have a track record for doing this in other films but I've never seen it happen so dramatically. Maybe you need a special surround sound package to appreciate this one but if (like me) you have a pretty good stereo with two speakers - forget it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Huge amounts of fun, just remove brain first., 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeo Must Die [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I'm not sure why I bought this film but here goes with my review. Jet Li is kinda hot and I have bought his films before in the past (Kiss of the Dragon was particularly good). As the lead female making her debut here Aaliyah is actually shockingly good. Russell Wong is also extremely easy on the eye. The action is sweet. There's at least one nice explosion here. Anthony Anderson irritates as always but he's not enough to ruin a perfectly adequate actioner. Dependable Delroy Lindo is always fun to watch. And Isaiah Washington is not bad. Even DMX isn't bad. But this film was always gonna live and die on its central couple and in that respect the film does deliver even if the chemistry isn't as hot as it could have been. There's some loud gun play to enjoy here too. I do like the song Try Again which features at the end. However, and it's a small thing, the cover is not the same as advertised. And there's no music videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Asians versus Blacks ..Shakespeare Style, 20 April 2007
This review is from: Romeo Must Die [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I was surprised I enjoyed much of this since martial arts movies are okay but nothing I really get into often. Jet Li plays the only likable character in this Asians vs. Blacks gang story.

Some of the stunts were tremendous. Some were so over-the-top, so unbelievable that they were funny. The movie certainly isn't one to be taken seriously.

The wild action scenes, fairly involving story and nice colors and interesting sound track all make this movie a cut above the normal martial arts fare. The excellent surround sound and sharp picture make it a good one for DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 24 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Romeo Must Die [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is just as good as the matrix, and perhaps since it is more reallistic...better than the matrix.The soundtrack blends In so well I had to buy the soundtrack which though not as good as the movie itself finds it self cherised. I'm counting down the days to its lauch and every satuarday even though I know its not released yet i go to the shops and ask if they've got it yet...YES its that good... This movie has made me try dozens of illegal methods to get myself a copy (wish I had good contacts) and is the only movie (apart for Braveheart) which I would consider moving to Usa just to buy it for DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful martial arts/hip hop extravaganza, 21 Dec 2001
By A Customer
I first took an interest in this film when I knew it had R&B singer Aaliyah in it (which I am a huge fan of and miss dearly - rest in peace 'Babygirl'). The whole movie is exceptional viewing. You know those films where there's just something about them, that draws you in and just captivates you? Well, Romeo Must Die is one of those films. The look, the story, the action, the cast, the music, everything is so well made it's in my top 3 films of all time. A wonderful film, once you've seen it, you'd wonder how you could have got by if you never knew of the film. Simply great stuff. This is THE movie, you haven't seen true style of movie if you haven't seen this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Romeo Must Die [DVD] [2000], 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeo Must Die [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Romeo Must Die [DVD] [2000] this is one of the best films i have seen for ages a must for Jet Li fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Review, 2 May 2013
This review is from: Romeo Must Die [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is just what I've been looking for full of action and just enough of the right sort of violence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeo Must Die [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is an enjoyable enough film, I like the martial arts and decent enough story, good addition to any Jet Li collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Romeo Must Die [DVD] [2000]
Romeo Must Die [DVD] [2000] by Andrzej Bartkowiak (DVD - 2001)
7.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews